We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean, friendly!”
Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chitra Katha
Ranked #63 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean, friendly!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in the dorm room and happened to be the only person in there, so it felt like a real bargain!

towel provided, hot water, friendly staff, and decent value (for Jaipur which seems to be a pricey city).

Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks a bunch for that superb review. The dormitories are especially done, keeping the bag packers in mind, so that they get maximum value for their money. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
83
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We ended up staying here for 7 nights in total over two trips through Jaipur. We were looking to stay in the pearl palace but we were more than happy we found this little gem. The rooms are clean and spacious with cable tv, air coolers and some of the best bathrooms we have had in India. But the main reason we liked this place was the staff. The owner was always happy to see us and helpful in every way. The kitchen guys cooked great meals (especially form the Chinese menu) and were always smiling even when we were staying on the ground floor and they had three flights of stairs to attend with!

All round a comfy enjoyable stay.

Warning for budget backpackers this area is a little more pricey than some of the other areas in Jaipur, but the level of accommodation makes up for this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oo0TommyK0oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for those kind words of encouragement. We are glad that we could live up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

great food at the restaurant!!! the cook was very accommodated to send us food to the room even when we arrived late at night.
Very clean, very nice surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garaba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it and look forward to you visiting us soon. Thanks again.

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was totally lost when it comes to trying to find a hotel in Jaipur and finally settled with this upon looking at their website.

This area is actually residential and from the looks of it, slighty affluent area which makes it cleaner and very much quiet and safe. It's usually a homestay area. The hotel is right opposite Pearl Palace which means you can dine in this hotel or head toward's Pearl palace. Personally I prefer dining there.

Back to the hotel, praise God, the CLEANEST toilet that I've encountered in India - hot water was patchy but I am not picky as I showered at the common toilet on the rooftop instead. They have FREE wifi which is great!

Isn't much things nearby but you can always rely on the few autorickshaw dude hanging around the hotel to drive you around

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Daniel,

Thanks a lot for posting such kind words about us. We really appreciate it.
We have improved upon our wi-fi services with added boosters in different areas of the hotel the roof-top lounge restaurant is also up and running. Please do drop in soon.

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hotel is located on a quiet street and near other famous B&Bs. The rooms were clean and Ravkumar Sharma was very friendly. Some of the rooms near the terrace have great views of the Harhroi Fort ourside their front door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Jokerji,

Thanks for posting such kind words and beautiful snaps. We really appreciate it. Please drop in again as the view is bound to get even better with the roof-top lounge restaurant coming up at chitra katha this year.

Best,
Anshu Sharma (Ravikumars' Son)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

OK, we didn't actually stay here but I want to recommend the entertainment we came to here (Also, if the service we experienced on the night is indicative of the service if you stay here, then it's worth a recommendation) It was NYE but I think they do this type of event fairly regularly. They have a lovely rooftop space and had a really good Rajasthani folk band playing.
Worth getting in touch if you're in Jaipur to see if they do have anything on. And if you're around on NYE next year, and are having the same difficulty that we had trying to find somewhere, then this is somewhere you should definitely look at.
Great night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Marc,

Sorry for responding so late. And thanks a ton for reviewing our NYE bash. I distinctly remember interacting with you and your friend that night. You both were really awesome, we never felt that you were not staying with us. In fact the way you and your partner interacted with all the other guests, performers and hotel staff it felt as if you were one of us sharing the good times. Thanks for being there.

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arrived at 6am..and the reception was ready for us..! Since we were early, there was no room but they let us waited at the garden cafe and later provided us with free chai. Later around 8am, we were given a room at 8am....Never arrived that early as we were charged Rs 130..at the prepaid autorickshaw..but what the heck.. we just need a place to sit after the train journey.

Might not be easy to find to those who are not familiar with the area.. as our autorickshaw was going around and around and around.....till we get there after asking around and calling the hotel. Should u have this issue, just say Pearl Palace hotel, located opposite of Chitra Katha...
The place is near to train station...perhaps a walk of 15 minutes..by autorickshaw..just a few minutes away.. but it's slightly far from the city center.. we had a rickshaw for about Rs 70. Don't worry. there are many autorickshaws outside the hotels as there are abt 4 hotels along the road. We paid Rs300 for a city place, amber fort and going around the city...which was for abt 5 hrs for us.

We had a room on the ground level. The bathroom and non AC room was clean..! With simple deco and lovely ceiling fresco. My best accommodation in my entire trip in India... However, the window didn't shut properly so it was a bit cold in the eve..but stil manageable...

Internet was Rs25/half an hour if i recall corectly.

The restaurant food was also fair.. Try the wanton soup.. execellent..!! Well... the kitchen might be a bit slow.. but the foodwas of good portion and ok.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are a bit noisy as the corridor is the only access to the rooms and garden cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Nannur,

Thanks a ton for posting such a detailed review for us. We really appreciate it.
We are glad to know that you like the decor and the food. Just for your information; we have upgraded the internet services and installed wi-fi boosters on every floor so that you can use as much as you want and that too for FREE! Yes, no charges for internet anymore.

Please drop in soon!

Best,
Anshu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#26 of 380 in Jaipur
2,062 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#37 of 380 in Jaipur
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#90 of 380 in Jaipur
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Classic Inn
Hotel Classic Inn
#98 of 380 in Jaipur
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#12 of 380 in Jaipur
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Property: Chitra Katha
Address: Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitra Katha 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing