We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shahpura House
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was full of culture, it was like stepping into the past.

Lots of little details, which make this a fun place.

Breakfast as with many Indian hotels should be given a miss.

Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simple_blokeTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Shahpura House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Oh my goodness – we were totally blown away by this little gem. The unassuming entrance gives no hint of the magnificence inside. A totally sympathetic extension to an old house has provided a glimpse of old India with the comforts of modern convenience. But what amazing attention to detail has gone on here. Even the bedside clocks look like the old fashioned alarm clock.
We all had suites – ours had a separate sitting room and a little private patio. But all the rooms on the top floor open onto the terrace and there are chairs and tables to sit outside. There are robes and slippers, magnificent bathrooms, marble floors and exotic brocade curtains. The pool is not big, but there are lounger chairs and small chairs and tables and you can have a drink outside. There’s a small bar like a miniature Strand Bar (Yangon), a breakfast room like something from the Raj, and dinner is served on the roof terrace, complete with traditional Indian music (live) and a dancer. Our second night we ordered room service and snacked on toasted sandwiches and wine from the mini bar, on our terrace, while the musicians played below us. Very good television with lots of stations, too.

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms except ours, but I believe they are all suites. Ours had a separate litt...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel looked lovely online, but sometimes that isn't a great indicator of what the hotel is actually like.
In the case of Shahpura House, it was every bit as wonderful as I had hope it would be. I felt like I was on the set of a lavish Bollywood movie with the elaborate decor and wonderful staff.
When we first arrived we were taken into a waiting room where we were given a cup of soup and an informative history of the building.
The room was beautiful and comfortable. I wish we were able to enjoy it longer.
The food at rooftop restaurant was great and the entertainment was fun.
If in Jaipur, do not miss this gem!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellaice74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

If in Jaipur, this is a must stay haven away from the city madness. Our boys were pretty sick after the previous hotel we stayed at and the hotel bent over backwards to help us, calling in a doctor in the early hours, changing sheets, bins etc whenever needed. Restaurant and food very good. Would definitely stay here again. Such a history packed wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penrs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A pretty and small heritage hotel in a quiet location.
- We had rooms 501 and 502 on the top floor. These are perfect for families with plenty of space for a 3rd bed. There is also a large shared terrace on this floor (only 6 rooms in totals on the floor) where you can sit in the evening after an exhausting day tackling Jaipur. There is a view over the local suburb which is quite interesting.
- hotel is easily accessible by tuktuk at a cheap price and most parts of Jaipur don't take long to get to.
- Good value and the staff are friendly and helpful especially the concierge
- Wifi only extends to the common areas downstairs but it is free
- Water only provided at the start / not replenished daily
- Buffet breakfast is the weak point, it is pretty inedible, stick to the cereal!
- We ate out each night so can't comment on the quality of the evening restaurants
But all things considered it represents a haven in a very busy city. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor family suites are the best with plenty of space and a shared terrace with a view over the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcopolo2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Shahpura House as for 2 nights as part of a Golden Triangle Tour arranged by Trailfinders. What a beautiful hotel and the staff were excellent. Special mention to Eric the guest manager who is a legend. We had one of the roof top suites with not one but two very large four poster beds and the best shower of our holiday!! Toileteries provided + fluffy towels & complimentary water. Roof top terrace with good views and very good brakfast. Pool not very big but big enough for a dip after a long day sight seeing. All staff excellent - we were checking out before breakfast served and were provided with very good breakfast boxes with out the need to ask. Used the roof top restaurant both nights as too shattered to go elsewhere. Food very good by as usual costs higher than outside Hotels. Paid over £20 for a bottle of wine which has been typical on our tour. Music and dancers provided as part of entertainment which was interesting on 1st night however two nights in a row a bit much. Service on 2nd night not very good, had to wait about an hour before dinner arrived - this was due to half staff being off due to Holi Celebrations, however overall experince excellent and would use again and recommend. Don't know specific costs as part of overall price from Trailfinders so can't comment on VFM.

Room Tip: Go for the roof top suites...............
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

No doorman in fancy uniform and no grand hall for reception but a warm welcome from Eric and his staff followed by a dip in the pool and a sundowner on the rooftop terrace.
The hotel is a delightful "heritage" design with beautiful decor, stained glass and wall paintings.
We were told it is owned by a Raja and we could well believe the claim.
We had two rooms on the top floor and are highly recommended for comfort and quiet.
Algun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top terrace are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#42 of 383 in Jaipur
873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 383 in Jaipur
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
845 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 383 in Jaipur
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Address: Devi Marg, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $74 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shahpura House 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing