We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once upon a time the Best Picture Hall of INdia”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Raj Mandir Cinema

Raj Mandir Cinema
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Jaipur Half-Day Cultural Cycling Tour
Ranked #1 of 21 Fun & Games in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Once upon a time the Best Picture Hall of INdia”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

earlier Rajmandir was considered as the best cinema hall of India and people visiting Jaipur go there to see the property not the movie they are playing. even in recent times of multiplexes Rajmandir has not lost its charm among visitors but there are some problems as you have to stand in long queues to fetch a ticket as they dont have online ticket system. Security persons openly take bribes for tickets. although property from inside is very good and you can go there once.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank vijay y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    269
    73
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lots of fun to watch a Hindi movie with locals. Super enthusiastic crowd and a nice old-style cinema. Go early to buy your ticket and shell out 100 rupees to sit a little further back. We didn't partake but heard the concession samosas were good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellling_NYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bollywood - every traveller must experience this at least once”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

book tickets in the morning if you want to see an evening session. there are so many locals going that tickets are at a premium. the experience reminded me of my childhood when films at the local bughouse elicited screams, shouts boos and cheers. A terrific experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angul, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cinemao ka cinema”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

i am going first time in this cinema.
this is the best of all cinemas.
when you going in jaipur do'nt missed it.
there is big waiting hall in it.
i like and love it.
i am going to japur suddenly.

Regards

Naveen Panchal

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank na_panchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing Cinema Experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Goods

-Conveniently Located.
-Amazingly Huge.
-Mind-blowing experience.
-1186 people see a movie in one go.
-Very big screen.
-Wonderful sound system.
-Huge Lobby for seating and snacks and waiting.
-Beautiful Inside.
-Probably God of Cinema Halls. Never seen such a huge hall ever. It is the largest in Asia.


The Bads

-Always crowded with people. Inside as well as outside.
-New releases are always sold out. Tickets are basically captured by the blackies.
-Crowd is cheap. No class. Diamond class might have some class. All others are same.
-Space between rows is less. Reclining seats tend to hit the person behind.
-Washrooms are not clean.

All in all it was an amazing experience. We were not interested after seeing the crowd and after seeing that all tickets were sold out but we were recommended and we had to get in and we really got in after finally paying premiums to the bookies.

It is really beautiful inside and it is such grand that you will simply wonder. The lobby is very well decorated and perhaps is bigger that the cinema hall itself.

I would recommend a must go. If not many times but once for sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank YogeshGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Mandir Cinema also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Raj Mandir Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing