We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a nice rooftop restaurant”
Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chitra Katha
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and a nice rooftop restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Limited comments as I was only here for one night. What I enjoyed about this hotel was having breakfast on the rooftop restaurant with a view over a crumbling fort. There is quite an extensive menu and the food I ate was good - Western food was passable (very good toasted sandwiches) and Indian food tasty. Room was clean, but I would have preferred a top sheet to go with the blanket provided and I think bed was two beds pushed together. No view to speak of from my room. Sounded like I was right under the restaurant kitchen with the noise at bedtime, although it didn't go on all night. Person I was travelling with had a room at the front, and got a lot of early morning noise from vehicles (although it is a quiet street, there are some very noisy vehicles in India!).

No problems with hot water - my room had a small electric hot water heater (make sure it is turned on for a while before you shower), which certainly provided enough hot water for one person to shower

Only stayed here one night and did not have a chance to look around Jaipur much, so cannot comment on the location. Staff were reasonably helpful. Paid 1500 rupees for a walk-in rate, no idea if that was good or bad!

Did get a car and driver through the hotel and recommend that you get the price in writing, as we had a misunderstanding at the end of our trip that made quite a difference to the price. While the car provided was very new and in good condition, the driver had extremely limited English and did not seem to understand our request to find somewhere to stop for a drink and a bathroom stop. He also did not seem to have a very good sense of direction or ability to follow directions, and was not a particularly good driver (as assessed against other local drivers).

Room Tip: Although the balconies at the front might be tempting, quite a bit of noise in the morning. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for such an honest and articulate review. We really wait for these. These are the ones which really point at the things that get missed by the management in the course of daily fire fighting. It’s nice that you took the time out to respond. As a policy we try to make sure that the drivers have the basic communication skills, but then in peak season, getting the wrong driver is also a function of availability. I am glad that you liked the vehicle, restaurant and the stay. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
84
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Chitra Katha for 3 nights from 30th Nov-3rd Dec 2012.
Chitra Katha has friendly and helpful staff always with smile on their face.The front door team helped immensely with tourist information.Because of their help I had a really great time watching the movie"Life of Pie "in Pink Square Jaipur:)

Nice decor, peaceful neighborhood, great food, 24hr hot water, very clean rooms, free wi fi , hairdryer...
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YT_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for this delightful review. What we do is what we are there for. The least we can do is to help our guests find what they are looking for… as long as it is within reasonable limit. Thank you again and we wish to see you and your friends back here with us at the earliest. Till then… cheers and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we arrived at hotel pearl palace only to find there were no available rooms, and Chitrakatha was right opposite of the street. The room and service are quite worthy of its price. they make delicious Indian and continental food at the rooftop restaurant, which is also a great place to hang out and meet other travelers at night.
We originally planed to stay in Jaipur for only 1 night. but it was Sunday and most bazaars were closed. So we threw away our train tickets and stayed one more night. The hotel owner helped us book tickets for the next day with no commission and service fee, which we really appreciated.
One thing not so good about the room is that the water tank of the heater is quite small. Hot water runs out fast (like in 5 minutes), unless you use it wisely (don't turn the shower fully open). We learnt it the hard way, stood in the bathroom naked, wet and cold for 5 mins.
Should I mention the waiters are pretty handsome and look like Japanese ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuangTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for such kind words. We are glad you liked the property and the staff. Such appreciation certainly motivates them to perform better. As far as the water heaters are concerned, we’ll definitely put a sign in the bathroom saying; “It’s advisable to use buckets in winters. In case you wish to use the shower, please reduce the flow to half so that hot water lasts till you are done.” However, this is just an interim measure and we will definitely move to central solar heating before next season. Thank you once again. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Chitra Katha is a good hotel..I had made my booking for Pearl Palace (exactly opposite to Chitra Katha) but couldnt get the reservation, so I directly landed there. There are a couple of hotels at the Hathroi fort road (Kalyan, Maya Niwas, Pearl Palace and Chitra Katha).
I checked the rooms of Kalyan and found that Chitra Katha had better ones. Plus the ambiance was better than Kalyan so had opted for this hotel and surely it was a good choice.
The staff were good.. always helpful.. I could see that the a few rooms inside the main building (I had a room attached to the building Room # 113) were a bit congested.
I cant personally comment on that since I didnt live in those rooms.. But mine was good.. at a decent price and good room service this hotel was all one could ask for.. the location was quite as needed.. overall a decent review for this..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shash2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It is so nice to hear that we have been able to please you. It helps a lot and encourages the entire staff to do better. And yes! We have rooms for all kinds of travelers like; solo traveler, solo female traveler, couples, family with young ones, newly wedded couple, group of friends etc. We are proud to say that we have been able to create space for all of them. In this pursuit we have created some single rooms, which are clustered together for obvious reasons. And while the approach looks a bit congested, believe us, we have got fabulous reviews for them as they are spacious on the inside, all of them have a window which provides ample sunlight and also ushers the closest view of the majestic Hathroi Fort. We thank you for your honest feedback and will be waiting to welcome you again in near future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Noida, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Could be the bonhomie, genial behaviour, fabulous food, crisp aesthetic paintings / motiffs, and a homely atmosphere. In a nutshell, it was truly a beautiful experience. The whole place is eclectically done and is evolving further. Neighborhood to Hathroi Fort gives the place an authentic ethnic flavour. It connects you to the Rajasthan of the yore. Clean, neat and well connected. Lived backpackers' life with wife and kids. Literature Festival gave us the reason. Four days of bliss. Honesty of an Auto Rickshaw Driver attached with the hotel can not be but respected - my daughter got back her leather jacket she had forgotten in the vehicle. The family has already decided to be there every year to attend the Literature Festival. Of course, stay will be at Chitra Katha, adding another story.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UmaAjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
No matter what we write in return, it will fall short. It might be able to tell you that we have read your feedback many times over. It might be able to convey that we have shared it with our staff, chef and the honest auto rickshaw driver, and that it makes us feel proud. Our reply might underline the truth that your satisfaction makes our existence meaningful. But still, words can only do so much. And hence we have decided not to say any of the above but this, that we have started preparing for your next visit. We will be waiting to surprise you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights due to a recommendation from a friend. We thought our room was one of the the best value rooms we found in India. We stayed in one of their cheapest double rooms, presumably cheap because it was small. But the room was new and clean, with a wall mounted flat screen cable tv (so we could watch the Australian Open) and a clean and well-appointed bathroom with 24 hour piping hot water, a good location (directly opposite pearl palace from the guidebooks), nice rooftop and room service. We were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it to other travellers looking for rooms around the 600-1000rp mark.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexi861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
This is incredible. We are a budget hotel, and believe us when we say, that we crave for such reviews. They mean the world to us as it proves that we have succeeded and believably so. Thanks a ton for this. May 2013 turn out to be the best one for you. We will be hoping to see you soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this property instead of Sunder Palace Guest House located just around the corner. Both properties have views of the Hathroi Fort. Sunder Palace upped it's room cost for the holidays and this place was a little bit cheaper.

The room was clean and plain. It smelled of fresh paint. When we asked for a different room they told us none was available. We regretted prepaying for the three day. The best thing I can say about the place is the bathroom was clean. There weren't any side tables for the bed. A small table was placed awkwardly in the corner under the TV for the phone. There was a small seating area, but the whole place was bland and tiny.

The lock to the door didn't work very well. We had to continually check it. Once when I came out of the bathroom from the shower I saw someone had pushed in open a centimeter and was peeking in. I slammed it shut. My friend swore that he had closed it. You could hear almost everything that was going on in the room next to us.

The room service left something to be desired. We waited three hours for food, and then were told they were out of everything. Terms the conditions on the prepaid receipt stated "4. Outside Food is strictly not allowed in Room," so you are stuck. We finally got some food, but three hours is far too long to wait. I could of had take away delivered more quickly.

Over all I am not impressed. I wished we had just spent the extra money and stayed someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBHealingJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello, We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We will try to match them the next time, for you, and future guests. Having said that, please note that the room you stayed in is freshly built, just before this tourist season. The reason behind fresh paint, bland interiors and clean bathroom. It is so, because it is not done completely. That's the reason why we are reluctant to give it to any guest. All the other rooms are well done. It so happened that you placed the request during peak season and couldn't find a place elsewhere, we don't want any traveller to miss the opprtunity of exploring jaipur. That's the motive of our budget hotel. And hence we gave it to you for cheap. Please note that we don't increase or decease the room rent basis peak season like other hotels, and the room rent remains same for the entire year as mentioned on the official website. I hope you appreciate that. Even these rooms will be well done in some time. As far as the lock is concerned, it was fixed the next day. In all, we are disappointed that you felt this way. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#27 of 382 in Jaipur
2,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#37 of 382 in Jaipur
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#89 of 382 in Jaipur
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
#97 of 382 in Jaipur
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Aashiyana Palace
Royal Aashiyana Palace
#107 of 382 in Jaipur
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Property: Chitra Katha
Address: Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitra Katha 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing