We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“liked it a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bissau Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bissau Palace
Ranked #101 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“liked it a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I would like to recommend this heritage hotel to all visitors, who would like to experience a "palace" atmosphere at a very reasonable price. It is located close to the old bazaar, a bit chaotic location, but I believe you will enjoy this hotel very much with its friendly staff, big and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cihan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    130
    59
    42
    19
See reviews for
43
104
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The palace is really beautiful and quaint though it needs a bit of renovation. The rooms are nicely decorated but the upholstery is a bit dirty and needs some changing. The staff is very accommodating and friendly, one can ask around for some friendly advice. The courtyard is beautiful, one can enjoy a drink or two there at night. The only downside is the food and the location. The food is priced on the higher side and tastes really mediocre and the location is somewhat in the other end of Jaipur and can be a hassle for tourists going around in autos.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missjalandhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hi there, i am posting this review in behalf of my guests were from America and Holland, We used this hotel twice, it is quiet good heritage hotel, we would like to recommend all our guests to stay once while they visit Jaipur.

Rajniish Kr Mehta,
Trans care holidays,
New Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajniish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a place to stay...in a palace!
We really enjoyed our stay here. The reception, lobby, lounge and restaurant area are decorated with interesting paintings and momentos, with very comfortable furniture we felt like royalty. For something a bit different we would highly recommend this hotel.
Our room has a four poster bed and was clean with hot showers.
The location is good, just a short tut tut ride from the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenthere429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in one of the rooms off the central courtyard which was adequate but a bit noisy as people sit directly outside your room on the sofas and chat away even after 11 pm and again first thing in the morning. I could also hear the noises from the kitchen early in the morning which woke me up.
It is a charming old haveli, just one of many in Rajasthan and has a lovely garden. The staff were sweet especially the Nepali rooms boys. Breakfast was good and one of the better ones on a two week tour.
The location is not good however and I would never choose to stay in that part of Jaipur again as it is crowded, noisy and getting a car in and out is difficult.

Room Tip: Rooms off the central courtyard are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is very beautiful and has a sense of days of old. It has an impressive entrance and is intricately painted throughout. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Top tip: There is a resident artist who restores a lot of the hotels artwork and paints outside the front of the hotel. He painted a lovely dog for me! (Photos attached) Communication due to language barrier was difficult but I presented him with a photo of a similar painting (belonging to a friend) for him to copy. He is brilliant and really clever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at the Bissau Palace with a group from G Adventures shortly after Christmas in 2013. The rooms at the palace are very basic with minimal amenities. The staff and the location of the Bissau Palace however are the key takeaways. The staff are very friendly and love to tell you about the history of the place and show off the pictures of famous dignitaries visiting the palace. The hotel sits in a wonderful location, secluded from the traffic noise. Overall I would recommend the Bissau Palace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.8 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#107 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Heritage Palace
The Heritage Palace
#94 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#128 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#63 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.4 mi away
Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hari Mahal Palace
Hari Mahal Palace
#134 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bissau Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bissau Palace

Property: Bissau Palace
Address: Near Saroj Cinema Bissau Palace Near Saroj Cinema, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bissau Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bissau Palace original building dates back to 1787AD & it was rebuilt in 1919AD as a Guest House & started operations in 1965 as the Oldest Heritage Hotel in Jaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bissau Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bissau Palace Jaipur
Hotel Bissau Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing