We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice-looking room does not make up for things that do not work!”
Review of Castle Kanota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Kanota
Ranked #101 of 494 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice-looking room does not make up for things that do not work!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Do not be misled by the nice look of the place! They call themselves a "heritage hotel" and think that gives them an excuse for the lack of conveniences. There were no phones in the room so anytime you needed something, you had to step out to the main reception and hope you meet someone. The hotel is situated more than 10km outside of Jaipur and the roads leading to the hotel were through some rather seedy areas - definitely not advisable to venture out at night! Despite this, the hotel did not think to provide some form of entertainment - no tv's in the room and the internet did not work on my Mac! (Despite what the hotel staff said, there was nothing wrong with my computer set up as it was working well in other hotels before and after Castle Kanota!). Since there was nothing else to do, I tried to read a book but the lights kept going out for minutes at a time - I counted 4 times in 2 hrs before I gave up on reading!

The bedside table lamp did not work and had to be replaced, the other one was literally broken with the lamp shade hanging by a wire! The room and bathroom was very spacious and beautifully decorated in the old style; however, the handheld shower did not work at all and neither did the bidet.

But at least the small heater was working and they provided extra blankets.

To access the restaurant, you had to climb up 3 flights of narrow steps to reach the rooftop (again, it is a heritage hotel so no modern conveniences). The hotel staff were so busy with the large group that arrived after me that they forgot about me, a solo guest. The next morning for breakfast, I was shown to a different room which was a distance from the buffet table. It was cold and when I asked for the heater to be turned on, they turned on the ceiling fan instead! The heater never got turned on and I had to have my breakfast in this cold and lonely room. A horrible experience and I couldn't wait to get away!

All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Far from Jaipur and not in a good area. Nothing else to do at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrazyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Jaipur was once one of India's most delightful cities. Although the city is now the victim of its growth, an oasis of calm can be found in Kanota Castle. Although the road from Jaipur is no longer the sleepy rural drive it once was, as soon as you exit the Jaipur-Agra highway into the Kanota grounds, the noise, dust and traffic are soon forgotten.
We first came to know Kanota House during the 1970s when it served as a Peace Corps training site. Converted into a luxury hotel, the house and grounds have been refurbished -- but in a way that is wholly compatible with the historical home of the Kanota Thakurs.
The rooms remain decorated and furnished in the traditional manner and are very comfortable. The visitor can sit on the veranda or the lawns and enjoy a serenity that echoes more than a century of Jaipur's history. In the mornings, the crow of the peacock greets you. You can stroll through the lovely gardens both inside and just beyond the castle walls.
The food is traditional and well-prepared in a modern kitchen. And there is always more than enough to eat.
The staff is solicitous of the guest, perhaps overly so. But it is only a reflection of the traditional Rajasthani hospitality.
One note: Kanota is not for the five-star hotel tourist who wants a swimming pool, air conditioning and American motel interiors. It is the perfect place for someone who would like to discover the grace, elegance and hospitality of what Rajasthan once was.
Tom and Ramola Carter

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Revett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Was here for a two night stay and used as a rather out of town base for visiting Jaipur. The building is a wonderful historic mansion and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, nearly as big as the rooms with walk in showers.

The big let down was service. The guy running it was keen and helpful, but clearly some fairly heavy staff training is required as everyone around him let him down. It all started with the slow luggage unload. Our rep enquired as to why the other couple of lads around could not help but was told they were untouchables so could not handle our luggage! Gin ran out early - tragic for an English touring party! - and no more was available for next day. Service in the restaurant and otherwise was hit and miss.

Food was a buffet in the evening and was frankly poor. Their idea of meat is to serve up bones. Breakfast was OK. Watch your bills on the way out and keep track as you go along. Four of us had 6 beers between us first night and on check out these had been charged to each couples bill. I was dubious about other drinks charges but did not challenge them. Always ask for a large measure as you will certainly be charged for large regardless.

So, a 5 Star for the infrastructure and frankly 1 Star for Service and implementation. But this place could be really stunning with some decent management.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Castle Kanota is situated about half an hours drive outside Jaipur. It stands on the outskirts of a small town where locals treat tourists with a mixture of curiousity and caution. A visit here in the early evening is a must as the town goes about its business like it has for hundreds of years.
The hotel is surrounded by a wall with battlements. If you are up early enough you may catch the owner walking his dogs. All rooms overlook the gardens. This is a family run hotel with converted servant quarters, the bedrooms, many with sitting rooms, are all individually styled with plumbing that actually works.The bathrooms are large, though some only have showers.The service is excellent and sitting on the terrace enjoying sundowners in such beautiful gardens is a treat. The food is adequate, though not exceptional.If you want a few quiet days away from the bustle of India, this is to spend it.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our entire family had for a family vacation for 02 nights. The place though is an ieal family getaway location but this is the only good thing about the property.

Other nothing is good. The staff is not at all professional and the service is toooooo slow. They do not have adequate to handle even a small group as ours as the waiters and chef were not at all able to serve us. Even the food is too overpriced.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJ_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed for two nights in this wonderful heritage hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere (back to the Raj!). Service was great and staff friendly. My room was beautiful and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-Jane39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We visited Castle Kanota for 2 nights on a Jules Verne tour.
The rooms (we had 2 four posters in our room) where stunning, food okay, service a bit crude but I would not hesitate to stay again for the experience. All that is neede to make it perfect is a swimming pool and tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlumbobSouthWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Narain Niwas Palace
Narain Niwas Palace
#135 of 380 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#100 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Talaibagh Palace
Talaibagh Palace
#1 of 3 in Amer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hari Mahal Palace
Hari Mahal Palace
#138 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
SUJAN Rajmahal Palace, Jaipur - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kanota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kanota

Property: Castle Kanota
Address: Village Kanota, Jaipur 302012, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 494 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Kanota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 km from Jaipur. Same ownership as Narain Niwas in Jaipur, but a different location and ambiance. Newly renovated and re-opened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Kanota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing