We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous mini getaway!”
Review of Galtaji Temple

Galtaji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Amber Fort and Royal Gaitor Including a Hike to...
Ranked #44 of 232 things to do in Jaipur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Galtaji Temple, Jaipur A pre-historic Hindu pilgrimage site, the Galtaji Temple, is located only 10km away from Jaipur. One of the jewels of Jaipur, the temple complex encompasses natural fresh water springs and 7 holy 'kunds' or water tanks. Among these kunds, the 'Galta Kund', is the holiest one and is believed to never get dry.
Weimar, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous mini getaway!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Peace and tranquillity adorn this two hour leisurely walk from Galta village to Monkey temple. Monkeys everywhere, great old architecture set in a backdrop of rolling hills. Lots of fun - some great photo opportunities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    31
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Possibly the happiest and most peaceful I ever felt whilst in India”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I LOVED THIS PLACE!

Walking over the ridge in the mountains from the waste of time that is the monkey temple, Galta gorge really is a real hidden gem. It's a very small collection of homes and a temple set high up in a mountain gorge, miles away from the hustle and bustle of the City,

The views themselves are breathtaking, but the structures, the temple itself and just the setting on its own has a vibe that just exudes relaxation and inner peace and contentment. Where most tourists rush round attraction like lemmings on smack, I slowly and lazily dragged myself around this place because I not only wanted to savour every single minute, but actually didn't want to leave.

You see pools where the local not only bath but wash their clothes and the water is supposed to have a spiritual quality. The people who come to to the temple come to wash here daily. The outside of the temple is a beautiful piece of architecture and really something to behold. We were allowed inside to take a look and meet the holy man. He placed a string bracelet around our wrists (of which I'm still wearing now as I write this).........for a small contribution of course! However, the term "As you like" seems to have different levels of ambiguity in India. I offered some money but I think he wanted more. Sod it, I walked out.

Even this couldn't dampen my spirits, I was besotted with the place. We walked back and stopped off at a little tiny chai stand for the 3 of us to enjoy a quick sit down and a delicious masala tea each.

19 days in India covering 6 Cities and almost 2000 km's, and apart from the Taj Mahal, this tiny little known place in the hills was probably the highlight of my holiday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great excursion from jaipur”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Galta Gorge is about 20 minutes from Jaipur. Also known as the monkey temple or the sun temple. At the bottom of the complex are a number of small temples, 2 bathing pools used by locals and many monkeys. To reach the sun temple, you must make a 1.5km fairly steep climb up a stone path. The reward at the top is a great view over Jaipur. This site is not very "touristy" and is an opportunity to meet loals and visit working temples. Even if you don't or cannot make the climb up to the sun temple, the lower part of the complex is still interesting and worth visiting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank selliot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shabbily Managed Holy Place”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is a holy and historical place but not properly maintained. The surroundings are unhealthy and lot of unwanted people roam around, which is not good for the visitors and tourists.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Natural heritage”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Galta is located to the east of Jaipur, on Agra Road, and is worth a visit for the beautiful drive through the hilly terrain. Its unspoilt and almost like being in a rural area - away from the crowded, noisy city. The temples are also well maintained - and the monkeys are a bonus !.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharmendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galtaji Temple also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Galtaji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing