We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and comfortable stay.”
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahpura House
Ranked #30 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A friendly and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Since my 30th birthday coincided with our stay in Jaipur, we decided to be a bit extravagant and book the "Royal Suite" room and we couldn't have been happier.
We were picked up at the train station by two fellows who didn't speak much english, which made for a quiet ride, but this was more than made up by the strange and wonderful manager Mr. Eric Williams, who set about to make us feel at home straight away. We were brought into the original reception room, with beautiful wall murals and an incredible chandelier, and given a flavorful tomato soup as we waited for our baggage to be taken to our room.
The room itself was incredible and posh, filled with period furniture and odd antique objects. The room was a bit cold (it was unseasonably cold in Jaipur while we were there) but the bed was warm and comfortable.
Breakfast was a flavorful affair, and we enjoyed dinner each evening at the roof-top restaurant. The service was impeccable--especially Mr. Williams and the elderly head waiter (who was extremely helpful navigating the menu with my food allergies). The roof-top entertainment was a bit spotty, but fun. Be sure to bring a few extra rupees for the puppeteers--by the end of the night, they seemed a bit neglected.
All in all, this was the best birthday I've had yet, and it's largely due to the Shahpura House and it's staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socksforcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    421
    117
    40
    32
See reviews for
246
589
69
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We only stayed here for one night. Our room had a seating area as well as a bedroom. It was our honeymoon and they decorated the bed and bathroom with rose petals. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The staff was also extremely friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and had some entertainment as well. We enjoyed our short stay here very much!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingWest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We travelled with 15 friends for a month and our group voted Shahpura House the best hotel we stayed in. Superb welcome, decorative rooms and reception areas, friendly staff who were helpful at all times and just a nice feel! An absolute gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Building works mean a bunch of rooms are hard up against dawn to post-dusk building noise, so check whether the renovations are over when you book (suspect they'll take months). Apart from this, rooms are pleasant to charming (but not all, ask to see a couple more if yours looks a bit dark and poky) and be aware that those at the back of the hotel seem to butt up against a quiet garden, but it's actually a place where the staff seem to come and go, gossip, cough and make noisy right against the windows during the evening and early morning. That said, the better rooms are simple but gracious, the rooftop restaurant is pretty and charming, the pool area pleasant and the whole hotel lovely for a three star. It's a residential neighbourhood, with an atm close by, but little in the way of shopping or dining less you hail a hovering autorickshaw. You can however walk the blocks nearby without the usual tourist frenzy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordsonwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Eric and his staff treated us like royalty. We visited Jaipur for New Year's and experienced a truly wonderful New Year's Eve celebration from the rooftop restaurant where Eric had arranged for traditional dancing, a magic show, as well as a marvelous buffet dinner, complete with an open bar! The hotel itself is absolutely beautifully decorated and the staff is there for your every need. Our room was spacious, clean, and decorated very nicely. Do yourself a favor and stay here - you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at Shahpura House in early August.

The Royal Suite is beautiful, and the service was very friendly. Dinner on the rooftop was very good, but we weren't too sure about the entertainment - while it was interesting and presented by people preserving folk culture, it was a bit odd to be approached for tips while at dinner. The swimming pool is a real bonus.

Shahpura House is in a residential area. We saw a bit of Jaipur the morning after we got to the hotel, and then went on to Amber. I'm not sure whether there's anything interesting within walking distance from the hotel, but it didn't matter to us.

We wish we could have spent more than one night at Shahpura!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonersw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the Shahapura House for 2 nights and completely enjoyed the experience. The hotel is a bunglow which has been converted to a hotel. The hotel is Rajasthani style and the rooms decorated in the traditional fashion with paintings, wood work and curtains. The room had a small living room area and a bed room with air conditioning. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival and were escorted to our room. We had dinner at the rooftop restaurant with live folk music being played in the background. The hotel also has a swimming pool whcih is quite refreshing in the heat of Jaipur. Its a wonderful place to stay and worth experiencing.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PramodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#36 of 380 in Jaipur
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#22 of 380 in Jaipur
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 380 in Jaipur
836 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
670 reviews
3.1 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#13 of 380 in Jaipur
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Property: Shahpura House
Address: Devi Marg, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shahpura House 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing