We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaipur, India with Kids - Stay in a "Palace"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
Ranked #46 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jaipur, India with Kids - Stay in a "Palace"”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As 2 families traveling through India for two weeks, we chose The Raj Palace as a special treat to be able to stay in a palace. It was the most expensive place we stayed the whole trip.

Three negatives:
1) The breakfast - poor offerings that seemed like(and I am fairly certain were) leftovers unless you got the eggs freshly made, also the toaster makes a terrible screeching sound as it rotates, not a 5-star breakfast at all! I see now another reviewer made similar comments. Slow service at breakfast as well.

2) The Health Club - essentially nonexistent, if this is a 5-start hotel, it needs to have a good workout facility. Pool was not heated but that seems to be standard in India,

3) Spa Services - two of us had massages and although each person chose a different massage, they were essentially the same. Also, the masseuse asked for a tip at the end. Again, not a 5-start experience.

3 Positives:
1) Rooms - beautiful, spacious and each one is unique. We easily we able to accommodate our two children in the room with us.

2) Service - very attentive, friendly and wanting to make sure your experience is great. The staff really worked hard on the New Years Eve party complete with fireworks.

3) Buildings and Grounds - very peaceful yet close to all the hustle bustle of Jaipur. The kids (ages 10-13) enjoyed exploring all the palace rooms and grounds. Fantastic outdoor chess set on the upper level.

We visited the Rambaugh Palace which is very slick and polished looking and more expensive. I like that The Raj Palace seems more authentic...like real people trying to pull off an authentic Indian palace experience for their guests. If they could just change a few things it would really make it a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    86
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
97
122
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great hotel, great place, wonderful food, all in all very happy.I must say this place is a surprise. no idea from the outside as to what to expect. The history behind this is truly remarkable, I was lucky too to have a friend, a relative of the family explain this to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 937sd936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience.

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

I will pass on your appreciation to The Raj Palace team for having done a fabulous job. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for all of us


Warm regards

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajasthan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I never did night stay in the hotel but my guest were there for 7 days and i used to be with them whole day , i want to tell here that the property is amazing and rooms are word less. I feel that i am a king, the service is wonderful and food was very good.Also my guest praised me for giving opportunity to stay in this property. Every traveler must experience this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are good behind the main garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTVTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thought with us and we shall make sure each of your geusts are pampered well even more in coming days
Thanks once again
Ankur Rara
General Manager
The Raj Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our Easy Tours of India tour. Uniformed staff greeted us with a juice drink in a beautiful courtyard. Our marble room and bath had a magnificent, intricately carved headboard (a little dusty) with a window which overlooked the courtyard. At night the public rooms and courtyard of this heritage hotel are beautifully lit-you feel as if you are in another time. We were the only ones at a buffet breakfast in an ornate dining room. Was there anyone else staying at this hotel? We ate a light dinner in the bar/clubroom- American chicken and a pasta dish-excellently prepared and a welcome respite after so much Indian food. The morning we were to leave (quite early) 2 staff members greeted us in our little courtyard to escort us downstairs where an entire crew was there to bid us good-bye. We found this to be a very different experience which we will always remember.

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw were large and ornate. Old fashioned locks and keys secure your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RITA E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thought with us.
Serving our guests and giving them a memorable experience is our constant endeavor and we pledge to do the same for each of our guests

Thanks once again
Ankur Rara
General Manager
The Raj Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Allow me to preface my review by stating that India is a country of absolute abject poverty. You have to maintain that fact in the back of your mind to have a modicum of perspective when traveling there otherwise you will have a very unpleasant visit.
The Raj Palace hotel is somewhat of an oasis nestled in the hustle and bustle of Jaipur. You don't have to walk far (perhaps a block) to see skinny cows rummaging through garbage for food. Once you've navigated your way there it does offer a respite of calm.
The check in process is very simply and fast. We received a tour of the grounds and shown to our room. Rooms and furnishings were rustic, perhaps a bit too much so. The rooms were locked with a padlock and heavy key. To say the furniture was dated would be an understatement. King beds were essentially uncomfortable twins paired together. You could tolerate the couch for about 15 minutes before your buttocks would go numb. The overwhelming majority of visitors to this hotel are foreigners, yet there were over 50 channels of satellite tv on which were mostly local and Hindi channels. There were only two english language channels, CNN (which had permanent static) and Comedy Central which had 5 minutes of commercials for every 2 minutes of rerun programming. Nothing from other languages, even though most of the visitors were from western Europe. The shower looked interesting but quite dated. There was no way to not get the entire bathroom wet while showering. This created both a perpetual fall hazard, as well as unsanitary conditions with constant standing water. Expect to be pay about 3 to 4 times more for food and beverages than you would otherwise pay at top restaurants in Jaipur for the same exact item. The breakfast spread and selection was atrocious. I've had better breakfast offerings at a Motel 6 in Flagstaff Arizona. Certainly not on par with the 5 star rating this hotel purports to have. While eating breakfast there was the constant squeaking of the bread toaster rotating, which mimicked the sound of nails against a chalkboard, except it was constant. And you're sort of stuck eating indoors as you would be eaten alive by the mosquitos in the open courtyard. Coffee was absolutely terrible. Perhaps the worst I've ever had. It was basically instant coffee mixed in hot water and burned on a stove top. My biggest gripe was with the internet service. At 2400 Rupees/$45 USD a day it is the most expensive internet service I've encountered anywhere in the world, and for someone who was visited over 40 countries in 5 continents that is saying a lot. In fact internet access had been free at every hotel I had stayed in India until arriving at Jaipur. Their excuse was that a company in Delhi charges that much and they had no choice but to pass the cost to the customer, which is absolute rubbish. You could have rented a 3 star room with free wifi service for what they were charging for internet service at this facility.

Having said all of the above I must confess that the staff was absolutely lovely. They were constantly asking if there was anything we needed, and tried to attend to us as much as they could, which is why I am rating this hotel with three stars instead of the 1 star it truly merits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AfshinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent two nights at the Raj on our recent trip to India. Without a doubt this hotel was the highlight of our holiday. The hotel was like an oasis in the centre of Jaipur. We were greeted by the manager on our arrival and ushered into the old library where we were given refreshments whilst our guide booked us in. We could see the history of the hotel in all the photographs round the walls - Prince Charles and Lady Diana, the Mountbattens etc.

Our extremely comfortable rooms were together round a little courtyard where we enjoyed our gin and tonics before going out in the evenings. All the staff were extremely heplful and kind. The food was excellent.

We took advantage of the outdoor swimming pool after our hectic mornings sightseeing.

All in all the hotel was excellent and we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joni101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thought with us and we shall make sure that you will be looked after well even more on your next trip to the Raj Palace

Thanks once again
Ankur Rara
General Manager
The Raj Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is definitely architecturally the most lovely hotel with stunning spotless modern bathrooms, beautiful antique decor.The hotel is beautiful and the rooms clean and very comfortable. Staff, really polite and very helpful.Service is extremely friendly and helpful and absolutely willing to make the stay a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience.

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

I will pass on your appreciation to The Raj Palace team for having done a fabulous job. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for most of whom work behind the scenes.

We look forward to seeing you back at the raj Palace

Warm regards

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.1 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 386 in Jaipur
1,710 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 386 in Jaipur
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 386 in Jaipur
1,200 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,880 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel

Property: The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
Address: The Raj Palace Amer Road | Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#21 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#37 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent Maharajas palace, located in the heart of Jaipur city. Tucked behind fortified walls, The Raj Palace is Jaipur’s former royal residence and palace. A multi award winning hotel. It is a first museum hotel, stately mansion and pleasure palace with restaurants, a spa, exclusive cinema, pool, gardens, courtyards and stunning decorative features. The Raj Palace is located on the main Amber Road and near to all the Major site seeing places and shopping areas are very near to the palace. It was Built in 1727 to be the Jaipur first palace it is an unrivalled specimen of the Pink City character, charm and grandeur. The palace was converted into an exquisite luxury hotel in 1996. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in India. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThink grandeur to the highest degree. 24 carat gold fittings, stucco, brocades, mirror work, hand-painted frescoes, massive crystal chandeliers, antiques and priceless artifacts, this is a monumental palace with an immense wow factor. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in the world.. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Swapna Mahal Restaurant has been richly decorated with real gold leaf work, a majestic rare crystal chandelier, rich palace furniture and a crockery museum housing centuries old collections. The Shikarbadi Bar decorated with finest hand paintings depicting hunting scenes, housing the finest wine. The Kebab Shop live bar be Que restaurant serving the most authentic Mughlai cuisine dashed with rich Indian spices is a food lovers delight, and any moment of the day, The Royal Lounge (Coffee Shop) is a privileged place. The choice of cuisine is extensive, from international feasts in the restaurant, delicious kebabs on the grill outside to traditional afternoon tea. Watch marionette theatre or a film and browse the various museum collections, from crockery to celebrity to hunting. Go to the spa to relax, the onsite Princess Boutique to shop and the countryside for safaris. A perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with modern world facilities the Hamam swimming pool, Prakriti spa , Manoranjan Multimedia theatre, puppet show, Palmist and choice of booking special gala theme events can make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThe Raj Palace is a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World property and Five Star Alliance Club and also rated as Worlds Leading Heritage Hotel by World travel Awards Seven times in row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Palace Jaipur
Raj Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing