We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

Jaipur Cooking Classes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hi , This Chef Lokesh Mathur , Chef by Profession Currently running Indian Cooking Classes for the past 6 years in JAIPUR. I offer an INDIAN COOKING LESSON to the Foreigners . I offer the vast range of INDIAN BAR - B - QUE , INDIAN CURRY FROM ALL REGION , BREADS, BIRYANI , INDIAN DESSERT FOR FOREIGN CLIENTS. FOR INDIAN CLIENTS I OFFER ALL OTHER CUISINES ( MEXICAN , CHINESE , CONTINENTAL , LEBANESE ETC. TIMING : MORNING COOKING SESSION STARTS FROM 11 AM - 2 PM ( FOLLOWED BY LUNCH) EVENING COOKING SESSION : 5 PM - 8 PM ( FOLLOWED BY DINNER) WE USE BOTTLED WATER FOR COOKING AND DRINKING.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent a lovely afternoon/ evening with Lokesh and his family last week. Lokesh came to pick us up from our hotel and dropped us back which is a great service. There was just the two of us in the class and we had a vegetarian and non-vegetarian menu which included about 10 dishes! Lokesh was great at answering our questions and adapted the menus so we learnt how to cook some of the food we had already tried and liked. he also showed us how to make chai tea from scratch and he cooked an additional dessert so we could try It. We didn't do any of the cooking ourselves but Lokesh spend a good few hours running through all the courses and he makes everything from scratch. Once he was finished we had a feast of food to try which was all delicious! And it was a very enjoyable evening talking with him and his family. We can't recommend this highly enough! Can't wait to try all the dishes now we are home!

Helpful?
Thank Viki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A foodie's delight”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent the afternoon with Chef Lokesh Mathur learning more about Indian food in five hours than I have in a fairly long lifetime. He is a great teacher and the one on one experience means you get his full attention and can discuss every detail. I learned about a number of ingredients I had never heard of before and am confident I can now cook at least 6 different dishes that my family and friends will enjoy. If you are into cooking or just want to have a better idea of what to order in an Indian restaurant, this is the course for you. Very nice guy and great family. Highly recommended

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelDan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent cooking course”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My and my husband took a cooking class today and it was just brilliant! The chef is very experienced and showed us many things how to create delicious meals. We really liked the "easy" kitchen which enables us to recreate those great recipes in our own home. The chef itself and the whole family treated us very friendly and welcoming. And of course- the meals tasted sooooo good! Thank you very much for this amazing cooking lesson, we will strongly recommend it to fellow travelers:-)

Helpful?
Thank Toniwiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
“a must for food and cooking afficionados”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lokesh was very accomodating when we contacted him one day before Diwali, an important Indian festival/holiday, and we managed to book our class for the day after. His comprehensive menu suggestion included several dishes that had been on our wishlist right from the start (which just goes to show his understanding of the European palate and the particular interest in certain Indian dishes that arises form there). So when the moment of truth finally arrived, Lokesh picked us up (and dropped us off at the airport afterwards with a huge bag of all the goodies we had cooked but not been able to eat on the spot), and took us to his beautiful home (which is also a b&b), where we spent 3 hours discovering the basics and of course some of the fine touches of Indian cuisine. His beautifullly equipped kitchen and the high quality ingredients he had in part prepared, in part neatly arranged, immediately set the atmosphere for this relaxed and homely class, in the course of which even his family pitched in to help with the odd small task. One instantly feels Lokesh's love and passion for his profession, which he can effortlessly convey to his students, supported by his vividly coloured and fascinating tales from the kitchen around the world (he's been a chef for arab monarchs and several big hotels around the globe). After the indeed very instructive class we sat down with him and his family to enjoy the truely great food along with one of the best discussions we had during our trip to India. It takes people like Lokesh and his familiy, who are deeply rooted in their home country yet open to other cultures for a real cultural exchange to happen. Or maybe it's the love for food we all share, that makes for decent people who are always interested in learning about new concepts. So if you're interested in spending some quality time learning about Indian cuisine and getting to know a very nice and interesting familiy - Go see Lokesh! And come with an empty stomach in order to appreciate all the goodies even more!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is a Must Do!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This cooking class is a must do in Jaipur. We were on an organized group tour and we booked the cooking class for our free evening (thanks to one of my traveling friends). Chef Lakesh Mathur is is quite the professional, having worked for both Kings and major resort hotels overseas. He was super accommodating to our requests, picked us up from our hotel across town, and even added additional dishes to our menu at the last whimsical minute. He uses high quality ingredients and spices (and only bottled water). We learned how to make 10 dishes including: Paneer Tikka (who knew that the delicious sauce is yogurt based?), Palak Paneer, Malai Kofta, Aloo Gobhi, Dal Makhani, Vegetable Biryana (who knew it gets baked covered with naan at one point?), Naan, Gulab Jamun, Golgappa, and Sweet Lassi. He's a fabulous and gregarious instructor and he has a lovely family who helped out and joined us along the way (they run a bed & breakfast/homestay program too). He presented us with a recipe book to take home because he truly wants us to be able to replicate these dishes when we get home. I highly recommend this as it was a highlight of my trip to India.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank anchorman428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur Cooking Classes also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Jaipur Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing