We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy place near the old 'pink city'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Karma Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karma Haveli
Ranked #36 of 484 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cozy place near the old 'pink city'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to Ratan Haveli the week before Diwali, but fortunately for us the resort was at around 50% occupancy. We got the pick of the rooms on the top (2nd) floor which was quite huge. With two young kids, the spacious room meant we could really spread ourselves. The staff, overall, strives to be helpful-a bit more training could make them really awesome.
The resaturant is nice, though the low occupancy in the small resort meant some items on the menu were not always available. But if you request in advance they do try to make your choices. Do keep this in mind. Another minor irritant was the recently introduced policy of 'no room service'-you could sympathise with that once you knew the reason-monkeys attack plates that guests tend to leave outside their rooms & this being a haveli, there are central areas that are open to the sky. We did see monkeys but they were quite well behaved.
The old city areas and particularly the markets and restaurants on MI Road are really close to the resort-reachable in an auto. A store just outside the resort is amazingly well stocked with almost anything you might want. The travel desk at the resort provides cars for local as well as ex Jaipur tours (we did Pushkar, Ajmer, Agra & Fatehpur Sikri). It may be a wee bit expensive, but the convenience is worth it & the drivers were friendly, well informed and always went the extra mile to take care of you (Kamal, our driver, was young, energetic and recommended to anyone). The bathrooms were neat, but adding a modern shower section could make them better. Overall, this resort offers a unique staying experience in an old Haveli converted into a modern resort with reasonable conveniences.

Room Tip: Each of the 20 rooms is unique and is done up differently. But if you crave space & quiet, try f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all on behalf of my team I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your valuable and lovely comments about Ratan Haveli, Jaipur. Positive feedbacks of yours always serve as a strong motivation to all of us and always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and services.
Mr. Kamal, as mentioned by you will be specially commended for his effort and service.
It was indeed a pleasure having you at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur and we sincerely look forward to your next visit.
With best regards,
Sukhjender Pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    114
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
122
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great little hotel to stay at. It's tucked away in the old heart of the Pink City. All the staff from Panandim the doorman, to Sukhjender the manager are extremely polite,helpful and friendly and will do their best to ensure your stay is the best experience. Staying in an old converted building was great as it made the rooms really interesting. Our driver, Ratan went out of his way to find us interesting places to eat at, to shop at and many interesting sights to visit and explore. Ratan also had great advice and local knowledge about all the attractions and places we visited. He deserves the tag as 'best driver in India' as there was nothing he wouldn't think of to assist us while out and about. For example, it started raining while visiting the Monkey Palace and Ratan came up to us at the top of the hill and brought an umbrella to keep our camera dry while we took photos. Ratan looked after us exceptionally we'll and we appreciated all he did to ensure our outings were memorable experiences. All the staff at Ratan Haveli made our stay at Jaipur the best and most memorable experiences we had while travelling around India. Thank-you all from Fran & Terry. Perth, Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all on behalf of my team I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your valuable and lovely comments about Ratan Haveli, Jaipur.
Team here at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur are indeed our biggest strength and thank you for appreciating their efforts. Ratan Singh and Puranandan Singh (Gateman), as mentioned by you will be specially commended for their effort and service. I will be sharing your lovely comments with all members of my team.
Once again we thank you for your patronage and look forward to receiving you very soon at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur.

With Kind regards,
Sukhjender Pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Incredible india would not have been so incredible if we had not discovered ratan singh
If you want to feel safe in india hes your man!
If you want dome one considerate perceptive ,
And wise choose ratan
If you are older people who appreciate manners thought considerstion along with amaxing perception he will immediately know what you want
Forget your bag? Ratan will remember
cant find something? He will solve
Feel sad? He will cheer you with music
If you need great food he has the perfect place
we eould have had an experience visiting india
However ratan added do many dimensions beyond belief
did I mention he dpeaks good english
last but definateley not least he is an amazing skilled driver and do you need that quality of service in india?
Oh yes!!

Extra advice do not take
Tuk tuk!
They are misleading big time
thank you ratan
Fred and judy bakker
tasmania Aus
Xxoo

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jak12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all on behalf of my team I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor.

Thank you very much for writing so lovely comments about Ratan Singh. No doubt he is one of the best driver that we have.

We all do hope that you will return very soon to Ratan Haveli, Jaipur.

With best regards,
Sukhjender pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ratan Haveli which was one of four Royal (now Odyssey) properties my wife and I stayed at as Odyssey members during our recent visit to India.

Ratan Haveli is located in an older, very ordinary, not smart part of the city with all the hustle and bustle which is so typical of India. It is a small hotel with lots of atmosphere where you get a real feel for India that you would not necessarily get in a larger luxury hotel which is part of a chain or located in a more well to do or touristy area.

The hotel is located just a couple of kilometres or so from places such as the City Palace and the various bazaars – a short ride in a Tuk Tuk which we found to be by far the most interesting and cheapest way of getting around in Jaipur.

Our room was located on the top floor at the back of the hotel away from the street and was very quiet – no sleep problems. It was very spacious, well appointed and very clean. The decor was simple but very much in keeping with the rest of the hotel – a very pleasant room.

Without exception the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.

As was our experience with all the Royal properties we stayed at in India the restaurant was excellent. The service was good and the restaurant staff were very courteous and helpful - explaining for example which dishes were spicy as opposed to hot!!

We arranged a couple of out of town trips (including to Agra and back) through the travel desk and Ratan was by a far the best driver that we had during our visit to India – we felt very safe and in good hands.

Our stay at Ratan Haveli was a very enjoyable experience and helped to make our week in Jaipur the highlight a wonderful visit to India. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonekaurilodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all on behalf of my team I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your valuable and lovely comments about Ratan Haveli, Jaipur. Positive feedbacks of yours always serve as a strong motivation to all of us and always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and services.

We all are glad to know that your stay with us was an ’enjoyable experience’ and we were able to meet your expectations of great services.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur and we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Thank you once again.
Best wishes
Sukhjender Pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Well this is a royal club hotel in Jaipur but the atmosphere is more like a boutique hotel not a resort. The service in most areas was excellent but there was some communication issues with the dinning staff even though their service was very good. Due to the limitation of guests not everything was available on the menu but the guy went out of their way to help us out. Just a note it would be helpful to inform the guests when renovations are being carried out. The rooms were good & very clean. The tour operationor was very helpful but there could have been more information supplied on the events you were going too. A special thanks to the infamous Mr Ratan Singh for his help & guidance as our driver. The hotel tends to be a safe haven in an area that show some of the older city. You definly have the true Indian experiance. The views from the hotel of the fort & the walls were great. All on all it was a resfull & interesting stay & the staff were extremely helpful. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruickydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!!
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your time whilst at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur and our service was to your satisfaction. We at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur value your patronage and sincerely look forward to your next visit to serve you.
Kind regards,
Sukhjender Pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent a few days in Dec 2012 at Jaipur in the Royal Resort property Ratan Haveli -
Bit away from the main city but easily accessible by public and private transport
Room was comfortable with airconditioning and clean rest room facility
Kettle for tea/coffee in the room and mini fridge with cool drinks and chocolates
In house restaurant with clean and tasty food
Travel desk was not very helpful - they didn't know timings of local shows and we ended up going late thereby missing shows
No swimming pool
All in all we enjoyed our babymoon at Jaipur!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for your wonderful comments!!! It’s feedback such as yours that encourages us to improve consistently and provide the best hospitality experience that we possibly can. we have taken note of your constructive comments about our travel desk and I assure you that steps are being taken so that we do not repeat our mistakes. I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur

With warm regards,
Sukhjender pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent 5 days at the Ratan Haveli in Jaipur in August 2013. It is a quaint hotel on the edge of the city. It is safe inside the hotel. The hotel was always clean and comfortable. I dined in the restaurant each evening and the meals were all good.The staff are warm welcoming with always smile on their face, specially the doormen.
I booked a car from the Hotel Travel desk and planned my daily tours, it was worth travelling by car to all the places as we got an amzing gentleman who took us around (Mr.P.K.Sharma & munna) to all the places with comfort, he was so informative, lively, well mannered, safely drives, took us to all the important places without any rush or discomfort, he was very pleasing to talk too and I must recommend him for any traveller as he was an asset to my trips in Jaipur and Agra.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balamurugan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RattanHaveli, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you! I will make sure that I share your wonderful comments with our staff. It’s feedback such as yours that encourages us to improve consistently and provide the best hospitality experience that we possibly can. I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon at Ratan Haveli, Jaipur

With warm regards,
Sukhjender pal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#19 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#128 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
2.5 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Haveli

Property: Karma Haveli
Address: 240 Gatore Road, Jaipur 302002, India (Formerly Chakra Resorts: Ratan Haveli Resort)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Hotel Class:3 star — Karma Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karma Haveli at Jaipur by Karma Resorts is an authentic 1700s family mansion built in the golden age of the Maharajas. Designed and furnished by local Jaipur designers, there is an air of authenticity that surrounds this stunning location. Close to the ancient city walls, the Karma Haveli is a mere 10 minutes from the centre of Pink City. The Hotel consists of a selection of 20 spacious bedrooms, all equipped with in suite bathrooms, air conditioning, television, telephones, mini bars, 24 hour reception, the cosy Ambar bar, The Pink Palace Restaurant serving mouthwatering local and international cuisine, and a fully renovated ancient bawdi (stepped well) which forms the centre piece of the intimate gardens. Roof top terraces provide the perfect 'crows' nest' to view the ancient town battlements and the daily activities of the local populace as they go about their busy day. There is a daily Activity Programme and many excursions to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Karma Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing