We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Clean and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starboard Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starboard Guesthouse
Ranked #94 of 481 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Goa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Clean and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Due to a delayed flight, reached there in the dead of the night but we were pleasantly surprised to see the staff were able to provide us with a piping hot and delicious meal. With full tummies we went in search of our rooms which we found to be speck less and inviting.

we were there for 3 days and not once did we have an issue with the place. It's conveniently close to most of the shopping areas, airport and conveyance is available a plenty.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hello we (couple) booked this hotel in February 2014. Dhiraj owner of the hotel waited at least half an hour because of train delays and picked us up in his private car at 11.40 pm!! When we arrived at guest house he prepared us a delicisous home made meal for both of us and done everything he can to make our stay as comfortable as it can be. We liked in jaipur so much we extended our booking for one more night!

Rooms are very clean and staff is excellent and very humble. Wish I can go back India and stay at starboard for one more time.

I would definitely reccomed this guest house and its a very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akashshah1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhirajkapoor, Owner at Starboard Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Dear Aakash and Lynda for reviewing us.

We at Starboard strive hard to achieve maximum guest satisfaction. We also understand that guests coming to a new city, new culture and new environments can be sometimes overwhelming. We always ensure that the guests feel at home once they arrive at Jaipur. I am glad that we were able to achieve all that in your case and you have taken good memories back home.

We will be more than happy to host you once again whenever you decide to come back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammu City, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked our stay at Starboard after I came to know about this place on a online forum, for a short 3 day tour in january 2014 and it turned out to be the best decision and guest house I have ever stayed in, it just looks like a extension of ones home, basic spacious rooms, clean and neat bathrooms, and above all excellent home like food, not the usual oily stuff you get in hotels, and above all the location is also good, away from the hustle bustle, yet so near to all important landmarks, starboard is definetly a place were I will go again whenever I am in Jaipur and I recommend this place to all travellers who want a nice and clean accomodation with excellent homely food....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ak245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhirajkapoor, Owner at Starboard Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you Ajay Wali Jee for reviewing us. We are so glad that we met your expectations and we made your family's stay comfortable with us. Starboard being a budget accommodation, we strive hard to please our customers and provide them the best value for money. Neatness and cleanliness is our forte and we take pride in that. Hope to see you soon in the near future again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and had excellent stay. Rooms are comfortable and food is good. Excellent hospitality. Centrally located and near to airport, ideal for business travellers as well as for holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rakeshghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhirajkapoor, Owner at Starboard Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you at Starboard Guesthouse. I am so glad that you had a comfortable stay. We always try hard to improve and get even better so thank you for reviewing us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

A friend recommended this place when we were planning our visit to Jaipur. Glad I took his advise and stayed here with family in Oct. 2010.

This is what I wrote to them after we returned home:
Thank you very much for the nice and comfortable stay we had at your guesthouse last week.
The food was also very good - not too spicy nor too oily. Just as good as home.
We'll certainly recommend the guest house to all our friends and acquaintances visiting Jaipur.

Was not aware of this website earlier. Otherwise, would have surely written this review long back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BharatBalsavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked our stay at Starboard for a quick 2-day tour of Jaipur in October 2011 during Deepavali. We knew the owner, Dhiraj, through a common friend and an online forum. Dhiraj, his family and the Starboard team were great hosts and ensured a very comfortable stay. We also sought their help for local sight-seeing and directions and weren't disappointed.

The rooms are basic (AC, TV, WiFi if needed) but are spacious enough and great for recharging at the end of a hectic touristy day. It's easy to find rooms here during festivals since Starboard caters primarily to corporate travellers.

Breakfast is complimentary. Lunch and dinner are from a fixed menu and chargeable. The home-cooked (i.e. not like the typical oily/bloated/rich restaurant fare) Punjabi-style meals are delicious to the taste, ample in quantity and represent great value for the price.

The best part about Starboard has to be its location. Nestled in a quiet corner off the refreshingly beautiful Jawahar Lal Nehru Marg, it's far away from the hustle and noise of the walled Pink City yet only a 15 minute drive away courtesy of the easy access to the wide, free-flowing road. It's less than 10 minutes away from the airport, and is also very easy to get to from the Delhi side of the NH8/Golden Quadrilateral.

We were absolutely dejected with the thought of having to leave at the end of our short stay! Starboard will be our default stay option whenever we visit Jaipur again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spadix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We visited Jaipur between 25th and 31st Dec 2010 and we had an absolutely wonderful experience staying with Starboard. I got to know the hotel owner Mr.Dhiraj Kapoor through an online forum and contacted him for reservation. He was more than helpful to accommodate us and we are glad to stay in his guest house. It was a very homely experience and we got good home cooked food served by his wonderful staff. We stayed there for 4 days and my kids absolutely enjoyed the stay there. My kids were also very sensitive to outside food which was a major concern for me while taking the week log trip. But thanks to Starboard, we got excellent home made food and we got back home in better shape.

I would definitely recommend this guest house for all travelers to Jaipur - either work of pleasure. The rates were very nominal compared to other hotels which we get in Jaipur for similar quality of service / cleanliness of room. The staff in the hotel are also very helpful and go out of the way to ensure that your stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#160 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kalyan Heritage
Kalyan Heritage
#109 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortune Park Bella Casa
Fortune Park Bella Casa
#121 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarks Amer
Hotel Clarks Amer
#80 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#35 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starboard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starboard Guesthouse

Property: Starboard Guesthouse
Address: 8 Panchsheel Enclave Plot No, Jaipur 302018, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 481 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starboard Guest House has 14 well furnished rooms with all modern facilities, air-conditioning and attached European style toiled with running hot and cold water. At Starboard we lay emphasis on neat and clean rooms and hygienic toilets for maximum staying pleasure for our guests. Apart from breakfast we also have a wholesome snacks menu and we also do lunches and dinner on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing