We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cocoon in frantic Jaipur”
Review of Pratap Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pratap Bhawan
Ranked #10 of 510 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A nice cocoon in a quite area of, otherwise frantic, Jaipur.
My room, decorated with taste, was large, very comfortable and spotless. The chef cooked us a very nice vegetarian dinner, although his specialty (I discovered later) seems to be non-veg rajasthani cuisine.
The hosts (just Deepti and her lovely young daughter on the day I stayed there) were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear sir,
thanks a lot for the lovely words you have written about us we would love to host you again at our home stay.
regards
Himanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Pratap Bhawan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with all modern luxuries available to you. The rooms are designed very tastefully. It will surely give you a feeling of home, "A home away from home". The family who runs it, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The whole experience of staying at Pratap Bhawan has a Royal touch. The food is yummy. Must try the Chicken curry cooked in different styles everyday.I don't think Iv had better Chicken before. A must stay when in Jaipur. Located in a serene place away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuradhaAgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks a lot Ma'am we look forward to host you again.
Regards
Himanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

In my recently concluded visit to the Pink city I stayed a couple of nights at Pratap Bhavan . I found the place to be exquisitely done up through personal involvement of Mr Himanshu And his wife Deepti . The place is centrally located to ease the travelling on holidays as majority of the ethnic markets are located in close proximity . The well trained staff is very warm and welcoming fully epitomizing the true “Rajputana Hospitability “. The food is delectable and the culinary skills of the entire household including staff is exemplary. I had a very enjoyable stay with meticulously done up rooms, warm hospitality , delicious food , minimal travel for shopping and great ‘Rajputana ambience’ at Pratap Bhawan. Complimenting all this is the host couple Mr Himanshu & Deepti . Himanshu is a serving Naturalist and has Superlative knowledge about Natural History he has travelled the Globe for “That Perfect shot “ (pretty evident with photographs displayed in the Household ) basically a man of rich taste and that quintessentially describes ‘Pratap Bhavan ‘

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmaijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you sir for the lovely words you have written about us, we look forward to host you again soon. We will always remember you as you were the first guest for our newly built mauve room! In fact you were our first guest after we did the mattress upgradations aswell.
Thank you so much
Regards
Himanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent on night here during our Rajasthan tour and we were not dissapointed. Spotless and comfortable. All arrangements were made perfectly and our hosts were gracious and welcoming and even included a little cooking class for us during which we learnt some new techniques. Dinner was delicious. If you're doing an individual tour of Rajasthan this is the place to stay in Jaipur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmbhpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Hello Ma'am thanks a lot for appreciating our property, i am sure you will be even more comfortable and get a better sleep quality on your next visit as we have added new luxury spring mattresses to in the rooms and the new room which almost ready last time is now ready and we have furnished it on a mauve color theme.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a most wonderful experience of an exquisite holiday mainly due to our stay at Pratap Bhawan with Himanshu. The interiors are quietly elegant and refreshing after the sightseeing trips one undertakes - comparable to a five star with a comfort which only comes at home. The food is 'out of this world' and there is a personal touch which bowls you over. Himanshu always had some advice for our daily trips and ensured we saw an important part of Jaipur which others would have missed. Pratap Bhawan is centrally located and this ensured that we could even throw in a round of GOLF at the picturesque Rambagh Course (without issue with our families - the shopaholics were happy to be within a stone's throw from the Bazaar!!). All in all a most memorable holiday experience - we still remember those wonderful evenings after the morning trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajdeep809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thanks lot for the great appreciation of our property, we are glad to inform that now we have upgraded the rooms by adding luxury spring mattresses and we have added another room called the mauve room will post images soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I was heading back to Lucknow from Jodhpur and had the option of driving upto Bharatpur to break journey. I had heard about Pratap Bhawan being openned by my friend Himanshu Rathore from school (Mayo College Ajmer) so stopped here for the night. I found it so homely and comfotable that i ended up spending the next day in Jaipur. i recommend this place to all those who do not want to stay in big n swanky hotels. I had a good experience here u will have it too!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayendra_Blp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear dada thanks a lot for the lovely words will be a pleasure to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our stay at Ptatap Bhawan was the most memorable for all holidays. And the credit of this extremely satisfying and joyful stay goes to the (extra) personal care taken by our hosts. Deepti and Himanshu have a small but a very well maintained and comfortable homestay which can compete with any 5star accommodation. Just off the main road, at a quiet spot, but easily accessible and close enough to shopping areas, be it the local or the up-market, it is the ideal location for the tourist who desires to pack in the maximum!
The cleanliness is exemplary, be it the linen or the rooms or the toilets, day after day without any reason to complain. Each minute detail, e.g. Extra water bottles left on the dining table each night without fail, spoke immensely of the personal care taken by Deepti in ensuring comfort.
The rooms have ethnic furniture and upholstery enhancing the experience of the local flavour. Highly recommended for guests from abroad. The bathrooms are neat, spacious , well ventilated with 24hr hot and cold water.
Each room has cable TV network as well as WiFi at no extra charge. This definitely is a major plus.
We were five women staying on our own and I can vouch for the safety. A very important factor for where most locations fail.
A special mention for their cook Kumar, who can rustle up the most amazing local fare. It is good wholesome food and (believe me) finger-licking Good!
Himanshu is a wildlife photographer and the walls adorn some amazing snapshots of tigers. The lounge area has very interesting books on the subject as well as multiple brochures on tours and travel in Rajasthan. Most certain to be appreciated by the guests. Guidance is always available with the sincerity and grace characteristic of Rajasthan. Moreover there are novels and light reading material stacked on the shelves. So if you are in the habit of reading, you can be sure to curl up in bed with a good book!
When next in Jaipur, Pratap Bhawan is where we stay. We recommend you experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms. Each has a different decor and flavour, yet well ventilated and spacious. It's...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gita-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrathore, Owner at Pratap Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for a lovely in depth review about us. It will be a pleasure to host you again at pratap bhawan soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.6 mi away
All Seasons Homestay Jaipur
1.4 mi away
Jaipur Inn
Jaipur Inn
#14 of 510 in Jaipur
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratap Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratap Bhawan

Address: A - 4 Jamnalal Bajaj Marg | C-scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 510 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $36 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pratap Bhawan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today's Pratap Bhawan stands on Himanshu Rathore's ancestral land and is located in Jaipur's enviable and poshest colony. Himanshu belongs to an erstwhile jageer called Nimaj and his father served in the army. He has years of experience as a naturalist and even today is affiliated closely with biggest wildlife centers like Bandhavgarh. His passion for the wild and wildlife photography is proudly presented on the walls of the homestead. While Himanshu hails from Marwar his gracious wife, Deepti belongs to Mewar. His keen interest in meeting new people and socializing were the driving force behind him starting the venture in 2010. Pratap Bhawan was built in 1980 and therefore has a fine blend of modern but traditional styles. Credit to this is duly given to Himanshu's wife, Deepti. Not only does she have a natural sense of hospitality as her family owns a Palace hotel but she is a professional interior designer to boot. Her class and taste are evident throughout the home's effortless elegance. All the 4 bedrooms of Pratap Bhawan are soothing in colors but with a burst of richness, which make them charming and very true to Rajasthani culture. All bedrooms come with large and impeccable en suite bathrooms, beds equipped with luxury spring matresses and they are air conditioned. The family's personal temple is for private use only but guests can come and view it while giving it utmost respect. The lush garden boasts of a vibrant and cozy breakfast nook. A big open terrace with its swing invites people to open up a book before enjoying dinner.Other than sightseeing across Jaipur, guests can enjoy an experience exclusive to Pratap Bhawan. As Himanshu works avidly as a freelance tour leader he is takes people on specialized and unique wildlife and photography tours. He worked for three years with a renowned wildlife safari company and as a naturalist. This ensures that tours conducted by Himanshu for his own guests are of an incomparable standard. Other than this Himanshu is also a passionate cook and would be open to providing guests with cooking lessons on Rajasthani cuisine. On special request, he can also conduct bird walks around Jaipur, arrange for ayurvedic massages and even yoga sessions at home. Deepti is also a masterful Rangoli maker and guests can learn how to create those colorful designs from her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pratap Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing