We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Couples too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chitra Katha
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for Couples too!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rakesh, Hotel Manager, was very helpful and works very hard! Aditya, restaurant Manager, cooks up some excellent tandoori items in the rtooftop restaurant upstairs.

Mehfuz and Sanu were also great in assiting us in the restaurant.

The only thing that could have been better was the internet connection. It tends to go out every so often.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anybody in Jaipur.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
It is so nice of you to appreciate each and every staff member. And sorry but Wi-fi is only as good as airtel provides us. We report all this back to them regularly. In fact we installed boosters recently on 1st floor, as per their suggestion. But even they cannot save us from drops. We'll keep a check on it. Thanks for this smashing review though. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
83
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is well worth the 350RPS we paid per person per night. Our room was very spacious with a big bathroom. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window as we were centred around the corridors, which also meant we were easily woken by people walking past either side. That said it was no big deal, the beds were comfortable and the restaurant served great food. The service from the people at the hotel was very good and the owner gave us some great advice on taking a bus to the Amber Fort. This is a must for other travellers, we paid 10RPS each for a bus from the Pink City centre to the Fort, a Tuktuk will set you back about 500RPS. We caught the number 29, there were lots of other people on the bus and it was very crowded, but all part of the experience. If a Tuktuk is more your thing, then there is plenty waiting outside the hotel day and night. Again, the owner will offer you advice on how much to pay when going certain places.
The only thing that would have been great would have been clean towels each day and new toilet roll. But other than that it was a good hotel, for 350RPS you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: One with a window
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are so glad to have guests like you who not only appreciate but also point in the directions where they see a scope for improvement. However, let me clarify that there is only one room without a window. We are sorry that you ended up in this room because of peak season and we being completely booked. Towels and Toilet paper are available on request. A simple call to the reception will solve it for you. We don't check, make or replenish your room until you ask us to. That's the whole point of running a boutique (budget) hotel. To make sure every guest, even with limited means, should get a hygienic place to rest before he/she takes on the organized and colourful chaos called India. All the best for all the travel that you have planned for and also for the ones that just happen when the time is good! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

spent two nights at this hotel, the rooms are large and very clean, and the reception is excellent and helped us in everything we need. the hotel also has a superb restaurant situated at the top of this with very good food and even better service. all i that is far from the center has very good connections. also organize tours of rajasthan, ask Raksh. highly recommended. do not hesitate to spend your stay here. greetings.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos y Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Let me start with thanking you as we understand that it is not easy for you find time in your packed schedule. At the same time we love it when we receive a review and that too a happy one as it is reassuring to know that we are doing something right. Something that you loved. Something that compelled you find time and write these kind words for us. I thank my staff for being persistent and you for being so generous. We'll be hoping to see you and your friends again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have spent 3 days in this hotel and we really enjoyed.Good staff and very nice person we found in the manager mr.Rakesh that helped us for everything we need like transport and accomodation for our trip around India.we raccomanded this place for the restaurant too, located on the roof in the same structure where we had breakfast , lunch and dinner.
Clean room and decorated and wi fi free Internet !we happy :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherinedega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
thank you for taking out time to write this review. we are so glad that you liked our rooftop restaurant, enjoyed free wi-fi and found the staff helpful. thank you for mentioning rakesh, he is an honest person and like you mentioned, always ready to help beyond the call of duty. all the best from our side and we will be hoping to see you soon. cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed here for 4 nights. My room is small but perfectly formed with ensuite toilet and shower with plenty of hot water. Extremely clean with a lovely rooftop restaurant. The staff are helpful and you are quite near the city. My room wasn't cleaned in the 4 days I was here but nor did I ask them to.

The food is average and I haven't been able to understand why they don't chill the beer before dinner but small complaints for a lovely place.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few days they will probably discount the room rate for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garbolishus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Such a pleasure to receive these kind of review. We are glad that you loved your stay and cleanliness. And yes we do not make-up your room unless it is required, unavoidable or we are asked to, as it saves a lot of time and non-renewable resources like water and electricity. thank you so much. Sorry that your beverage was not chilled enough, we will make sure that it doesn't happen ever again to anyone. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the worst hotel
Because there are so many ticks and bedbug, fleas and parasites!
I got these insects bites more than 50 bites by 1 night.
I said this fact, but staff is very stupid attitude.
No apologize and laughing
It's so crazy
And staff said, ' please lend me your mobile charger ,because I wanna charge my mobile'
I could't believe his demand.
The stuff is foolish
I went to hospital, because I couldn't walk and move any more to made my body swell up and have allergy by insect bites.
After 2 weeks, I also drink some medicine what doctor has prescribed.
Should not stay here,If you want to protect your body and spend good time!
The medical expenses pay for my own money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miffykuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
It is really unfortunate and sad that you had to go through this pain and treatment because of bed bugs and insect bites. However, you need to understand that we have 21 rooms and only you have complained. Bed bugs and insects do increase after the monsoon but our hotel management and staff keep it under strict vigilance and pest control is done at regular intervals. In fact the rooms are full even today and there has been no such report. We have still asked the pest contol guy to come and inspect it thoroughly. As far as insect bites go, please carry a repellent that suits your skin type. That's the only way to survive and enjoy India at the same time. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I initially intended to stay in Hotel Pearl Palace across the road from this hostel, but as it was fully booked, I decided to come to Chitra Katha instead. And it exceeded my expectations. I was disappointed when I found Pearl Palace was full but this place was amazing. I stayed in the dorm which had 4 single beds, and only 2 of us occupied it so was ideal. The room and bathroom was clean, the rooftop restaurant is divine and the dinner and breakfasts they serve is delicious, amazing portion sizes and all reasonably priced. And the staff are very friendly.

The place is a bit out of city centre. but if you don't mind walking, it's a nice straightforward (though quite long) walk into the centre. Otherwise, there are plenty of tuk tuk drivers about.

Great stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
This is so wonderful to hear. And so kind of you to to refer our restaurant as 'divine', location as 'comfortable', servings as 'full' and service as 'helpful'. Thank you so much. We'll be hoping to receive you and your friends soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#22 of 376 in Jaipur
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#37 of 376 in Jaipur
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#88 of 376 in Jaipur
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Aashiyana Palace
Royal Aashiyana Palace
#100 of 376 in Jaipur
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hayat Rabbani
Hotel Hayat Rabbani
#83 of 376 in Jaipur
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Classic Inn
Hotel Classic Inn
#84 of 376 in Jaipur
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Property: Chitra Katha
Address: Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitra Katha 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing