We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon”

Virasat Experiences
Ranked #20 of 304 Tours in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer unique experiences ranging from GUIDED WALKING TOURS , CYCLING TOURS , CRAFT WORKSHOPS, NGO TOURS to RESPONSIBLE VILLAGE VISITS throughout Rajasthan. We thrive deliver innovative, exclusive tours that reveal 'Real Rajasthan ' in all its glory.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited Chandelao village and Garh with Kuldeep and had a really great afternoon. The Garh (converted to a hotel which I've reviewed separately) made an excellent base as we walked around the village, to the wells, the blacksmith's house and many nameless spots. Kuldeep gave a very informative commentary and we even shared is some village tasks, such as drawing water. All the kids wanted us to take their photo so they could see it. People were friendly and pleasant. All in all a great afternoon, with an hour and a half of discussion on all sorts of things in the car out from Jodhpur. Love the sound of the Heritage walking tour, but sadly too late for us.

Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vipulkbansal, Manager at Virasat Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback . We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time on our Village Tour . Through our Village Walks we aim to showcase the authentic rural life of Rajasthan's villages and also a percentage of the tour cost goes in supporting developmental initiatives in and around the visited village .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Virasat Experiences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 262 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Tribuvan of Virasat experiences gave us a 2.5h long walking tour of Jodhpur heritage district. We go to see the "real" non-touristy part of Jodhpur an take in its daily life, heritage and stories. We liked that he took great care to retell local stories, and also introduced us to local sweet shops and businesses. We had received some details on what to expect from the tour given to us by our itinerary provider Jaunty roads. The heritage walking tour did not include all the stops identified on our itinerary. For example, we did not meet a local lac-bangle maker, or stop for Chai at a Haveli. However, I think the tour is customized for the day as things unfold while you walk through the old town. We did get to stop at a local "agarbathi making" shop, and purchased some fresh handrolled agarbathis. We also stopped at a local spice shop, sweet shop and also a textile/craft business. Overall, a revealing experience of innercity Jodhpur. If you are looking for non-touristy experience, this is a walk to take.

2  Thank LK-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

In this walking tour I could see and experience lot, which was otherwise not possible. We walked through some narrow walk ways, markets, congested areas and temples. It was a good walk and I will recommend it in case you are visiting Jaipur.

2  Thank Katylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vipulkbansal, Manager at Virasat Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback . We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time on our Walking Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Aki is wonderfully knowledgable and will add layers of understanding to your experience in Jaipur. We loved getting to know the culture of the city on a much more intimate level than if we'd just done the more usual tours.

2  Thank MargePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked the "Bazaar, Cuisine and Crafts of Old Jaipur" and the Haveli Dinner with Virasat in March. We started with a tour of the Bazaar which was essentially a quick walkthrough of the market without stopping to see any particular area or to talk to the merchants. More disappointing was the crafts part. Here, it seemed to us that the purpose of the tour was to take us to shops to buy things, rather than learn the process of making them. For example, our guide, Akshat, took us to the house of a jeweler specialized in enamel work; the owner was very nice and offered us some chai and cookies but essentially he was there to show us the finished products so that we could make some purchases.
Hands down, the worse came later on at the Haveli Dinner at the house of a descendant of the local Maharaja. We ate on an unlit terrace some very modest (and limited) food, which, we found out later, was not even made at home but catered! The cost: $28 per person, which in retrospect is ridiculously expensive.
In summary, we were very disappointed with Virasat and do not recommend it to fellow travelers.

10  Thank flarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipul B, Manager at Virasat Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry to hear that our tour did not meet your expectations .

We take the pride to visiting a home of a president awarded jewellers family specializing in the field of enameling . The sole intention of the visit is to is to showcase our guest the skill of making enamelling jewellery . Generally the family member offer a demonstration of their art work, provided they are undergoing any jewellery making. So at times when they are NOT working on any jewellery , they tend to show their finished work . But we assure you as a company we don’t encourage shopping

Moreover, we clearly disagree with the fact that the dinner which is served to any guest is being catered from outside. The family takes personal interest and most of the food items are cooked in their own kitchen. All vegetables, oil, spices and even the sweets used are fresh, as instructed by us.

We thank you for bringing your views to our notice; we will definitely work on further improving our tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virasat Experiences also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Virasat Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing