We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Rajvilas
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We got away from the hustle and bustle of New delhi by heading out to Jaipur. About 5-6hours away by car, we were wowed when we arrived. Cold towels and drinks greet the weary traveller. Then you are whisked away in a golf cart or horse drawn carriage to your room for check-in.

We booked a Tent, instead of rooms sharing a common courtyard. The tent, from the outside, looked like a mini-jumbo tent that the circus uses. Inside, you have all the modern amenities that a 5-star room would require. Inside, the ceiling is lined with a off-white cotton material of some pleasant design and specked with small mirrors. The ceiling follows the tent line.

A huge comfortable bed, long study table, with built in mini-bar, and a large shielded-off walk in wardrobe, shower, toilet, 2 sinks, and bath tub area. Well-planned, well maintained, and well-stocked with toiletries.

There is an outdoor area in front and behind the tent with chairs or lounge if you so love the great outdoors.

Food is of good quality - whether you go for Indian or Western food items. We ordered a mix of room service and also patronised the F&B outlet. My son and I loved the swimming pool and its big enough to do laps. I don't think there was a gym, but the property is so large, you could run a couple of loops to maintain your fitness.

We also loved the hotels attention to detail. Little things such as putting in a bookmark in your open book/magazine, ear plugs to drwon out the early morning noise, and the mixture of nuts for our consumption were very well appreciated. OK-OK, they 'wow'-ed us with their attention!

Our trip to Naila Fort, which is also the personal residence of the Oberoi owners, was one of the highlights [besides seeing Amber Fort, City Palace, and the Observatory, of course]. This event was organised by the hotel. After lumbering around the rugged countryside by elephant, we made our way up the narrow single lane road to the Naila Fort by car. We toured the outdoor areas of the fort, and then sat down for a picnic catered by the hotel. My son enjoyed feeding the squirrels with our host from the hotel, Gita.

All in all, a very relaxing and lovely stay at Rajvilas. My wife and son were not happy to leave after 4 nights here. We hope to be back, but will probably head to Udaipur and Agra next time ... hopefully with Oberoi again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Dear Guest,
What a Review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your experiences in detail and describing each property features. Definitely a resourceful write up for any reader wanting to visit the Oberoi Rajvilas. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed each of our services to their fullest and appreciated every moment of it. The team has enjoyed looking after you and your son, and we sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back to our oasis. On your way to Udaipur and the Oberoi Udaivilas of course!

Safe travels,
Vincent Guironnet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

Our family stayed at the Oberoi Rajvilas in between the Aman in Delhi and the Oberoi Vanyavilas in Ranthambhore. In comparison to these two stellar properties, the Rajvilas is only a 4. Bad timing for the Rajvilas, I'm afraid.

Rooms are lovely and comfortable, but not as special as the magnificent grounds would have you expect. Service was very good - just not as good as the Aman and the Vanyavilas. The international cuisine at the hotel restaurant was good, although the menu was limited, and the entertainment was a bit boring. The location (about 15 minutes' drive from Jaipur) is beautifully secluded, but makes it difficult to venture out without pre-arranged plans.

If I had stayed here without having visited the Aman and the Vanyavillas, I probably would have had a more glowing review. In comparison, the Rajvilas is "just" a 4.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your time to share your feedback.

Since we strive to excel in our guest delivery we are dismayed to learn that when compared to our sister property we were unable to match their service delivery.
The resort being only 15 minutes away from the city may take a little extra time due to the traffic, but we are sure that the resort’s beautiful gardens, and relaxing atmosphere provide an idyllic retreat from the hustle and bustle of the tourist trail is more than welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back and share with you all betterment of our services and exceed your expectations.

Poornima Bhamhal
Luxury Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I must say,the service at oberoi hotel rajvilas is excellent.The staff is good and always ready to help you,any time.we stayed for two days ,and the room layout is well planned,keeping in mind the western needs,escepcially the bay window,which depicts the fascinating views.But i was little dissappointed with the hotel location

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devtox17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and the Rajvilas Team is pleased to know that you have appreciated their efforts. Although benig a recent property The Oberoi Rajvilas is built in a traditional Rajasthani fort style, bringing comfort to our guests.

We do accept that the resort is just the outskirt of the city center and may take a little extra time due to the traffic, but we are sure that the resort’s beautiful gardens, and relaxing atmosphere provide an idyllic retreat from the hustle and bustle of the tourist trail is more than welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Jaipur sometime soon.


Best regards,

Poornima Bhambal
Assistant Manager-Luxury Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I loved the Oberoi hotel in India, we stayed there on our honeymooon period and had the rooms with private swimming pool it was a dream... The service, staff, food of the restaurant were high standard even the spa had extremely nice ayurvedic treatments. The hotel is quiet and extremely well decorated. Modern and clean. They have this very old temple within the hotel and as we just got married they offered us to marry us a second time in their Hindu temple, so a priest came and pray all the hindu gods for an hour while a woman was taking pictures of us during the ceremony. All that on the compliment of the hotel as a gift for our marriage. GREAT EXPERIENCE
Plus all the Oberoi in India have this principle of no tipping for each action but instead leaving an enveloppe at the end of the stay at reception so it avoids you to be worried about having the right cash all the time. The best hotel we stayed in Rajasthan during our 3 weeks travelling the North of India.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrinettevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are extremely grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. Our endeavor to do something out of the ordinary for our guests encouraged us to organise the little wedding blessing ceremony at our Lord Shiva’s Temple. Since it’s a new beginning for both of you it’s never too late to get God’s blessings.
I hope that the pictures taken by one of my team members will bring back fond memories of your stay with us and will encourage you to come back again to renew your wedding vows during your next stay with us which we eagerly look forward to.
The centralized tipping policy at the Oberoi hotels has been made keeping in mind not to inconvenience our guests at any time during their stay with us. And at the same time the gratuities a gesture to say thank you for the team member’s services are distributed equally amongst all the team members.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future for yet another memorable stay with us.


Best regards,
Poornima Bhamal
Luxury Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed in the deluxe tent accomodation, it was an absolutely delighful experience. One noticeable difference beteween Oberoi's and other luxury hotels is the hospitality of the staff in Oberoi's. Sadly there just very few Oberoi hotels. They made our anniversary dinner special and took care of smallest of details. I am waiting to visit Oberoi hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

“Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Oberoi Rajvilas, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am glad that our team’s effort to make your stay special has exceeded your expectations. Our endeavor to serve our guests with the best of our capabilities is what sets us apart. Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future for yet another memorable stay with the Oberoi Hotels.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

best hotel i ever been. the room is very nice. the service is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albaneze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and The Oberoi Rajvilas Team is pleased to know that you have appreciated their efforts. We now look forward to welcoming you back in Jaipur sometime soon.
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Although , it took some time for me to write the review for this hotel, but its never too late.

I am sadden by some of the comments about this hotel being worst or bad.

This Hotel is World Class standard of Luxury. The staff is not only thorough professional but very warm and welcoming. The food is extra-ordinary. The rooms are Out Standing.

I stayed here for 2 nights for my honeymoon. It was not very crowded when we visited, the entire staff knew us and were always recognized by our last names. We stayed at one of the most elegant Tent-rooms provided by the hotel. Privacy was worth every penny. Turn-Down service was awesome. The property is so big , quite, and in perfect state that makes you stay longer. The chauffeur driven car, the guides, provided by Hotel, were very genuine and honest people. Even they care more about hotel image than anything else, when entertaining our request. The idea of privacy, romantic and intimate set up and taking extra-ordinary efforts to do make us feel like above Royals is something this hotel did for us couple of months back and we still can't forget that !

I can write as much good things as I want abt the hotel and it won't be enough. But I must also state , I had some issues but were resolved by Senior most manager in the most amicable way. I am humble by their response to my rage, their service to my demands.

Please note there 3 areas which I was not satisfied but won't complain either:
1. Location : Its quite far from major attraction - if your want to indulge yourself in pure luxury, try to accommodate less tourist type stuff , when staying at this hotel

2. Restaurant: Back in July one of the restaurant was under renovation - not sure if it is still but if you don't have lot many options to eat near by - you are stuck - Although we did had dinner at Taj Rambaugh Palace b/c can't eat same at same place every day.

3. Spa: I wish they had advertised verbally and invited us to visit their SPA facility. It could have been Great experience. For reason, I couldn't think right now, but when i visited the facility, they couldn't accommodate us, may be we didn't had appointment or may be they are not open late - i blame myself for that but i certainly think hotel could have done better job informing patrons abt taking advantage of this facility....I ended up using JIVA SPA at Taj Lake Palace

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank what_wonderful_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajvilas_Jaipur, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback, and it is certainly never too late to share such comments. We have noted your detailed review and appreciation of the facilities along with the recognition towards our team members. We proud ourselves in delivering exceptional services and are extremely pleased we have made a difference on such a special occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back (for your anniversary!) and share with you all betterment of our services and how we can once again exceed your expectations.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
4.9 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 393 in Jaipur
1,798 reviews
6.6 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
5.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 393 in Jaipur
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 393 in Jaipur
3,827 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#34 of 393 in Jaipur
1,522 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#15 of 393 in Jaipur
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Rajvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Rajvilas

Address: Goner Road, Jaipur 303012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $582 - $1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Rajvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaipur, 'The Pink City', was the vision and triumph of Maharaja Jai Singh II, warrior, astronomer and politician. Built in 1727, it has at its centre the City Palace from which radiate the oleander pink buildings, domes and minarets. To find one such glittering gem in the Rajasthan desert is a feast, yet to discover so many other palaces and forts of legendary splendour within 20 miles, is a veritable festival! Within these magnificent environs, where wilderness is juxtaposed with art, The Oberoi Rajvilas glitters as a jewel in its setting. Its architectural style, its cool, regal interiors and its 32 acres of formal gardens, echo the colours and majesty of Jaipur. Deluxe rooms, sunken marble baths, air-conditioned tents with lavish bathrooms, romantic villas with private pools and dining pavilions offer an opportunity to live a lifestyle of opulence enjoyed by the Rajput princes. You will be greeted as a visiting maharaja and treated accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi Rajvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Rajvilas Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Rajvilas
Oberoi Jaipur
Jaipur Oberoi
Oberoi Rajvilas Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing