We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food”
Review of Chitra Cafeteria

Chitra Cafeteria
Ranked #41 of 3,300 Restaurants in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chitra Cafetaria is located within Hotel Arya Niwas, in central Jaipur. It is a well known restaurant at Jaipur serving HOME LIKE freshly prepared food. Some things that make Chitra Cafe Unique are: 1.) Open kitchen that all guests are welcome to visit. 2.) Food is prepared in small batches, ensuring freshness 3.) There is no set menu, vegetables and preparations change every day, which means you do not eat out of a fridge at Chitra Cafe! 4.) There is an actual display of all the preparations every day! You can see the dishes offerred for the day, how they look, portion size and price before you order. 5.) Portions are good for one person, meaning less wastage and more choice on the table! 6.) To the extent possible be use local grown vegetables. 7.) We serve Vegetarain food, eggs are also served but the utensils used to cook eggs are separate. 8.) We serve SEASONAL FOOOD - you can eat Bitter gourd, Lauki, Parval, kamal kakri, pumpkin, beans and other staple Indian vegetables that have unfortunately disappeared from hotel and restaurant menus, replaced by boring menus dominated by koftas, paneer, cauliflower, potatoes and spinach ! 9.) We celebrate DIVERSITY IN FOOD - we serve seasonal stuff! 10.) We serve fresh salads, fresh juices, fruits. 11.) We make our own pasta. 12.) Our kitchens are managed by Owner family ladies. We aim to serve HOME LIKE food. 13.) We have our own herb garden.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The quality of the food is good.
The menu has many item on the list and the variety is good. The delivery and quality of the service is nice. The ambience is also calm and relaxing.
My family loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sachin1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Chitra Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Greetings from Chitra cafe..
All of us here thank you for the kind words and also for taking out the time to write a review.

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

A favorite with both Indians and Westerners; I've been eating here since 2002 and the quality has never wavered. Just good, basic veg fare, with a few pastas and salads available as well. And, without question, the cleanest and most hygenic restaurant in town.

1  Thank NY2India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Chitra Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Greetings from Arya Niwas family. All of us here thank you for the kind words and also for the time taken to write a review. We look forward to be of service again, hopefully in the near future.

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

While we stayed at Hotel Arya Niwas my son and I ate most of our meals at the Chitra Cafe. Normally we'd explore nearby restaurants but the food was so good at the Chitra and in such delightful surroundings that, after a busy day in town, relaxing in the garden with a superb meal was just what we needed.

I was very impressed that even the jams and chutneys were homemade using produce grown on their farms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 98Heather98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Chitra Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking out the time to write a review. I am glad you liked our services, and especially our jam and chutneys!. We also make our own bread, cookies and cakes and to the extent possible, try to use and make chemical free food stuffs.

Thank you once again for your review.

Tarun
Arya Niwas Hotels and Travel Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The food is clean and healthy, they have gone to great lengths to update their menu on a reg basis. I love their Indian food not to spicey for western taste and a wide variety to chose from as well as their home made pasta dishes. The service has improved over the past couple of years and they go out of their way to make you happy with your selection. It's not fancy but simple healthy foods.

Thank Sasjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Chitra Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Greetings from Chitra Cafe, Arya Niwas, Jaipur

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words. Hoping to serve you again.

Tarun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Restaurant provides great vegetarian food.You can order and have the food at the lawn of the Restaurant.Great experience.

Thank amlansarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Chitra Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you for the kind words, and also for taking out the time to write a review. All of us here at Arya Niwas thank you also for your patronage.

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chitra Cafeteria also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Chitra Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing