We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel , it has it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Ranked #6 of 389 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Except free internet access which is why it gets 4* and not a deserved 5* , shambolic for hotels in this day and age to charge for use of wi-fi!!
I loved this hotel , rooms majestic, service awesome , large well cared for grounds with Indian dancing nightly at 7pm, we ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner and the food was superb , breakfast on the patio was a particular pleasure.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Jai Mahal Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great service and excellent gardens make this heritage property is a great place to stay, relax and explore the city of Jaipur. We stayed 4 nights and had one of the rooms facing the pool with an outdoor sitting area. We could just step out of the room to the morning outdoor yoga or the afternoon swim. As in all of Rajasthan, there are pigeons and birds everywhere - you can enjoy them or get upset by their occasional droppings.
The staff remembers your name and will delivers flowers and a special cake for any special occasion. We did try the Italian restaurant and found it not up to the mark. After the first night we chose to sit in the outdoor area for the multi-cuisine restaurant as that had an amazing view and setting and we could any dish from any restaurant we wanted. The chef was very kind to make dishes without hot chillies.
The Taj has done a wonderful job with this hotel. In a number of indian hotels there are corporate or wedding functions that can be noisy and intrusive, but this hotel has such large grounds that the two events during our stay did not spoil the magic of the place. We would love to come back again - when in India skip the wine and stay with beer or hard liquor.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel, particularly the Giardino Restaurant. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong
motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Jai Mahal Palace in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

stayed 3 nights in feb 2013
grounds that have lawns and trees, grounds that are beaufiful and spacious, a hotel building that is worthy of a unesco heritage listing staff that are very friendly and caring and offer service that is helpful and enduring and generous(as opposed to a quick reply or cursory input)
rooms that are not modern but with a past that represents a classic reflection of the Raj,rooms that are functional and a provide a most refreshing change (space, lots of natural light no multi levels) when compared to the standard "industrial factory" hotel room
the dinner meals and menu need to be improved. but many other hotel restaurants visited had this deficit
jaipur is a must go back to. it is totally absorbing and fascinating with much much to see and experience

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alonetogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Jai Mahal Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Kind regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Jai Mahal Palace is not just a fancy name. It was a real palace, and the Taj organization has done a wonderful job of restoring and maintaining its former glory. Rooms are large and very well designed. Room service is fast and professional. Breakfast is delicious. Our one night there was not nearly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Jai Mahal Palace in the near future.

Kind regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed with two adults and two children. The hotel is an old maharadja's palace and is beautiful with extensive gardens. The location is about 10 mins by car from the pink city, depending on traffic.

Our rooms were high class and spotlessly clean with high ceilings, quite aircon, fast wifi (costs 700 INR for 24 hrs for two devices), comfortable beds.

As we were travelling with children and come from Europe we ate in the multicuisine resturant in the hotel (there are two others if I remember correctly). The service was really attentive and highly professional - we felt very welcome.

One evening my daughter wasn't feeling well and the hotel was able to provide a car with driver within 5 mins to get us to the pharmacy which was 5 mins away; cost 10 USD and was a great service in our situation.

The hotel has extensive leisure facilities from a spa (which we didn't use) to a large pool, croquet lawn, mini golf circuit, pool table, gym, table tennis table, outdoor chess, outdoor snakes and ladders, indoor and outdoor playground for small children; there were hardly any children there when we stayed but we woudl highly recommend it to other families. On the first evening the pool attendant was packing up for the day and played two rounds of croquet with us while teaching my children how to play; one of those simple but memorable experiences which we will take away with us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSince75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and encouraging feedback . I have passed on your comments to the Pool Attendant and also to our hotel team members.

I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable experience at Jai Mahal Palace. I look forward to welcoming you back to Jai Mahal Palace, Jaipur and I am sure that you will have a pleasant experience once again.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Menezes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here three nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys tour. Nice quiet hotel in busy Jaipur. Not sure how long it will stay as tranquil when the new metro is complete as it will pass very close to the hotel.
The hotel was a palace and it is beautifully set out. The grounds are lovely and you are likely to see peacocks strolling about. The pool is good and there are also tennis courts for the energetic, as well as a fitness room.
Rooms are spacious and clean with good bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities in rooms.
Only downside is the corridor floors are marble and sounds can echo, causing disturbance if revellers return late at night or early morning departers are vocal! We had an American lady down the corridor who was loud every morning when conversing with her friend or housekeeping staff.
Food was very good with plenty of choice. Breakfast could be slow if you wanted cooked to order eggs etc. you need to think of this if time limited departure for trips! Pancakes lovely! Our group had the outdoor buffet one eve which was very good. Lovely to sit in the garden.
One downside was service by the pool. Not enough staff and we had to wait an hour for a pot of tea!
Be careful if you get a tuc tuc back from town centre. Our tuc tuc driver mis understood and took us to Jal Mahal palace! A palace set in lake 9km away! A lot of drivers cannot read and don't understand English too well. Maybe a good idea to take the postcard pic of hotel that is in drawer of the room.
Loved Jaipur itself. Whatever you do, visit the Observatory. Not on all itineraries but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Many ground floor rooms have private patio overlooking gardens or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was not feeling well our first day in Jaipur, so I stayed back to rest and catch up on some sleep. Because I was on my own, I was able to tour the grounds at a leisurely place. The property is huge and has beautiful gardens, a large pool and separate spa bungalows. There is also a very large, decorative chess set, displayed on the outdoor dining patio. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. I was able to nap quietly during the day. However, the food was disappointing. At dinner, my husband ordered giant prawns, which were not fresh, and I ordered chicken which was served tough. The hotel does provide live entertainment in the evening - professional folk dancer and musicians, and is a popular location for weddings.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 389 in Jaipur
1,779 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 389 in Jaipur
2,031 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 389 in Jaipur
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 389 in Jaipur
3,792 reviews
4.7 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#15 of 389 in Jaipur
2,989 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 389 in Jaipur
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur

Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India (Formerly Jai Mahal Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $272 - $1,143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing