We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable service for this price bracket”
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #3 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Reasonable service for this price bracket”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel has quite a few good points such as:
- Welcome and check in being very efficient
- The history tour with drinks at the end
- Indian music in the evening
- Historic building
- Most staff were very pleasant.

Compared to most hotels in India this one knocks them out of the water but then the cost is also much greater. When put into that context I thought the following really let it down:

- While mostly good food one pudding we ordered hadn't been properly defrosted! An expensive restaurant shouldn't really be defrosting food to serve!
- If eating outdoors be aware of the squirrels that run all over the tables and we even caught one cheeky one going over the the remainder of the saffron rice we had ordered (on an adjoining table)! The staff didn't seem to mind these animals presence.
- Massive lawns but nowhere to sit out on them (i.e. no loungers and the few benches that were there were covered in the remnants that the birds had left).
- Staff consistently looking for tips.
- Construction work going on.
- Over zealous security stopping and asking for your room number as you wander around the grounds. Are a couple of westerners really likely to cause much trouble. If there really was a massive security breach like the mumbai taj mahal then these guys would be no help anyway, so why bother people when they are trying to relax.

So on the one hand I would probably stay here or the oberoi if going back to Jaipur but in my mind it doesn't compare favourably to other international hotels that charge a similar rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at the Rambagh Palace.

We have taken note of all the shortcomings as mentioned by you and will try and address them at the earliest.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards,


Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    142
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
438
697
58
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Words almost fail me in describing this hotel. It is over-the-top luxury in every department. We had a suite with a private terrace that was as big as some people's homes in the US. We stayed in the Peacock suite and I felt like I was experiencing what the royalty must have lived like. On one wall alone there was a huge glass mosaic of two peacocks that was breath-taking. Every thing about this place is absolutely top quality. I had a massage and the spa is beautiful and well-run. The grounds are manicured to the hilt and just magnificent. The staff went out of it's way to please. We had fireworks, elephant polo, dancers, etc. It's hard to fathom the luxury of this palace when you contrast it with what's outside - India and it's overwhelming filth and poverty.

Room Tip: Try the Peacock suite for true luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards,


Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I think I join most of my fellow reviewers who have written about this property by saying WOW! We were a party of four travelling around Rajasthan celebrating two special occasions, birthday and anniversary and we stayed here for two nights. The welcome that we received was wonderful, we were showered by rose petals from above, a photo taken of us altogether and then this photo was given to us with a lovely farewell gift upon our departure! Our accommodation was very kindly and generously upgraded to Suites which were opulent and very spacious; the bathroom huge with a large corner walk-in shower, and separate bath tub. Our Suite was on the ground level near to the outdoor restaurant which proved to be quite noisy in the evenings with guests walking past and speaking or laughing loudly; perhaps a second door should be placed as you enter the bedroom in order to block out any noise? Food for thought...

We stayed during their Diwali Celebrations which is similar to Christmas and were were invited by the GM to attend a candle lighting ceremony out in the spectacular gardens! There was live music and traditional dance for all those guests who chose to dine outdoors under the moonlight at the main restaurant. The food was delicicous, the service during dinner excellent! On the second night we wanted something very light after a long day sightseeing, so we opted for the Italian restaurant which was a housed in an old train bought by the Maharaja many years ago; again the staff and food were great!

We participated in the Hotel tour which takes place daily with a member of staff explaining to us the history of the Palace which was really interesting and then at the end of the tour,we ended up in the Polo Bar with a glass of champagne and canapes! A lovely touch!!

In general the service was very good however breakfast and lunch service outdoors was rather slow on both occasions which was a little annoying especially as we were in a hurry to depart for excursions and other activities. The staff were apologetic of course, but one could sense that it was not only with us but looking around us other guests seemed to be waiting for ages for food, drinks or menus etc.

The Hotel building in itself is extraordinary with wonderful gardens and water features, lots of boutiques for shopping high quality traditional items. We visited the indoor pool and spa reception area which were lovely, sadly we did not have the opportunity to enjoy any treatments.

The Rambagh Palace is an expensive property however if you can afford it, it is an experience in itself!

Room Tip: Do not have a room / Suite on the ground floor near the main restaurant as it can be noisy in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Rambagh Palace.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay at the Palace. We have taken note of all the points raised by you and will definitely take the corrective action accordingly. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Rambagh Palace soon.

Kind regards,


Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todmorden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you want to know what it is like to be treated like a King, Queen or visiting President... stay here. Driven to the door in a 57 Buik, showered with flower petals, Photos taken, flower garlands hung around our necks, champayne and treats after tour of the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,


Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's been really long but this is one place I would love to more often....it's a palace turned into hotel.....so well and elegantly designed....looking into the comfort of all the guests....amazing food.....and so traditional....you feel so touched with your hometown

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunitamantri68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards,

Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We travelled to Jaipur for a quick weekend getaway... after a long drive we reached the hotel and were greated very pleasantly with a welcome drink and a garland of flowers and tilak.. My 8 year old was absolutely charmed by this :)

Our room was wonderful with great views of the sprawling gardens.. There was a life size chess just in front of our room and we enjoyed many hours playing with this (pics attached)..

The food was good.. although we only had breakfast at the hotel..

We did spend quite sometime at the pool, playing crotchet, badminton, carrom and all other games at the children's centre.. if you are travelling with kids they will surely have a ball!

The hotel sent a special present for my daughter.. which was a wonderful surprise for her :)

Excellent staff, very polite, helpful and loving..

Will be visiting again in the next few months for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

The feedback shared by you is for Jai Mahal Palace that is another Taj Hotel in Jaipur.

We have shared the feedback with them.

Kindest regards,

Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is not really a hotel, it is a palace, at the disposal of the guests. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we were treated like royalty. I won't spill all the surprises, except: the hotel is stunning, with its gardens and water features. the room is unbelievably beautiful and luxurious, the choice of restaurants is excellent and the full size indoor swimming pool is something out of this world. It has chaises longues, floral arrangements and beautiful ceramic tiles. Changing clothes can be done in the adjacent spa.... Last but not least, the staff are amazing. We never needed to tell our room number: they simply knew. If you happen to run into Nemisha, she is the most genuinly caring, diligent, ever present, enthousiastic staff member we have ever met. She is worth her weight in gold!
My husband got ill from eating food outside the hotel and we needed a doctor. The hotel staff followed everything up: from calling the doc, to getting the medicine, to regularly enquiring how he was and a beautiful "get well" surprise at the entrance of the room + a big bouquet of roses! Unheard of.
We dream of going back there one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishGupta-GM, General Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Williams,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Rambagh Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your generous appreciation of the services at our Palace has been conveyed to all our concerned staff specially Ms. Nimisha Pareek. She is certainly an asset to our organization.

Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Rambagh Palace soon.

Kindest regards,


Manish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 386 in Jaipur
1,389 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 386 in Jaipur
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing