We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaipur ... the city on my card and "Ratan Haveli - "Home away from Home"”
Review of Karma Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karma Haveli
Ranked #35 of 528 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ratan Haveli may not be big enough for some, but for us its home away from home. Courteous staff, food of your choice, accessible historical places and markets.

Travel desk owner and his drivers are very very helpful. We loved the surrounding it gives you a real touch of Rajasthan. View the oldest Ganesh Ji Temple at the hill.

This was our 2nd visit to Jaipur and 2nd stay at Ratan Haveli. This time our room was on 2nd floor with a big terrace in front of our room.

We watched people flying kites everywhere, Early morning birds and squirrels brought us closer to nature. A panoramic views of the nearby Nahargarh Fort. Delightful courtyard and small garden with a "BAWDI" (a small pool )

What we suggest to put some good chair and table so one can really enjoy morning TEA.

Jaipur is a place for every one. Have a nice trip and a pleasant stay at Ratan haveli

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank absGoa_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_India, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments. Your reviews are very important to us and help us to improve our services and commitment to serve excellence.

We are glad to know that we met to your expectations of great services and you have enjoyed your second visit at resort.

We are grateful for your views on travel desk, food quality and on staff performance and I assure you that we definitely think about the new set up of tables and chairs on roof top.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thank you to Ratan Havelli Management and the staff - a special thank you to Martin and also to our Driver Kamal who both have excellent English and a great understanding of the area....our stay in Jaipur was excellent and we would have loved to stay another week to continue exploring the area and enjoying the culture.

On arrival to Jaipur at 11pm we wondered where we were heading as the streets were generally quiet except for cattle and sleepers on the street......but when our taxi found the Hotel we were pleasantly surprised......the delightful courtyard and most welcoming staff who efficiently completed booking us in and had us in our rooms promptly. Although it would have been ideal to have a family unit this is not available at Ratan Haveli and our rooms where opposite each other (we were aware that there are no family units before we booked our stay) - the rooms typify the glamour of the past yet are fitted with all necessary mod cons.....only suggestion would be for the shower recess area to have higher tiles on the floor around the recess, to avoid the bathroom being splattered with water from the shower (room 204). Both our rooms (204 and 207) were roomy with a sitting area included.

We enjoyed drinks on the 2nd floor balcony and also on the roof top area.......a relaxing way to finish off a day of exploring and being wrapped in so much history and culture.

We had many trips/excursions booked through the travel desk once we arrived and decided what we felt like doing - staff very helpful.
# Suggestion if going to Chokhi Dhani - we wished we had gone about 4 or 5pm rather than 6.30pm so that we would have had more time to look around plus also to be there during daylight for some of our visit - lots to see so we would have preferred to spend about 4 hours there with dinner during this time.
#Amber Fort excellent
# Day trip to AGRA (Taj) well worth it
# Light and Sound Show also worthwhile
# Day trip to National Park to see Tigers was great fun - but no tigers sighted!
# On our last night we went to Sheeshas Restaurant - well worth it, go by Tuk Tuk, the Manager asked if he could recommend dishes for us - and his choice was excellent. Food very good and service excellent also.

If you are wanting to immerse yourself in the culture of INDIA - Jaipur, is ideal and we would recommend staying at The Rattan Havelli. So much to see, taste, enjoy and experience.

Thanks to you all at Rattan Havelli.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LArobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments as these are very important to us and help us to improve our services to serve better.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and would loved to stay longer with us and we met your expectations of great services.

We are grateful for your views on rooms and on staff performance. The staff that made a memorable to your stay will be suitably commended for providing great services.

We have taken a note of room # 204 shower flow area and it will surely rectify in coming renovation.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

While travelling towards the resort, I had this apprehension as it is situated in a busy, narrow street. But as soon as we entered the resort, all our fears vanished. As we entered a beautiful courtyard with a fountain welcomed us. The resort is an old Haveli which has been renovated with all the modern amenities. We had our room on the 2nd floor and it was a good one. The staff there is very cooperative and always greets you with a smile. I would like to mention the name of Mr.Martin Gomes and Mr.Tarun Sharma who made our stay very comfortable there. They were always ready to help even at the odd hours. The rooms are well maintained by the cleaning staff. The food at the restaurant is very good. They serve you the food of your choice and never say no. One thing which needs a lot improvement is the kids activity zone. Overall it was an enjoyable stay for us.

Rosy & Raju

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st and 2nd floor should be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosy1969_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur !!

First of all I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments as these are very important to us and help us to improve our services to serve better.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have met your expectations of great services.

We are grateful for your views on room cleanliness and on food quality and have communicated the same to the concerned departments.

The staff that made a memorable to your stay will be suitably commended for providing great service.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week through our Royal timeshare ownership. Location is offputting in a busy, narrow street, predominantly residential in the old part of Jaipur. Once through the gate it becomes a wecoming oasis from the chaos outside. A pretty courtyard and fountain welcomes guests. We had an excellent large, clean, studio room on the third floor. Large bathroom with plenty of hot water. There are only 3 rooms on this floor at the rear of the building, with the rooms opening onto the rooftop courtyard. It was always so peaceful up here ( unless occassionally you had noisy neighbours coming and going or noisy staff watching TV in the room next door). The rooms are not particularly well soundproofed as there are only wooden shutters on the main windows and the main door is timber with a large noisy heavy lock on it which is difficult to open and close quietly. The rooms have been modernised while still retaining an old world feel. Not modern by new modern hotel standards but still well maintained and decorated. While the bed is very large it is also extremely hard with hard pillows. Asked housekeeping for softer pillows and got something marginally softer. Rooms have airconditioning but not reverse cycle heating. While we were in Jaipur it was very cold at night and we only had a small electric fan heater which only managed to take the chill of the air. As we didn't bring any very warm clothes with us we felt a little silly sitting in the room at night with the bedquilt wrapped over us while we watched TV. Fortunately it warmed up after the first few days. Loved being on the third floor away from the echoes and noise coming from the main central courtyard where most of the other rooms were located. We were away from the street noise as well. We loved sitting out on the courtyard before it got dark, having a drink and watching the daily life of people go by. We watched people flying kites everywhere, monkeys and birds in the trees and rooftops, watching people walk up the steep stairs up the hill to the temple above us. Views of the nearby Nahargarh Fort at sunset were lovely. One thing which would make this courtyard even nicer would be to have some comfy chairs, table and umbrella. The concrete seats and couple of old ratan chairs could be improved upon. The food in the restaurant was very good and very well priced. We ate there every night as couldn't be bothered paying to go to a restaurant and fight the dreadful night traffic of Jaipur. While we loved the Indian cuisine we sometimes would have appreciated the menu containing more snack and light meal options. Breakfast was always a challenge to get what we ordered. Through a combination of breakfast choices being limited, staff being a bit limited in their English, us having trouble with their accent, the staff having trouble with our Aussi accent breafast was always a bit hit and miss as to whether we got what we ordered. By the end of our stay staff sort of got it right. Not abig problem as this is all part of travelling overseas. Restaurant staff were always friendly and tried very hard. One thing which we did find annoying was the regular music being played by visiting Indian musicians and performers. It was very loud, went on for many hours, nearly every night, and echoed all through out the courtyard. I would not have liked to have had one of the rooms, facing onto the courtyard if you wanted some peace and quiet or an early night. One thing which did surprise us and was much appreciated was that we were not harrassed by the Royal rep trying to upsell more timeshare services to us. While we did casually chat him at no stage was there any attempt to engage us in a sales pitch. Outside in the street ther is a couple of little shops to by snacks and drinks. Staff were always helpful and did manage to find us an electrial adapter when we found we had the wrong type of adapter.Overall loved Ratan Haveli, while the location is a little off-putting, it is worth the different experience. If 3 flights of stairs don't worry you ask for a room on the top floor as they are quieter and you have your own rooftop courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all I thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments. Your views and observations are important to us and help us to improve our services and to better understand of our guest’s needs.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, liked the daily local life activities of surroundings and we met your expectations of great services. We are also very grateful for your views on food quality and performance of the staff.

We have changed the timings of local musicians and made it more comfortable for our guests.
We are making many efforts in up gradation of resort amenities and I am sure you will find a great improvement the next time you visit us.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

i was there from the 12th december to 15 th dec-2012..Though it is situated in a very busy place, Brahmpuri, it is quite cosy.. The haveli has been redone and restored with all the glamour of its past. The whole place is very peaceful and elegant. You are greeted every time with a smile and ready to help nature of the staff..The rooms are very well maintained ,with good washrooms . The food at the restaurant is good.There is a tree on the center of the haveli which is home to hundreds of the local sparrows,which make a chirping ,soothing sound in the morning and evening . It is a good experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samrudhiHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments. Your reviews are very important to us and help us to improve our services and commitment to serve better.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations of great services.

We are grateful for your views on the food quality and have communicated the same to the Food & Beverage department.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are members of RCI and had booked two rooms at Ratan Haveli. The rooms were very small and were not given the same near each other, though we were a family of 4. the least the management could do was to give us adjacent rooms. The hotel is situated in old Jaipur and the approach road is very very narrow, so whenever our hired car would come to pickup/drop us at the resort, there used to be a lot of honking and would create a minor traffic jam.
On the other hand, the staff is exceptionally good, courteous and smiling. The food is also good, though there were a few things on the menu which were unavailable.
We had gone during Diwali week but there were no arrangements for any celebrations, hardly any decoration/diyas. I think some effort should have been made as going out on the streets during evening was maddening because of the traffic and many roads were also closed for vehicular traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perceshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor.
We are grateful for your valuable comments as these are very important to us and help us to improve our services and commitment to serve better.

We are glad to know that our staff met to your expectations of great services and are grateful for your views on the food quality.

We always try for arrangement of adjacent rooms to the family but sometimes it is not possible due to full house of the resort.

We are making efforts in revamping our menu and I am sure you will find a great improvements at resort the next time you visit us.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had driven my car from Roorkee to Jaipur on 10 Nov. 2012, and therefore needed a pleasant and relaxed sleep on that night. Seeing the location of this Haveli disheartened me a lot, but thanks to housekeeping staff who provided all necessary things on reaching there. The room was quite good and pleasing. After having a hot shower, I could relax comfortably and had a nice food i.e. Rajasthani Thali. I had very sound sleep. Thanks to well informed Mr. Tarun Sharma, who guided me for my travelling and other related issues during my stay at Jaipur. Being a local guy, he was of great help to me since he knew all locations such as Shops, Restaurents, Malls, Cinema halls, Palaces, Forts etc etc. He also handed over a list of local attractions and a guide map. I had a single terrible experience of food especially Gulab Jamun that contained a foot nail within it. That night I could not sleep and had several vomits. However, the restaurant staff apologized for it and cited reason that the sweet was procured from some outside vendor. They further informed that they have discontinued the procurement from that vendor now and would look out for better one.
I had a very bad experience with one Project Director Mr. Aryan Ashar and staff Mr. Martin. To my surprise, I had come across some of the worst sales and marketing personnel here.
The sales staff were ill informed about Odyssey and DAE live. On checking websites, I found everything contradictory to what they had said. They were bent upon to just grab money from members in name of upgradation or other issues.
On being asked, how to utilize the membership in best way, they started saying that I shall not be able to use it since I have points lesser than 185 and moreover, they make me feel as if I have committed some crime on accepting the RGBC membership for just 15 years.
I think such senior staffers should at least be updated before sending them in field, moreover, they should be taught how to behave with members.
Hope this is taken in right spirit.
The members have some alternative good choice of multi cuisine food at nearby places such as Sharma Pavitra Bhojnalya.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms seems to better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brajesh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ratan Haveli, Jaipur!!

First of all thank you for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your valuable comments. Your views and observations are important to us and help us to improve our services and to better understand of our guest’s needs.

We are glad to know that our House-Keeping staff and Mr. Tarun met your expectations of great services.

I heartily apologize for all the inconvenience caused and as per our conversation I assured you that we have done improvements and have taken special care on outside procurement.

I also apologize on our sales staff behavior and have communicated the same to the department.

Yes, we have definitely taken your valuable comments in right spirit am sure you will find a great improvements the next time you visit us.

We look forward to your visit again!

Thank you once again.
Best wishes,

Anurag Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.6 mi away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
0.7 mi away
Saba Haveli
Saba Haveli
#142 of 389 in Jaipur
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#15 of 389 in Jaipur
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Jaipur City Center
1.6 mi away
Mandawa Haveli Jaipur
Mandawa Haveli Jaipur
#79 of 389 in Jaipur
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Raj Palace
The Raj Palace
#50 of 389 in Jaipur
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Haveli

Address: 240 Gatore Road, Jaipur 302002, India (Formerly Chakra Resorts: Ratan Haveli Resort)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 528 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Hotel Class:3 star — Karma Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karma Haveli at Jaipur by Karma Resorts is an authentic 1700s family mansion built in the golden age of the Maharajas. Designed and furnished by local Jaipur designers, there is an air of authenticity that surrounds this stunning location. Close to the ancient city walls, the Karma Haveli is a mere 10 minutes from the centre of Pink City. The Hotel consists of a selection of 20 spacious bedrooms, all equipped with in suite bathrooms, air conditioning, television, telephones, mini bars, 24 hour reception, the cosy Ambar bar, The Pink Palace Restaurant serving mouthwatering local and international cuisine, and a fully renovated ancient bawdi (stepped well) which forms the centre piece of the intimate gardens. Roof top terraces provide the perfect 'crows' nest' to view the ancient town battlements and the daily activities of the local populace as they go about their busy day. There is a daily Activity Programme and many excursions to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Karma Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing