We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible... Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Moti Mahal Delux - CLOSED

Moti Mahal Delux
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible... Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The board outside says it's the same famous restaurant of Delhi and once you enter, the wall on the right is adorned with newspaper clippings and photographs of famous celebrities who have dined at Moti Mahal Delux. But sadly all of the them are in praise of the Delhi branch.

The Jaipur branch is just plain pathetic, ambiance is sad, decor is dull and the service is totally sub standard. I'm sorry to say but the staff here are just dumb witted. Had to repeat the order atleast 5 times before the waiter understood us. Ordered butter chicken and butter naan - which were okay but the desert - brownie with ice cream was stale and burnt. They had served it on a super hot sizzling wooden platter- which means the ice cream had turned to liquid even before we could eat it. When we asked the waiter to transfer the brownie to a plate, he plain refused. The brownie was burnt and hard as rock. We left it after having just one bite. And when we complained about it to the cashier or manager - whoever he was, he did not say a word. Sat like a stone and did not even bother to answer us. So much for customer service from Moti Mahal Delux. Avoid going here at all costs! There are better places to eat at MI Road.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimsum_Tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good mutton dishes”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Expensive place to go. This place gives you a variety of mutton gravies like how it used to be in the Rajput kings' time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGTHEBIGMOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“kebab heaven”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best tandoori kebabs ( special mention for the tandoori aloo ) I have eaten in a long time.
Main course was tasty, piping hot food served without much delay. Crisp tandoori roti, masla kulcha, great kaali daal and paneer butter. What else could I have asked for !
Must go for all in the most centrally located tandoori joint in Jaipur ( according to me )
VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APURVA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was much better in the past.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I know this place for many years. Sorry to say, but food was better in the past (it's still good though). But the service is really annoying. Looks like the stuff is interested only in the tips. We could not relax there. The stuff kept staring at us waiting for us to get up right after the desert and while we were still enjoying our tea. A couple of minutes later, they put bill on the table. We did not ask for it yet. This is very rude, and is no less than saying "get out"...
In general, many good places in India constantly decline a short while after they get good reviews. The food and service deteriorate rapidly, while the prices get much higher. Moti is no exception. It used to be one of the best places in Jaipur, but I think I had my last visit there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Michaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old meat, old chicken...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food here was disastrous. We ordered some tandoori chicken and lahsuni kabab, both were edible but the chicken was scrawny and tough and didn't taste fresh. But when the "laal maas" (mutton) came along I felt like running away in the middle of the meal. The meat was, quite simply, old and stale. It must have been stored for days in their kitchen. The accompanying makhani dal looked like a mush and tasted of tomato ketchup. At Rs 210, it was also about six times as expensive as the fresh, tasty black daal we get at our own hotel. Service was surly and slow, though there were hardly any other customers. To be avoided at all cost.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SM-Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti Mahal Delux also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing