We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Grand”
Review of The Raj Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Raj Palace
Ranked #43 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

It is a very beautiful hotel. Located in the center of Jaipur city. Hospitality is amazing. I felt royal when i entered the hotel. Once in a life time one should definitely visit this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are special and beautiful. It will make you feel royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankajkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thought with us and we make sure that each of your geusts are looked after very well and we shall do the same in the years to come

Thanks once again
Ankur Rara
General Manager
The Raj Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful hertage hotel during the quiet season and think we might have been the only guests one night. It is a lovely old heritage hotel with integral museum! Old style rooms and lovely courtyards. A fabulous small swimming pool. Food excellent ..alcohol expensive. Very helpful staff. Incredibly expensive shops.

It would have been a five except we had no hot water on arrival and I was told to let it run...it got slightly tepid but tafter 10 mins still too cold for a bath or shower but I was told that that it was hot....No way. Next day it was fixed and lovely and hot but I resented being told I was imaging things..honesty the best policy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We have noted your comments on the bathroom malfunction on your arrival day
We value all feedback and constantly strive to improve our product and services.

We would like to invite you to write in to us at gm@rajpalace.in so we can work together to restore your confidence in us.

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed one night in August - Looking at previous Tripadvisor review we should have avoided ROOM 107 as well !! - it still had no hot water in the evening - then in the morning the water was at scolding temperature and unusable - and this was after a service call to fix the problem!
While the dining room was elegant and beautiful, the expensive dinner was nothing special. By the time we came to check out, we asked the Manager for some compensation for no hot water. The Manager told me that the charge had already gone through - then offered some puppets as gifts to 2 of our 3 children - the dolls turned out to be mould ridden - we threw them out.
The Raj Palace may be good if you want to take a look at the spectacular museum-like palace, but perhaps only for a drink or breakfast. Definitely won't be going there again and would advise others to BEWARE. It was quite expensive and with poor service which is a shame given the potential of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Australian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your last stay in our hotel.

We recently indeed had a smell issue in this room for the hot water as it vwas in the last corner of the building but our engineering had fixed it up very quickly, I am sorry that you experienced this issue.

We hope to welcome you very soon and we again apologize.
With best regards,

Ankur Rara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The entrance to this hotel in the old town does not give the best impression, but fears are soon allayed once you see the hotel grounds. The reception area also does not help as it is extremely small and modest if you will, and doesn't fit at all with the rest of the hotel. These are some of the quirks this hotel has.

However, that said, this hotel is gorgeous and filled with history. We walked all around, studying all the photos on the palace walls, explored interior courtyards, walked the expansive and beautifully manicured lawn where you can take refreshments or play croquet. The pool is small but beautiful-located in an alcove surrounded by statues with a full length mirror on the back wall which further enhances its otherworldly appearance. We didn't have the opportunity to dip more than a hand in the pool but it looked very clean and the water was not cold.

Foodwise, there are two possibilities: the formal Swapna Mahal Restaurant where we ate once. it,s beautiful but my partner who really enjoys Indian food wasn't blown away by the food. The other food option is a coffee shop where there is all-day dining. I found the food adequate but for the most part, not memorable. I found the fixed meal times, outside of which the menu is quite limited, inconvenient at times. In the coffee shop, there is a glass case with cups signed by celebrities, mostly Indian, who have stayed at The Raj. Our waiter, and he was our waiter wherever we ate, Ghandsi, was wonderful. The restaurant manager was also great, always there to ensure that we got the best service. And by the way, breakfast was excellent.

In the evenings, there was a performance, on a stage set up on the lawn, featuring Indian percussion music and 3 female dancers. The young principal dancer danced with 5 pots piled on her head and was incredible.

Our room was spacious and comfortable so that we were happy to return each day. As for tv, don't expect CNN or the BBC but rather prepare yourself for Bollywood. It was an opportunity to become familiar with Bollywood films even if we didn't understand the language.

Another reviewer had mentioned free water, I too had been under the impression that a bottle of water was included each day but in the end we were charged for every bottle. This was something that I did notice at this hotel- there were little charges left, right and center, some of which I frankly didn't understand. The hotel shops were incredibly expensive, even for a hotel of this quality.

The hotel, upon our request, provided us with a car and an excellent driver who spoke English and was very knowledgeable re: the location of shops as well as sights we wanted to see. He also was very helpful, helping me up the steps of the Monkey Temple (I suffer from angina) and showing me how to act at the shrine.

If you want to spend time shopping and exploring the old town of Jaipur, this hotel is well located. Myself, I was a bit disappointed with the old town of Jaipur so in the end, probably would not have minded staying at a hotel such as the Rambaugh Palace outside of Jaipur.

Two of the three nights we spent at this hotel, there were no other guests so it felt a bit lonely and strange. I had the impression that perhaps the hotel was frequented more by Indians rather than foreigners. But the third day, a French tour group dropped by for lunch and in the evening, there were two other tourist couples.

Would I return to The Raj Palace, probably not. I found three days there too long. However, it is a special place filled with history and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This time yet again there was something new! Once again had a wonderful time soaking in the quiet and calm atmosphere along with superb hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reikiottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thought with us and we make sure that each of your geusts are looked after very well and we shall do the same in the years to come


Thanks once again and thank you for selecting our proeprty in each trip
Ankur Rara
General Manager
The Raj Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Located on the main Mumbai-Jaipur Amer Road, this hotel has several awards to its name, and is part of Small Heritage Luxury Hotels. It is a private property, converted into a heritage hotel about 10 years back.

The reception i area is too small to be of any significance, but pass beyond it and you are in a sprawling, well manicured lawn, surrounded by rooms. The rooms are excellent, as it the restaurant, loaded with luxurious crockery and chandeliers etc.

I did not get a chance to check out the pool or fitness center.

The value for money (which is a lot) is not a strong point of this hotel. Check for better rates on the internet, which are lower by 50%. I would still prefer other high end hotels in Jaipur.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Aisquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay again at The Raj Palace and for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.
Please note that our guest choose us for our Luxury Heritage experience which has made us win the world Travel Award for best heritage hotel in the world continuously since 2007 for 7 times.

I once again thank you and assure you the best experience during your next stay with The Raj Palace.

Kind Regards

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We spent 3 nights here on our Rajasthan tour. It's not far from the centre of Jaipur, though not in the Pink City itself, but once you are inside the hotel grounds it's very easy to unwind. We had two rooms - one for our son and one for us - and we were given two rooms with (effectively) their own large balcony overlooking the central area of the hotel. The rooms themselves were spacious and comfortable and the hotel itself is both beautiful and interesting to explore. When we stayed there were very few guests which was surprising as we thought the hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was good, the hotel was kept immaculately clean and the rooms we had were very comfortable. We could definitely have got used to living in such style!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickgred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

I will pass on your appreciation to the Housekeeping team for having done a fabulous job in keeping your room tidy and public area very clean. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for housekeepers most of whom work behind the scenes.


Yes, you should come back for longer and will chart out an interesting plan for you to indulge in some carefully crafted unique experiences at The Raj Palace and take back more beautiful memories to cherish!

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.1 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 385 in Jaipur
1,754 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 385 in Jaipur
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 385 in Jaipur
1,235 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 385 in Jaipur
705 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 385 in Jaipur
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Palace

Address: Jorawer Singh Gate, Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#19 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#37 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $482 - $1,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Raj Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent Maharaja's palace, located in the heart of Jaipur city. Tucked behind fortified walls, The Raj Palace is Jaipur’s former royal residence and palace. A multi award winning hotel. It is a first museum hotel, stately mansion and pleasure palace with restaurants, a spa, exclusive cinema, pool, gardens, courtyards and stunning decorative features. The Raj Palace is located on the main Amber Road and near to all the major sight seeing places and shopping areas are very near to the palace. It was built in 1727 to be the Jaipur first palace; it is an unrivaled specimen of the Pink City character, charm and grandeur. The palace was converted into an exquisite luxury hotel in 1996. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in India. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. Think grandeur to the highest degree. 24 Carat gold fittings, stucco, brocades, mirror work, hand-painted frescoes, massive crystal chandeliers, antiques and priceless artifacts, this is a monumental palace with an immense wow factor. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in the world. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Swapna Mahal Restaurant has been richly decorated with real gold leaf work, a majestic rare crystal chandelier, rich palace furniture and a crockery museum housing centuries old collections. The Shikarbadi Bar decorated with finest hand paintings depicting hunting scenes, housing the finest wine. The Kebab Shop live bar-b-que restaurant serving the most authentic Mughlai cuisine dashed with rich Indian spices is a food lover's delight, and any moment of the day The Royal Lounge (Coffee Shop) is a privileged place. The choice of cuisine is extensive, from international feasts in the restaurant, delicious kebabs on the grill outside to traditional afternoon tea. Watch marionette theatre or a film and browse the various museum collections, from crockery to celebrity to hunting. Go to the spa to relax, the onsite Princess Boutique to shop and the countryside for safaris. A perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with modern world facilities the Hamam swimming pool, Prakriti spa, Manoranjan multimedia theatre, puppet show, palmist and choice of booking special gala theme events can make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Raj Palace is a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World property and Five Star Alliance Club and also rated as Worlds Leading Heritage Hotel by World Travel Awards seven times in row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raj Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Palace Jaipur
Raj Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing