We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best heritage hotel”
Review of Karnot Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karnot Mahal
Ranked #220 of 502 Jaipur B&B and Inns
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best heritage hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

i found this hotel the best heritage hotel. All the places to see in jaipur is near by. The hotel staff is very help full. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
14
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Karnot Mahal is tucked away in the walled city of frenetic Jaipur and is within walking distance to all there is to see and explore. Beautifully presented, I found a sense of calm and comfort after busy days of sightseeing. The owner was very charming; hotel staff were courteous. I very much enjoyed my evening beers on the rooftop patio. Room was gorgeous and everything functioned as it should.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarg
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wholesome experiance.Nice place to relax .Purfect getaway for lazy weekend .Value for money me and my husband had good time. Homely atmosphere and simple fun.Hope to be back soon and make new happy memeories for sure.

Room Tip: Good place if you like to wine ,dine and shop till you drop in true Jaipur Style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramandeep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The locality is horrible. We are used to walking around, but here we got locked up. So would recommend only if you are planning to get dropped and picked up by a car...always. Else the hotel is pretty nice. It is a converted haveli. Therefore the rooms are in nooks and crannies and there seems to be passages running everywhere. We were the only guests at that time and were showered with great attention. Breakfast was very good and the pasta was passable.

Room Tip: In summer don't choose a room under terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotothera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Booked it via internet in hurry and was not sure of my choice untill i reached the place...a small entrance made me fear that i have made a wrong choice but once I was exposed to the courtyard of the hotel it was simply awesome...could not imagine such a beautiful hotel inside that small entrance, a true heritage hotel in every sense. It was spacious, different view from differnt terrace, very friendly staff and they always had a smile on their face...service was little slow but i guess it was because of the distance staff had to travel as their is not lift. I called my friends over for a small party and hotel staff was nice to allocate us a terrace without any extra charge...rooms were clean and very well appointed..not much of accesories but soothing...to summurise it was a very nice experience staying there and i would love to go there again some time soon

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

To summarise two terrible nights; location is dreadful - it's right in a market, most of the rooms are like prison cells, nearly all the rooms only had one or two windows that were four inches square, the mattress was so old you could feel the springs, you rolled in to the middle of the bed, the sheets were torn, the staff turned off the electricty out side your room and then ran away (they got caught twice), the extra wildlife in the rooms included maggots, some rooms have clay male apendages sticking out of the walls (that was amusing), the guy at the front desk really didnt care much for his guests and did everything he could to walk away or not speak to anyone if he could.

It runied the trip to Jaipur

However, the restaurant staff were great and the food was very good too.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KARNOTMAHAL, Owner at Karnot Mahal, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us though it was surely not our intention. Further I would like to inform you that you were traveling with a group of tourist booked with us via a travel agency and booked under the cheapest category of room available with us. Still it is our responsibility to ensure that you have a comfortable and hygienic environment during your stay at our hotel and we ensure that all the time. Had you reported any such incident to us, management would have surely addressed your concern. Nevertheless I am sorry to hear your comments on staff behavior and on other rooms as a guest is entitled to comment on the room it stayed but not on the other room. All of our rooms are air conditioned and windows are generally closed permanently in such case for effective air conditioning. Since your booking request specifically mentioned air conditioned room we could only offer you air conditioned room which we did. Also that staff was caught twice troubling your room light is absolutely incorrect and false for it was the case strict action would have been taken against them as we are responsible towards our guests and staff is there to support not trouble. However you are entitled to have an opinion and I am sorry its on negative side. We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I stayed here with a small tour group (8 travelers and 1 guide). Inside, the hotel is fine. The floor in our room was so-so as it was a sort of painted cement. The bathroom door was glass and though it was attractive, it was transparent. I asked them to do something about this and the front desk had some staff members tape paper bags to the door to provide privacy (I was sharing the room with a fellow traveler). It was a basic quick-fix, but it certainly did the job. Generally speaking, the room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the restaurant was fine for breakfast and coffee.

Two downsides about this hotel are the strange location and the slum right in front of the hotel. The hotel is on the curve of a roundabout, behind a slum, through a sort of tunnel/gate, and past a courtyard. This mades it very difficult for tuk-tuk drivers and cycle rickshaw drivers to find it! Nearly ever driver had to stop and ask for directions a few times. Being located behind a sort of slum, I found it uncomfortable to walk through the scene in order to get to the hotel. (This was toward the end of my three-week stay in India, too, so I truly had become accustomed to India. Even so, I was uncomfortable walking through the scene that was immediately in front of this hotel.)

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenShelleyYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KARNOTMAHAL, Owner at Karnot Mahal, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read your review as its quite fair and I thank you for showing your appreciation towards our positives and at the same time mentioning negatives so that we can correct them in future to offer better and comfortable stay to our guests. The area you referred as slum is not slum but small unauthorised shops and encroachment. You must be happy to hear that government has removed all such encroachments and the area is much more clean now. Also we have renovated the Hotel after that. We wish you be our guest in future sometime and your view on changes would be precious. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.7 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 381 in Jaipur
1,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mahar Haveli (A Heritage Home)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 381 in Jaipur
3,441 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 381 in Jaipur
1,817 reviews
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 381 in Jaipur
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karnot Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnot Mahal

Property: Karnot Mahal
Address: 34 Ramganj Chaupar | Ramganj Chaupar, Jaipur 302003, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karnot Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karnot Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing