We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
1,152
527
137
44
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
527
137
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantbeautiful hotelheritage hoteltop floorroyal suitesitting roomfour poster bedtraditional stylemarble floorspuppet showsmall poolresidential areaquiet streetindian restaurantlike royaltystayed here for nightsgolden triangle tour
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Shahpura house is a nice little hotel located in a quiet location, that is also very much close to the city center. We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and found it to be mostly good.

Things that very much clicked for us:
1. The rooms - Lovely and spacious with a 'royal' feel
2. Cleanliness
3. Room service
4. Very efficient front desk staff

Things that didn't click for us:
1. Breakfast buffet - The spread isn't elaborate, considering that the menu otherwise is a bit overpriced. Towards the end of our stay, things improved a bit (maybe becoz there were a few more guests by then).
2. Attitude of the head steward in-charge of breakfast - On the first day during breakfast, he started rattling something off in Hindi (though he was talking very much in English to a couple of foreigners seated in the table next to us) and when i pointed out that a couple of us weren't that conversant in hindi, he took objection to that and asked us "What? Don't you know Hindi?", which i felt was a bit rude, considering that this was not a regular hotel, where the staff didn't know English. Even after that incident, he continued to talk in hindi the next few days as a couple of us in the group were conversant and had to translate what he said to the others. This was indeed quite surprising, considering the general level of politeness shown by the other staff.
3. We also observed that the head stewart & one or two waiters kept staring at us while we ate. Probably they wanted to be of assistance but it really puts people off if someone is always watching them eat.

Mr. Eric, whom we got introduced to later, met us at the end of our trip to get our feedback and accepted our complaints gracefully. He told us that he would look into the complaints at the earliest and also told us that a training programme for the staff was in the works.

Overall it is a nice place to stay if you could overlook the above mentioned irritants.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor were nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shriram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had not booked any hotel in advance, and we just landed up in Jaipur. We had a hotel in mind, but couldnt find rooms in there. To our luck, we just walked around and found this place "Shahpura House". Amazing place with superb hositality. Mr Eric William (hotel staff) took us to show the rooms, and we loved it. Got the booking done (u need a driving licence or a passport, pan card wont work!!), It was my husband's birthday, and two of us along with sisters had gone to enjoy the wekend and celebrate my husband's birthday. Truly speaking it was beautiful. Calm, classy, with a heritage feel around. Thr hotel is very neat and clean, and the housekeeping is professional. It was raining heavily, but they made sure to keep the dirt, water and foot prints away from the floor.
Food is not extra ordinary, but u get a decent breakfast buffet. In room dining is also pretty decent. Overall an awesome experience!! Would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a royal experiance without shelling out too much of money!!

Room Tip: Try the terrace rooms. 501 and 502 are indeed spacious and nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripinmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a very eclectic hotel. You feel like royalty when you enter. The staff are amazing, especially Eric. He makes you feel at home. This is my forth time staying here and they never disappoint. The rooms are clean, very spacious and good AC. Free wifi is a plus. Restaurant has good breakfast. Have dinner by the pool. Very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Shahpura House only for one night, but I wish had more time there. It is a wonderful hotel with very friendly staff. Our room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom really luxorious. The food in the restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudi-225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a long journey from depressing Agra we arrived to a warm welcome from Mr Eric Williams, he is so proud of his establishment - and rightly so. The rooms are spacious, with a big bed, coulorful quilts, clean bathrooms. The service is superior to any of the well known branded hotels with incredibly kind and attentive staff. The spa is absolutely wonderful and really is v for m! Dinner was a highlight in the form of tasty butter chicken, naan and pineapple raita but it was made even more wonderful by the truly kindhearted, well trained staff who leave you wanting for absolutely nothing. A very special place that I will choose should I visit Jaipur again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews