We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The true pink city experience”
Review of Karnot Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karnot Mahal
Ranked #200 of 530 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The reviews got me confused before choosing Karnot Mahal as my stay option but since it was recommended by a friend who had already stayed there so choose to trust his opinion. Entrance was little clumsy but so is the entire wall city which particularly is reason of visiting Jaipur as all famous monuments are withing wall city. My opinion changed as I entered Hotel gate as I witnessed a beautiful palace describing it glorious past in one glimpse. The courtyard, step terraces and different view of the city from each of them was simply amazing. Best thing about Hotel was that since its a big property with relatively less number of room you feel like staying in a Palace just dedicated to you and this feel stands out this Hotel from many other where I stayed. Rooms were nice and clean, though not outstanding but it has everything one need for a pleasant sleep and comfortable. Done forget to drink and dine on one of its terraces and in case you miss that sip your morning coffee there....I am sure you would love it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you want a good nights sleep then this is not the place to stay
Too much noise from the other guests and from outside eg dogs horns music etc
Very disappointing
The food was very poor
The bed good but hard
The covers were very dirty
The sheets ok but had to ask for a top sheet
The power cut out frequently
We would have moved on but had no where to go

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Arun T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

KARNOT MAHAL is PATHETIC. I happened to stay here for one night and it was possibly the worst night of my life. I would have barely managed to get 30 ... more min of sleep. There were too many mosquitoes and the hotel guys had no arrangement whatsoever of a mosquito repellant. A late night sos call to the reception went unanswered. I should have got a hint when my local cabby who was dropping me to the hotel had asked me what made me go for this shady hotel. Location sucks. The room's tv wasnt working and the room had no towels. Finally a torn / seemingly used towel arrived after three calls. The reception staff and manager were uncouth and just wanted to maximize their profits without any consideration to customer service

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Raghvender99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Well...its really hard to describe Karnot Mahal...The property is located in a secluded spot in a busy locality and one even shudders on the thought of entering through its gates...but then once you're in you definitely feel better...It definitely was some sort of quarters for some royal family member...its design and inter connecting pathways did however catch my eye and imagination....The Rooms are OK, mattresses hard, towels decent but clean. Food was above average for its prices...For leisure there is a TV room and some magazines and newspaper but that's about it...
Well I definitely think that this place needs better management cuz it definitely has good potential....the roof top restaurant...the entrance do need revamping...the staff is courteous but slow and probably wouldn't cope with international tourists which to my amusement did stay at this hotel quite a lot....we got different rooms when we didn't like the one they first gave us....
So all in all it was a 3 star experience...but then again I am generous....besides its central localization then gives you access to all the cities major attractions and transport system to travel to the nearby places.
With a better management and some major-minor renovation this could definitely be something worth going to...still it would always be more of a bread and breakfast type of hotel due to the lack of space for any further development.

Room Tip: All rooms are practically the same....There are no windows as such in the rooms hence just take any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr-Avadh_Sahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in Karnot Mahal hotel for 3 nights. It is a little hard to locate and is situated in a very busy area. However once you step inside the gates it is quite peaceful and the rooms are quite nice and the service pretty decent. The food was also alright although my advice would be to stick to standard things while ordering and not be very experimental. City Palace is very close from here and the Railway station is also not far. All in all its not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank M_Ananya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Being a frequent traveller I have stayed in all kinds of hotels and I must say this stands out as a package. Located in crowded area it doesn't look like a hotel from outside but as u enter the first glimpse surprise u pleasently. As you climb up and up open and large step terraces and view give u feel that u r all set for a wonderfull time. Rooms r nice, cozy and comfortable but I used them only for sleeping purpose. Had tea on one terrace, breakfast on another and candle lit dinner overlooking tiger fort wrapped my night in a pefect manner. Wonderful staff and lovely food..in all a memorable experience. Thanks KM

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindasbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#36 of 393 in Jaipur
1,500 reviews
2.7 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 393 in Jaipur
3,828 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 393 in Jaipur
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
5.1 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 6 in Amer
358 reviews
10.7 mi away
Chokhi Dhani Resort
Chokhi Dhani Resort
#56 of 393 in Jaipur
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karnot Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnot Mahal

Address: 34 Ramganj Chaupar | Ramganj Chaupar, Jaipur 302003, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $17 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karnot Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karnot Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing