We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Added another leaf to our family bonds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chitra Katha
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Added another leaf to our family bonds”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Could be the bonhomie, genial behaviour, fabulous food, crisp aesthetic paintings / motiffs, and a homely atmosphere. In a nutshell, it was truly a beautiful experience. The whole place is eclectically done and is evolving further. Neighborhood to Hathroi Fort gives the place an authentic ethnic flavour. It connects you to the Rajasthan of the yore. Clean, neat and well connected. Lived backpackers' life with wife and kids. Literature Festival gave us the reason. Four days of bliss. Honesty of an Auto Rickshaw Driver attached with the hotel can not be but respected - my daughter got back her leather jacket she had forgotten in the vehicle. The family has already decided to be there every year to attend the Literature Festival. Of course, stay will be at Chitra Katha, adding another story.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UmaAjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
No matter what we write in return, it will fall short. It might be able to tell you that we have read your feedback many times over. It might be able to convey that we have shared it with our staff, chef and the honest auto rickshaw driver, and that it makes us feel proud. Our reply might underline the truth that your satisfaction makes our existence meaningful. But still, words can only do so much. And hence we have decided not to say any of the above but this, that we have started preparing for your next visit. We will be waiting to surprise you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
83
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights due to a recommendation from a friend. We thought our room was one of the the best value rooms we found in India. We stayed in one of their cheapest double rooms, presumably cheap because it was small. But the room was new and clean, with a wall mounted flat screen cable tv (so we could watch the Australian Open) and a clean and well-appointed bathroom with 24 hour piping hot water, a good location (directly opposite pearl palace from the guidebooks), nice rooftop and room service. We were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it to other travellers looking for rooms around the 600-1000rp mark.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexi861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
This is incredible. We are a budget hotel, and believe us when we say, that we crave for such reviews. They mean the world to us as it proves that we have succeeded and believably so. Thanks a ton for this. May 2013 turn out to be the best one for you. We will be hoping to see you soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this property instead of Sunder Palace Guest House located just around the corner. Both properties have views of the Hathroi Fort. Sunder Palace upped it's room cost for the holidays and this place was a little bit cheaper.

The room was clean and plain. It smelled of fresh paint. When we asked for a different room they told us none was available. We regretted prepaying for the three day. The best thing I can say about the place is the bathroom was clean. There weren't any side tables for the bed. A small table was placed awkwardly in the corner under the TV for the phone. There was a small seating area, but the whole place was bland and tiny.

The lock to the door didn't work very well. We had to continually check it. Once when I came out of the bathroom from the shower I saw someone had pushed in open a centimeter and was peeking in. I slammed it shut. My friend swore that he had closed it. You could hear almost everything that was going on in the room next to us.

The room service left something to be desired. We waited three hours for food, and then were told they were out of everything. Terms the conditions on the prepaid receipt stated "4. Outside Food is strictly not allowed in Room," so you are stuck. We finally got some food, but three hours is far too long to wait. I could of had take away delivered more quickly.

Over all I am not impressed. I wished we had just spent the extra money and stayed someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBHealingJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello, We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We will try to match them the next time, for you, and future guests. Having said that, please note that the room you stayed in is freshly built, just before this tourist season. The reason behind fresh paint, bland interiors and clean bathroom. It is so, because it is not done completely. That's the reason why we are reluctant to give it to any guest. All the other rooms are well done. It so happened that you placed the request during peak season and couldn't find a place elsewhere, we don't want any traveller to miss the opprtunity of exploring jaipur. That's the motive of our budget hotel. And hence we gave it to you for cheap. Please note that we don't increase or decease the room rent basis peak season like other hotels, and the room rent remains same for the entire year as mentioned on the official website. I hope you appreciate that. Even these rooms will be well done in some time. As far as the lock is concerned, it was fixed the next day. In all, we are disappointed that you felt this way. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My stay at Chitra Katha was a good one. It's located in a good neighbourhood with other hotels with restaurants. The dorm accommodation is comfortable and there's plenty of room for backpacks etc. The rooftop is a great escape from the crazy busy Jaipur streets with a cup of chai. The staff were always happy to help if you had a problem. A good choice for those travelling alone and in need of a dorm room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurielea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We so happy to know that you likes the dorm facility. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very pleasant, spotless rooms, where the staff make you feel at home from the moment your arrive. Tall people: Mind your head in the first Mt after the reception. The small details in this hotel make the difference. The decoration and the furniture add up to it. The rooftop restaurant is a pleasant place, decent food, the special thali is very good value. The area is very quiet and pleasant and nearby MI Road and the railwaystation. We could easily our motorbike next to reception (off the street)

Room Tip: Some rooms (we had 108) have access to a common balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, view and the restaurant. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked for 4 nights in January 2013 and on the very first night I had a cold shower when this happened the morning of the 2nd day I brought it to the attention of the manager, that evening i had another cold shower the manager said he would get the electrician in, but guess what on the 3rd night the same happened. The response from management was that the shower needs to run for a few minutes and another room was offered to take a shower. To prove that there was not enough hot water for one to have a shower where one baths, washes hair and can shave ones legs etc filled up a bucket which was all the hot water you got when the water went cold and had to wait 15 min before it warmed up again. I was not happy about the situation where I had to wait...cold and wet for 15 min before getting hot water again and not being able to have a shower in a shower but a shower with the hot water i saved from a bucket. As the weather in Jaipur was 3 degrees it makes for a cold shower and a cold room, also requested a heater and had to pay for it. After showing management what was happening with the water they had the nerve to come up with many excuses and to say if we are not happy to leave. To top it off after 2 days our room was serviced and when I climbed into bed the new sheet had stains on it.... that kind if room service is unacceptable. I am not a fussy person but do expect to have a hot shower out of a shower not a bucket and would seriously suggest those considering this hotel to move on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,

First of all let me apologize for all the inconvenience caused. We agree that no hot water can pinch a lot during this time of the year in Jaipur. Having said that, please note we have 20 other rooms and all are full right now. It will surprise you that not even one guest has complained about the water heaters. Even in your case, we are sorry that it wasn't working properly the first night when you checked-in but the matter was resolved the next morning. You were informed that every bathroom has a separate water heater has got a fixed capacity to deliver. It can only provide a bucket full of piping hot water in 3 degree centigrade (at a time) - You have to make a choice - Either you can make 2 buckets out of this or you can use it as a single person to take a hot shower bath. After which you have to wait for 15 minutes for the machine to generate hot water. This is elementary level science. Unfortunately, in your case inspite of our repeated requests and explanation you kept complaining about the fact that it generates only a bucket full of hot water and that is not sufficient. We would like to mention that, in the times that we live today, water is a luxury. And a bucket full of hot water is found to be more than sufficient to take a bath in such extreme conditions. In future, we will definitely move to central water heating systems, so that we are able to meet all kinds of demands and also to serve you better but still, we will put up a sign in the bathroom to urge each and every guest to use water (a scarce resource) - 'responsibly'. Hope you agree. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went with two friends to visit Jaipur in December. Before it I visit the website www.chitrakatha.co.in . It’s a very good hotel located in a peaceful locality. Great food, super service and an excellent staff support combines it all. The rooms are well furnished and nicely lit-up and interior design sums it up. Management on the ball and organized. The staff really seems to take their jobs seriously, and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aryan149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#22 of 376 in Jaipur
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#37 of 376 in Jaipur
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Aashiyana Palace
Royal Aashiyana Palace
#100 of 376 in Jaipur
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#88 of 376 in Jaipur
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Classic Inn
Hotel Classic Inn
#84 of 376 in Jaipur
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hayat Rabbani
Hotel Hayat Rabbani
#83 of 376 in Jaipur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Property: Chitra Katha
Address: Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitra Katha 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing