We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulent living!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #4 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Opulent living!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

What more can be said about the Rambagh that has not been said previously? As soon as you turn into their driveway, you enter another world of peacefulness and tranquility.

It starts with a drive from security in a vintage open-top Ford, through manicured gardens and past the old Steam Train, which is now a western-style restaurant, and on to the new formal entry, where you are met with a hot towel and a cooling drink.

The reception lobby is beautifully decorated, all marble and warm timber, and with bowls of floating flowers in the centre. Reception is un-obtrusive at one end, and a lounge area at the other. Most rooms are built around the quadrangle, which contains manicured gardens, fountains and flowing water. Very serene.

Our room was large, with a 4-poster bed, ample sitting room, a dressing room, a mirrored bathroom which reflected forever, and a separate shower room. Very comfortable and quiet.

Dining options were very good. Their formal Indian fine dining room is beautifully decorated with frescoes painted by Italian internees from WW11, chandeliers, superb crockery and many paintings and antiques. This was originally the banquet hall for entertaining. The international dining room offered both indian and western foods, and external terrace dining, in what used to be the dancing and entertaining room. Again, this was beautifully decorated with carved marble panels and some wonderful paintings and portraits. On the terrace, in the evening, traditional dance performances are played, with a backdrop of the original formal entrance (with a gentle ramp for the elephants to arrive), and highlight lighting over the building and grounds, providing a wonderful atmosphere.

This is a highly recommended destination, and a hotel that should be on everyone's wish list. You are made to feel as if you are the guest of the Maharaja by staff who know and understand hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    133
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
391
659
52
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kormangla,Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Taj Rambagh Palace was our accommodation for our anniversary in Jaipur last week. Antilog Vacations which specializes in Rajasthan packages had selected the wonderful and cozy resort for our stay in Jaipur amidst week long desert safari. Though the resort was slightly expensive but given it was our anniversary and given the grandeur and Maharaja kind of feeling which the resort evokes the Taj Rambagh Palace provides a luxurious stay.

The historic honeymoon suite was our room where we stayed and we were showered with rose petals as we entered the premises. Antique furniture bordered the room nonchalantly and we were amused to see that the bathroom had three different jars of rose petals which were replaced every day. The overall tendency of the hotel was to re create the historic times and they left no stone unturned with utmost opulence and majesty.

Our suite being a corner suite provided us with nice sunlight and also a grand view of the setting sun. Moreover the view of the pool from our suite was serene and we spent some evenings in the balcony just lingering on and trying to capture the idyllic charm of Jaipur.

The staff are tremendously helpful and on our first day took us to a tour of the entire palace. The tour was an excellent way to get in touch with the history of the place as the palace is so huge that a perfunctory stay won’t do justice to the way the resort was established. The food was exotic and the desserts especially were simply out of the world. My wife couldn’t have enough of the pastries and we even packed a box on our way back.

The yoga sessions held in the morning were rejuvenating and I would suggest you all to give it a try. Thus an awesome experience awaits you at the Taj Rambagh Palace.

Room Tip: the maharaja suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shailendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Rambagh Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our incredible stay started at the front gate with a drive to the hotel in a vintage car! How wonderful! We were then showered with rose petals while being escorted up the steps by a handsome gentleman protecting we from the sun with a parasol. Our room had been upgraded to a suite and was beyond our expectations. We loved the hotel and the service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try to plan your stay to enjoy the beautiful hotel and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mntravelerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Taj Rambagh Palace is the excellent hotel. Definitely one of the best hotel I ever visit. Very nice property with 5* stars service. I love the indoor pool which so charming!! We were stay in peacock rooms. It was so amazing. Spacious room, separate living area. soft pillow with the big bed.. Breakfast was good. Plan to return soon..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayEkkathattanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved everything about this palace hotel which, we were told, was initially a hunting lodge and guest house for the Royal family. The charming drive up to the entrance in a very wheezy vintage car, the mounted guards escorting us, a charming terrace for afternoon tea and a palatial indian restaurant which transported one back to times of yore - this is the stuff of dreams. The bedrooms were lovely and the staff were all exceptional. Our only criticism was that we had too little time to enjoy the hotel because our sight seeing schedule was very intense. When we return we shall do half day tours and soak up the pleasures of the palace for the other half.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Been here in oct we was greeted at gate and given royal welcome with guards with indian flags in front of us in 1936 car offered by hotel to us till the gate of reception, we are welcomed in a traditional manner,staff was friendly with real smile on faces,for our request for the palace room they upgraded us to historical suite without any extra charge.If somebody want to experience royalty then this is the place to be.Nice experience!

Room Tip: ask for historical suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsofshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When we arrived in Jaipur Airport, the chauffeur is already in the airport arrival area looking for us, taking care of all our bags and is very helpful in every way.

As usual, the standard arrival ceremony took place when we arrived at the Palace, petals flying from above, photo taken of us by the staff, ........

Butler (which he called himself) is assigned to lead us to our rooms and performed the check in formalities.

The Palace room is located on the ground floor, with nicely decorated high quality furnishings, it is very comfortable for sleeping. The room service is perfect, housekeeping staff does a great job.

Whatever we asked the hotel to do, the staff is always accommodating and they are very competent in making all the arrangements.

We did a tour of the hotel at 5:30pm, very informative, and it is a good way to see all the major features of the hotel such as the swimming pools, the spa, the train restaurant.....

Our rate includes the buffet breakfast which is minimal and un-interesting, mainly fruits, some salad and a few choices for salad and pastries, choices for Indian food is minimal too; very different from the vast selection of buffet and a la carte food (will be delivered to me automatically) available in Umaid Bhawan Palace which I stayed last year. One time, it ran out of smoked salmon around 9:00am, and then we noticed the salmon has been chopped into pieces to become ingredients for omelette!

The Polo Bar is great, a nice place to have a relaxing drink.

There are traditional dance and music at around 7pm which is entertaining.

The swimming pools are an oasis, staff are very attentive, making sure we are not hungry or thirty at any time. The outdoor pool is pretty shallow, not for serious swimming, the indoor one is more for lap swimming if you want.

When asked about visitng Chokhi Dhani, the hotel staff says the food doesn't pass test and it is not recommended. We have a local friend that recommends us to go there so we go anyway and we have a great time. Even without the food, this place is a must-visit place for non-Rajasthani, it is a man-made cultural village that we can try Rajasthani dancing, do elephant ride, buying local products....... And the food is very tasty. So, I don't understand why the Palace is not promoting a local industry and discourage us from visiting it; if they worry about the food, they should at least tell us to go to see the 'village' and don't eat the food and not just telling us not to visit it.

In a word, we have an excellent time in the Palace, enjoying all the high quality service from the dedicated front-end staff and the Palace is very grand and is nice to be there. What let down the Palace is the Management (the behind-the-scene staff) which I had difficult times in dealing with them on various occasions from reservations to check-out, email me if you want to know more. I also witness heated quarrels between a customer and the staff at the reception with regard to errors in the reservation details.

If you ask me whether I will come back, I prefer to re-visit Umaid Bhawan Palace which gave me 101% satisfaction. During the same trip, I also visit 2 other Taj properties (Taj Mahal Delhi, Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai) and 1 Oberoi property (Oberoi Cecil), I get more satisfactions from these properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel.

We thank you for the feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely invaluable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We are concerned regarding the shortcomings during your stay, which are being taken up with the concerned departments in order to take corrective measures for the future.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#32 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing