We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with great service but silly food and drink prices”
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #4 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place with great service but silly food and drink prices”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Our time was only marred by the New York prices for food and alcohol. The palace hotel and grounds are superb and service is excellent , generally warm and attentive. Our room was delightful with spacious private terrace, 4 poster bed and marbled bathroom and wonderful mirrors. Check location of rooms as ours overlooked a very scrubby corner and walls. There is a much better value restaurant in an old steam engine in the garden which is great fun and does a great variety of food. The Jaipur cocktail in the Polo Bar is delicious albeit pricy. You get canapes with drinks and the decent bar snacks are much cheaper than the restaurant. Great pity that swimming pool is not heated as its too cold in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 105susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    137
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
415
685
55
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed two (2) nights in Jaipur, stayed at another hotel yet truly wish we had stayed here. This is THE MOST amazing old-world hotel we have every visited, whilst we did not stay overnight our evening was a perfect one. The entry at night is nothing short of stunning, the light treatments on the historic facade bring a gasp to the most hard-travelled of person. Evening starting with drinks in the very refined "Polo Bar" (you must try the Udaipore Martini) and then dinner on the Verandah Restaurant. The atmosphere of the Polo Bar is what one would expect to see 100 years ago when royalty frequented the property, it is classy, elegant and makes you feel very comfortable. The Polo Bar has a very extensive cocktails menu, don't be tempted just to have a glass of wine, explore the cocktail menu and relax in the surroundings. Our dinner was also wonderful, we moved indoors to one of the three restaurants available and you again feel time-travelled back to the high-end days of the 1800's and 1900's in all the glorious elements. The dining room is again elegant, sophisticated and truly an experience, you could not feel more comfortable in such opulent surroundings. Now, sometimes hotels look great on the surface but lack substance in the dining offerings, this surpassed our expectations as I am sure it would for the most cynical guest whom enjoys the finer touches in life. Our meal was prompt but good timing in between courses to allow us enjoy each others company in such a refined atmosphere, the food when it arrived was served with professional pride that you don't see very often anymore, the meals looked perfect and was a true pleasure to savor. Overall it is an expensive offering to dine, but when one thinks of the old India, this is it and really worth every Rupee paid for such an experience. I would implore all that have the means and the time to experience this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

A stay at the Rambagh palace is unforgettable. We were upgraded to a suite and *loved* it. We enjoyed the pool (even though it is unheated) and steamroom/spa, played croquet on the lawn, and dined like kings for the two nights we were here. Be sure and take the property tour at 5:30pm each day (it's about 40 mins and followed by complimentary champagne!). The spa treatments are very expensive, so we reserved treatments down the street for 25% of the price. The staff were great throughout and the breakfast was a delight.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The Rambagh is a truly wonderful building, built for the Maharjah and with service which still reflects that era. The style and comfort is astonishing . The hotel is set in tranquil manicured gardens only a short ride away form the chaos of Jaipurs old city. This is perhaps the finest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is beautiful. But obviously it has a price to match!

  • Liked — Exquisite building
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We absolutely loved this hotel. The building is spectacular; our suite was huge and luxurious; the service was tremendous; and the food was wonderful. What more could one want? We felt like royalty ourselves staying here (and moved here from the Rajvilas -- see my review of that hotel). If you are going to Jaipur, you must stay here if you can afford it. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank crulezim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

This hotel is fabulous! You feel as though you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of Jaipur. The grounds are stunning, the pool area is beautiful, the spa pool is tranquil............I could go on and on! The staff are friendly and helpful and want to ensure you have a wonderful stay. The food is lovely and both the restaurants are beautiful. Do not miss this hotel out during your time in India.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I stayed at the Rambagh palace for two nights last week and this is one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at. The rooms were well thought out and service is impeccable. In fact, it was so good I actually tried to find flaws, all to no avail. I give this hotel highest marks for the ultimate Indian luxury experience!

  • Liked — I was treated like royalty
  • Disliked — Room a little on the small side.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onebigepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
1.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing