We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad location, very hot room, nice terrace”
Review of Jwala Niketan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jwala Niketan
Ranked #49 of 494 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad location, very hot room, nice terrace”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found the location to be really poor. Very few good nearby shops and restaurants and right next to a really big and busy main road with big looming hotels and a shopping mall.

The room itself was quite dingy but having a balcony was really good and we enjoyed sitting out there reading our guide book before we baked alive!

We found the room to be extremely stuffy and hot, really quite uncomfortable (at the end of september).

The owner was sweet and genuinely concerned about my travel companion who was ill.

We went for quite a few meals in Hotel Pearl Palace and asked daily whether they had a room available. It was so lovely! We wished we'd booked ahead as Hotel Pearl Palace is the best value for money for a really lovely place to stay in Jaipur.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that opens out onto the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneliG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
5
37
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My girl friend and I had a wonderful stay here. We found the rooms to be very clean, although the building was a little dated (dirty walls and floors). The proprietor was extremely polite to us throughout our three night stay. He helped with directions to many sights and offered guidance on prices we should pay for local transportation.

I was most impressed when he offered to speak with the manager of the hotel at our next destination after he saw me having some difficulty on the phone with them.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

I stayed here with my girl friend for 3 nights while backpacking India. We had a double room (107) for 700 Rs a night (proprietor does not haggle rates).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABaybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Mr Ajeet was so kind and helpful to us during our two nights here. Clean room and bathroom, lovely veranda to hang out on, good location (walking distance) for food, bus, train and fort. If only we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get a room with a verandah facing the street for gorgeous morning sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here in 2010 and just remembered it as I'm planning to return to India.
The owner, Mr. Ajeet, seemed like a decent family man. I once got lost walking around Jaipur and ended up at the reception of a neighbouring hotel. Ajeet was kind enough to walk there and pick me up.
The place is more like a converted private terrace house owned by a family which rents out individual rooms, rather than like a hotel.
The rooms? As you can see from the photos, they are furnished with an assortment of old furniture but functional and clean. Cheap and cheerful for the budget-conscious (+solo female) traveller.
I can't say if this place is centrally-located or not, as I was driven from the train station (not a long journey) and was also driven around Jaipur on a tour of the city.

Room Tip: I think you will need the air-conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlRoseRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place was pretty good value we reckoned, the big shared balcony out front gets a lot of sun which was nice after arriving from Agra where the weather was pretty cold.

The boss of this hotel was quite helpful when we asked for advice, telling us how to get the local bus to Amber Fort for 20 rupees, rather than the tourist sightseeing bus which costs about 300rp.

Apparently there is hot water in the mornings though we didnt manage to get any.Another reviewer complsined about the uncomfortable bed, well I've found that this is the case in most places I've stayed in India.


Best thing is probably the good location next to the main bus station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmansbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roby Mill
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

and the winner of the hardest and most uncomfortable bed in India goes to....
The place looks ok, its basic for travellers and the room was big but the bed was rock solid and really uncomfortable. No hot water either which is fine when its warm but it was actually quite chilly at night in November when we were there. It did get a bit noisy at the back of the hotel early in the morning too. We asked if they had a luggage room or could store our luggage until we got our train later in the day and the answer was a flat 'no'.... I'd give this place a miss if I ever return to Jaipur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chernihiv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First of all, the hotel is located far away from the center, although the prices there aren't so low. The rooms are in a horrible condition, which raises the question about the prices once again.

Secondly, the owner and his main assistant are quite indifferent. They simply don't care about their guests and don't trust them (it was the only hotel in India where we were asked to pay for the accommodation at the check-in).

Last but not least, there's no restaurant, which makes this place just a box with beds. Don't be fooled by the outward appearance of the hotel - it's doesn't look so nice inside, especially in the rooms!

However, this hotel has several advantages. It is located right by the bus stand, as well as in a good proximity to the railway station. There's also a nice restaurant just 3-4 minutes away from the hotel - Mohan (there are several Mohan restaurants and the Mohan hotel in this area).

Although, we didn't like our stay here, we are very grateful to the owner for recommending us a great place in Agra - the Sakura hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StasIvashchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sweet Dream
Hotel Sweet Dream
#232 of 380 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
#95 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hathroi Palace
Hathroi Palace
#6 of 494 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nahar Singh Haveli
Nahar Singh Haveli
#5 of 494 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jwala Niketan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jwala Niketan

Property: Jwala Niketan
Address: Lal Ji Ka Bagh C - 6 | Motilal Atal road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 494 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jwala Niketan is a budget class guesthouse centrally located 0.5km from central bus stand and 1.5 km from train stationOur mission is to keep our guests happy and provide best possible hospitality and service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jwala Niketan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing