We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expert Guides in a Visually Stunning City”

Jaipur Magic Day Tour
Ranked #6 of 22 Food & Drink in Jaipur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jaipur has a lot to offer to visitors – dazzling forts and palaces, art and textiles, colourful people and vibrant bazaars. We offer personalised tours by car for independent travellers, bus tours for larger groups, and walking tours for small groups of 2-6 people. Our Tour Guides are knowledgeable women who know the city intimately, and enjoy sharing it with visitors. Come, see Jaipur through our eyes – we promise you’ll love it!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expert Guides in a Visually Stunning City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Jaipur was the third destination on a Golden Triangle Tour my two friends and I booked with Deepa and her team at Delhi/Jaipur Magic. We had three magical days in Jaipur and it was sincerely the highlight of our Indian adventure. It was clear to us that our guide for the three days, Devendra was a true Rajastani tour expert. Exceptionally knowledgeable about all of the sights we were seeing (his level of knowledge about Astronomy at the Jaipur Observatory and Maharaja history at the City Palace and Amber Fort was particularly noteworthy.) The pride he has for his culture and his work promoting it is evident and infectious. He is completely hooked up also. He seems to know many people around town, and commands respect wherever we go. He expertly led us around the Jaipur Elephant Festival securing us excellent vantage points for the parade and using his connections with the mahouts to allow us to pet and even ride an elephant. All the while he was expertly taking pictures for all three of us. We had no idea that he would be spending the entire day with us, but we were so thankful he did. He also gave us a tip about the government run Holi party happening the next day. He was going to be with a different group, but he would see us there if we wanted to partake. We are so glad we did as the Holi celebration was absolutely thrilling. The final tour at Amber Palace/Fort was visually stunning. We always felt exceptionally well taken care of by Devendra and our fantastic driver, Surendil. This is a real professional outfit that I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of travelling to India.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SaWatDeeKah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    3
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip! Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Jaipur was a beautiful city. Our guide Nidhi Misra was wonderful! We enjoyed our trip here! The food is so delicious, and the shopping was awesome!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - from the late start to the early finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was the only bad tour we took during our visit to India. We booked last minute through Deepka. It should be noted that she is located in Mumbai is simple an agent for the tour guides, and does not actually provide the tours. She provided us with explicit directions of where to meet the guide. However, it turns out the guide either never received these or did not understand where to meet. We waited 30 mins by the entrance of the Palace of Wind (which is on a side street) while the guide waited on the other side where there was no entrance. The guide did not even think to walk around after she could not find us there! Eventually we borrowed a cell phone from a passerby, and called the guide who didn't appear to know where the entrance to this famous building was. Once she finally arrive she gave us a five minute spiel of how qualified she was (apparently selected from 50,000 people by the Indian government). This constituted the most information she provided on the entire tour. She then gave a two minute talk on how Jaipur was a planned city, which seemed to be very similar to what was on the three page photocopied handout we were given (which also appeared to be snipets cut from internet sites). We then proceeded with the actual "tour". No questions were asked as to what we actually were interested in seeing - even though this was advertised in the description as being a tailored tour, and it was only my wife and I on this particular tour. Practically no information was provided as we went around the bazaar, except for information we could have figured out ourselves, i.e. "this is a place where they sell bangles" as we went pass a place that sells bangles. My wife and I (the only ones on the tour) wanted to stop at a few of the vendors but the guide seem uninterested and just continued walking on, stopping further down the street for us. Would have been nice if she could have helped tell us something about the products we were looking at, or the prices we should expect to pay. After about an hour we had enough. The guide asked if we wanted to see anything in particular before she left, and we said we would like to go back to the bangle area. She said it was too far - turned out to be less than 3 minutes on a rickshaw. We paid her and she just left, leaving us at the edge of the Bazaar. Very very disappointed. It appears that the "Magic" tours are generally highly rated which is why we went with the, but this guide was either not vetted by the agency or was having a very bad day.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank HarryFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We did the Bazaar Walk with Monika of Jaipur Magic and it was a good way to explore Jaipur's shopping spots. Monika has an extensive knowledge of the history of Jaipur, the best I have come across in a guide and she gives the information in a very pleasant manner. She asked straight away what we were interested in and adapted the tour accordingly. We visited some great spots and tasted the famous Jaipur lassi at LMB. Monika was a great guide, very patient and happy to take things at our pace. Our experience with Jaipur Magic was also very good. The tour was organised very efficiently and we were sent an email with contact details and times. Definitely a company I would consider using again and that I would recommend.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TastingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur Magic Day Tour also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Jaipur Magic Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing