We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delhi - Agra - Delhi overnight: professional service”

India By Car and Driver - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 285 Tours in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ramesh Meena whom his friends call Ram was born in a remote village of Rajasthan in a poor household. When he was barely 17 years old, his father met with a mine accident and was paralyzed and confined to bed for the rest of his life. Having lost the sole bread-earner of the family and faced with a highly precarious financial condition, Ram had to drop out from his school and start earning to support his family. Having initially starting working as a blue-collar worker in various capacities, he worked for a few travel and tour companies as a driver with a meager monthly salary for about 4 years. When he was working for his last employer, he met , an American civil rights lawyer during her tour to north India with her family in the winter of 2008. Before meeting Ram American family had quite a frustrating experience with the other drivers of that company. Ram greeted her and the family with flowers in the morning and gave them a ride in the in one of the western states of India and the family started enjoying their trip. As a result of her interaction with Ram and the highly professional services received from him, she was so impressed with him and suggested him that Ram should start his own company. With a small amount received from family which she gave it to him generously as tips for his services along with lone received from a financial agency as well as borrowed money from some friends, and a strong motivation from the family , Ram finally started his own company, namely, India by Car and Driver with only one small car of his own. e initially drove the car himself for more than a year. During this period he was able to pay most of the mortgage of the car and save a littile bit of money to by one big car with a decent amount of lone from a bank. With a positive feedback from his clients, most of whom being the Western customers, he was able to get more and more business and now within the third year of starting his own company since January 2009, Ram owns 8 cars which include three small cars to cater to the budget travelers and five SUVies to cater to the needs of those who travel with the family and can afford to spend little more than a budget traveler. Ram attributes the success of his business to his sincerity, honesty and professionalism, the traits which he expects his drivers to possess as well. In addition to these traits, Ram gives the greatest credit for his success in the business to several of his clients whom he served and who took the pain to take out time and document a positive feedback about his services. Several of the past recipients of his services even agreed to interact with his prospective clients and answer questions about the services of India by Car and Driver. Some even made the videos of their trip and agreed to share their pleasant experience with others by upload their videos on the net. One of such recently uploaded video can view by clicking here:
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delhi - Agra - Delhi overnight: professional service”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We used the company for trip from Delhi airport to Agra and back the next day. Driver waited for us at the airport (the plane was delayed by more than hour). Car was comfortable, exactly according to the booking. Driver spoke more than sufficient English and provided absolutely professional service. Definitely recommendable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josef_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    65
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Experience - Excellent Driver and Car”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE - EXCELLENT DRIVER AND CAR!

We booked our trip online trusting it to be a great adventure;
Our driver Rajesh Singh was a real diamond: he treated us like family and ensured we were safe, happy with the hotels and always on standby to help (the company gave us a courtesy mobile phone!).
Rajesh was an outstanding driver navigating safely through the sometimes crazy traffic, and i always felt safe.
He also found us good restaurants (we love south indian food!) along the way!
and was very concerned for our wellbeing and gave tips on what to do and not to do in various locations.

So we had 3 weeks in colorful Rajasthan visiting wonderful old forts, palaces and the great
Taj Mahal of course!

We enjoyed the tour so much that we extended our trip for another week which was promptly organised by Surendra the tour planner: saw the Himalayan foothills, the Holy City Haridwar and Rishikesh on the Ganges!

In the end both ourselves and Rajesh got quite emotional and were sad to part.

Thank you all again for making this an unforgettable journey!
We will highly recommend you to our friends!

Doris and Roger

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaya1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service Great Value”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited India during the CLT20 Cricket tournament and some of us wanted to see the Taj Mahal. I got hold if India by Car and Ramesh and I set up the trip. The value was unbelievable, we got what we expected and our driver was brilliant. If you based in Jaipur and want to see the Taj, this is the only way. Thanks Ramesh. Hope you enjoyed the game.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrickm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From Delhi to Rajhastan and foothills of the Himalayas February/ March 2012”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip was to Rajhastan, where our driver Bhupendra Arya took us to Agra to see Taj Mahal and then on to Jaipur, Jodhpur and Pushkar. Our second trip with him took us to the foothills of the Himalayas, visiting Haridwar, Rishikesh, Almoura. He found us some very good hotels to stay and good guides, who were very informative. Bhupendra is a very good driver, and now a good friend who we would thoroughly recommend. He made both our trips very enjoyable, with lots of long lasting memories.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip--Thank you Rajesh”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked a car and driver online to take us from Delhi to Agra and return . Communication was good as we had to tweak some pick up times and minor changes. Rajesh Meena was our driver and pleasant and courteous young man. We took the old highway on the way and the Expressway back which is recommended. Our Driver was able to arrange for a guided tour of the Fort and Taj and was even able to secure a Female guide ..Monika.. whom I would also recommend.
Payment is fair and was done in advance and online. Everything went the way we expected and we are grateful for an experienced driver as opposed to what would have been a white knuckled fools attempt to navigate myself.
I recommend this outfit highly
Larry Budzinski

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SenorZeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India By Car and Driver - Day Tours also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to India By Car and Driver - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing