We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Heritage Haveli
Ranked #4 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is set back a long way from the road and has a very spacious feel to it. The rooms are in several buildings, with large areas of grass and flowers in beds and pots between, giving it a charming and relaxed atmosphere. It has a lovely big swimming pool, but we arrived too late to take advantage of it. The hotel was too far from the centre of the city to go out for a meal, but that did not matter because we had an excellent set menu on the lovely terrace on both nights and there was no need to go elsewhere. There were even free drinks included with the meal up to 9.00 pm. Breakfasts were good too. The friendly owner was often around, he obviously cared about his hotel and was rightly proud of it. The service from all the staff was excellent. Highly recommended, despite its location out of the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Maam,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It is good to know that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the distance from the city centre, we are 15 minutes from the City Palace and the city of Jaipur has extended 10 miles beyond our property, so we are very much in the city, but this small town has become a city now.
Warm regards and appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 722 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with very accommodating staff. It was rather quiet when we were there so we were upgraded free of charge to the Royal Suite which was very impressive. The staff were very polite and always around if we needed anything. It is a bit of a distance out of the main city of Jaipur but as most people have drivers this really isn't a problem. It's like a little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the city and was just perfect for a bit of relaxation. The food was amazing, we had the set menu the first night and not only was it amazingly tasty but there was a huge amount for such a good price.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you want a treat book a suite they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Amy,
Thank your for your review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It was a pleasure meeting you and good to know that you were comfortable, while with us.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room we were given was huge and everything was extremely clean. The staff is kind and very helpful. The level of service is very high and the room amenities are those of a five-star hotel. Breakfast is good and waiters are kind and helpful. Only minor thing, it’s a bit far away from the city center. If you come to Jaipur, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BREADandBUTTERitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It is good to know that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful old indian palace, that kept all its original charme. It has a beautiful garden and swimming pool, very peaceful in noisy Jaipur, and both the staff and the food are very nice (although breakfast is quite simple). The location is not ideal, since it's quite far from the city center and because of traffic it takes ages to go everywhere. Moreover, the area around the hotel is quite chaotic, so it is not straightforward to leave the hotel to go for a walk or to eat out. The hotel organizes good tours of the city and the surroundings, but it's not always clear about the conditions and prices.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Cat_from_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It is good to know that you were comfortable, while with us here in Jaipur. The City Palace is only a 15 minute drive from the Haveli, but everything slows down during the monsoon and it seems like eternity to go from one place to the other. Regarding your comment on the breakfast, we serve only Continental Breakfast out here.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our stay at the Haveli was really a mixed experience!

On the positive side:

- we were wellcomed with a drink and the staff was really nice, some of them having come recently fom England and therefore speaking unusually good english (a fellow named Raj was excepcionally nice...).

- the grounds and pool are absolutely spotless and reminded us of a beatiful English garden with a tropical twist

- some of the rooms are great

On the negative side:

- we never really met our hosts and no one gave us advise on what to see in Jaipur

- as we had asked for a twin room they showed us a nice but rather small one, and only after we asked for a larger room did they give us another bigger and more beautiful one with a kingsize bed (in a haveli, you should be treated as a special guest, so why didn't they show us the better room in the first place?)

- dinner was outside in a lovely candlelit terrace, in spite of some noise coming from horns outside, disguised by live local music. As I had a bad stomach, I asked for plain vegetables, rice and grilled chicken, which turned out to be absolutely raw, not acceptable especially in India (in spite of the cook Raj being very nice and apollogetical and having it removed from the bill...)

- the worse:
On the morning we had to leave the hotel, as we had a late 7 pm flight home and as there are no changin facilities at the pool, we asked for a late check out or a room where to have a bath and change after relaxing a bit at the pool before going to the airport, . We were told that they would see if there was a room available.

When we arrived at the Haveli early afternoon on the 4th August, we were sent to a room under maintenance by the lady at the reception (they were painting one of the walls) As it was a Sunday, we thought there would be no problem.

It began raining. As it was hot, my husband went for a swim in the pool, and as I was not feeling very well, was intending to take a rest in the room before the flight.

As soon as my husband went to the pool he was told by that lady that, as we were not in the room, the men were going to enter and start painting the wall! She didn't bother to ask me if I would like to stay inside, and told us in the most disagreable tone that we were supposed to be in the room just for 10 minutes, which she had not mentioned previously....

So, with our lugage still inside, the men began painting the wall for about an hour and I was sent outside alone to find some dry place were to go, without a word of simpathy or a smile from the lady at the reception!, Only when my husband went to take a bath and change did they leave the room and we could get inside for about 20 minutes!

That's not the spirit of the Haveli, and that lady at the reception doesn't really enjoy her job! It had been better if she had told us it was not possible to have a room, or at least to speak in a nice way or even perhaps offer us a drink while we were outside!
A host should make guests feel like they were at their own home! All I could think was that we were not wellcome that afternoon at the Haveli, and wished to have chosen, the Trident, which was our second choice...

This said, most of our stay was nice, The other staff (apart from that lady which name I cannot recall) was very kind, and the grounds are absolutely spotless...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Maria & Eduardo,
We thank you for your review for the Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. You were booked in the base category room through Booking.Com, which clearly states it to be a twin room only. You were show the room for which category you had booked with us, but not having liked it, the person on duty showed you a Suite (a higher category room) and upgraded you to the same, without charging you any additional amount, to what you had booked with us.
We play live Sitar and Tabla, which you did not appreciate, you could have asked for a change in seating and used our air conditioned restaurant or the Garden or the Verandah to have your meals. We have other Venue's for having meals too.
Our check out time is 11 am and only if we have a room we give/offer it to the guest to use. I do apologize on behalf of the management for the lady at the counter not handling you in a proper manner. The pool changing room too is under renovation and a few of our rooms are also under paint as this year we have experienced a heavy downpour-but you to have to understand that the management is being flexible towards your using its common facility, even much after your scheduled check out time.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having spent time an a wide range of Indian hotels before getting to Jaipur, arriving here was very welcoming. Although a way out from the main part of the city, going through the gates of this beautiful old hunting lodge was a welcome refuge from the noise and bustle. The rooms were excellent and we were immediately welcomed by the incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and most importantly relaxed staff.
Dinning on the roof terrace under the stars accompanied by really excellent and not intrusive musicians and some of the best food we had in India was one of the the highlights of the whole trip. Highly recommended, this must be one of the best in India and much nicer than many First Class hotels which are too formal and international generic.

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms I think and all different. Our kids had an open outside shower they shared wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliveindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge. It is good to know that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The property is obviously a great to go for. Well-set ambiance with a pseudo-royal touch, friendly staff, good hospitality. We stayed only 1N/2D and wanted to extend at the same place, they were sold out. A 2-3 day stay here would surely satisfy you to a huge extent. My son and wife liked every bit of the time spent at RHH. The only opportunity that I can think of is the high priced food, they could be made slightly reasonable if not cheap.

Room Tip: You need to book well in advance to have the best rate. First timers please do avail the guide optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heerakdutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Mr Dutt,
Thank you for the review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back as and when's you do return to Jaipur.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.6 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
6.6 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 393 in Jaipur
2,064 reviews
5.7 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#11 of 393 in Jaipur
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 393 in Jaipur
1,798 reviews
2.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 393 in Jaipur
3,827 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 393 in Jaipur
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage Haveli

Address: Khatipura Road | Khatipura Tiraya, Jaipur 302012, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#45 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $166 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Heritage Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by His Highness, Madho Singh ji of Jaipur as a hunting lodge, The Royal Heritage Haveli opens its doors after 200 years as a boutique hotel. Now owned by Maharaj Jai Singh of Jaipur, the Royal Heritage Haveli is run by his niece Angelique and her husband Pradip. Known for their warm hospitality, they give each guest a personalised and truthful taste of the bygone era of the Maharaja's way of life. A destination of affluence, Royal Heritage Haveli spread over 100,000 sq ft is complete with rambling lawns, serene courtyards, plush interiors and stately living areas. Only fourteen suites and one apartment are in service as the hotel is dedicated to providing a quiet and tranquil haven of space and luxury to the discerning few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Heritage Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing