We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely heritage...a different hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Karnot Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karnot Mahal
Ranked #270 of 484 Jaipur B&B and Inns
1 review
“Truely heritage...a different hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Being a frequent traveller I have stayed in all kinds of hotels and I must say this stands out as a package. Located in crowded area it doesn't look like a hotel from outside but as u enter the first glimpse surprise u pleasently. As you climb up and up open and large step terraces and view give u feel that u r all set for a wonderfull time. Rooms r nice, cozy and comfortable but I used them only for sleeping purpose. Had tea on one terrace, breakfast on another and candle lit dinner overlooking tiger fort wrapped my night in a pefect manner. Wonderful staff and lovely food..in all a memorable experience. Thanks KM

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindasbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
14
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked a room for 3 days through the IRCTC website after seeing the photographs on the website. We finally could not stay there because the hotel gates were not open when we reached Jaipur. But we did not get a refund as they flatly refused saying that the money was non-refundable. The hotel is totally unlike what it looks like on the website, and is located in such filthy surroundings and quite close to a huge garbage dump. We were travelling from Delhi and since we were arriving a day later, we called and told them we would be arriving late at night at 3 pm. The person at the reception assured us that the room would be kept for us, but by the time we reached the hotel they had bolted the gate from inside. We called out and hollered, and tried to contact them on their landline and mobile but there was nobody to answer us. We had to go back and were able to find another room only because we had an auto driver who was willing to help us out. When we called them up later in the day, they insisted that we hadn't called at all. We would advise you to keep as far away from this hotel as you can!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ksraaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Overall - you will get much better options in the same price

We booked Karnot Mahal through Snapdeal. The picture looked interesting on the website, only to realize that is was a good work by the photographer.

Location -
It is well located, an auto ride from station should cost 75-100 INR though the distance is not much. It is about 600mts from Hawa Mahal on the Rambagh Circle.

Hotel -
I found the hotel shabby on its first look. There was need to repaint, touch ups required for the upholstery.

Rooms -
Look at rooms before taking them. Though the rooms were spacious and furnished, they could have been better maintained. There was dust deposits on things that are lesser used, like the phone, and the sanitary fixture were is needy state.

Service -
Slow and poor. Though the staff is cheerful, the service is slow. Our breakfast took about 40 mins to come and the lunch got served on table much before we reached restaurant !!

Food -
Not good, though included with the room. I neither liked the taste nor the presentation.

Transport - Taxi arrangements from Hotel are costlier than the market rates

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Due to a travel agency in Delhi (Connaught Place) that overcharged us a lot of money, we stayed 2 nights in this hotel in August 2012. Looking at their website, prices and photos let you think about something classy... but it’s not indeed!
Located far away from the train station, we asked if pick up service from the station was included in the price, they answered that it would cost arount 700rupees!!! With the prepaid autorickshaw we paid just 75rupees...
There’s no internet avaible inside the hotel.
Rooms are large, fairly clean and the a/c works good, but for that price you expect something fancier.
Included in room price there was also breakfast: jam toasts and chay is almost the only choise you have. Again, you expect something more from a medium/high-range hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Small Haveli located in the heart of the pink city. Single rooms, nicely decorated with Rajasthani amenities. Small patio, multi-cuisine restaurant, internet.This is the best heritage hotel. All the places to see in Jaipur is near by. The hotel staff is very help full.Nice place to relax .Purfect getaway place .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you are on a sightseeing tour. Hawa Mahal is right around the corner, Amer Fort is about 30 min away by public transport, Albert Hall Museum is at a 15 min walk...
The hotel is a refurnished haveli and has maintained the look, feel and charm of a heritage place. The staff is very cordial and food is good.

A drawback is the vehicular noise from the street as this is located in the heart of old city with markets all around.

Room Tip: select a room that is on a higher floor but keep in mind that summers can heat the roof significantl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saritgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The good:
1. its a Mahal
2. Location is really good. Its a stone's throw away from all the tourist-y places.
3. Food is yummy to say the least. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal we had there.

The deal-breaker:
1. Very expensive for the facilities they provide. The room we stayed in was a little run-down and in desperate need for maintenance.
2. The staff could do with a small training session on hospitality.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor...the roof top rooms. They are better than the others and the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevanikSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#55 of 376 in Jaipur
300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 376 in Jaipur
960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#161 of 376 in Jaipur
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Wall Street - A Business Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#128 of 376 in Jaipur
277 reviews
6.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#34 of 376 in Jaipur
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karnot Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnot Mahal

Property: Karnot Mahal
Address: 34,Ramganj Chaupar | Ramganj Chaupar, Jaipur 302003, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karnot Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Karnot Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing