We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet!”
Review of Vinayak Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vinayak Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Oderzo, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The place it's not in a central position, but it's near the train station and in a quiet area. All the building it's clean, there is a nice roof-top (you need to order downstair or when they bring something up), a wifi room with some books and sofa. The manager was nice (he become engaged the last night i was there, so no dinner, but he had all the family visiting so... it was ok). The location is out of the center, but there are others hotels in the area and you can find a free tuk-tuk all the time. There is also a liquor shop around the corner if you are looking for beer or something! I stayed in a single w/toilet and i can say that the common toilet were clean and in good order. I had good times with other travellers in the rooftop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    124
    20
    1
    6
See reviews for
26
189
109
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

OK, maybe it was my fault for having ultra high expectations after reading all the amazing reviews but I ended up very disappointed by this guesthouse. Im not sure where the 'friendly family' were but I didnt meet them - hardly anyone acknowledged my presence, my room wasnt booked despite confirming the day before, no food was being served in the evening and at any other time of the day you have to order from reception. My room was fine, pretty clean and well appointed but very noisy - I got woken up by shouting 3 times in the night (from the family, not guests)...

Maybe I was just unlucky, maybe I came on the wrong day.... but the relaxing, friendly atmosphere I so needed after the hecticness of Jaipur was definitely not there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C2theJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinayakguesthouse, Owner at Vinayak Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2015
Dear Guest ,

We sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused to you while your stay with us. Our friendly family are always there to welcome all the Guests , but some Guests needs privacy .
We were Sorry for the reservation confirmation but there were some communication gap , We haven't received any confirmation mail till your arrival .
On your arrival you have been told about restoration going on at our restaurant , that's why food was not served that day.
We are glad that you really liked the ambiance of the room and the Guest House.
Sorry again for inconvenience caused due to noise , but some Indian group family was staying just next to your room and making noise.
We again apologize for the discomfort and i hope to see you again in future and promise to serve you better , relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I know... I don't like writing bad reviews, and usually think bad reviews are from either very picky people or from those who where the odd ones... The unlucky ones in between the rest... And I think this was us at Vinayak Guest House! my partner and I were travelling by train from Delhi to Jaipur, arriving at 8.30pm. since it is our first time in India and we were still a little bit "shocked" we made sure we had a reservation for our late arrival. That's why the day before travelling we called the guest house and made a reservation with Raman. he said that unfortunately he didnt have any double rooms left, but he would be more than happy to accomodate us in a single room and place a mattress on the floor. Of course we didnt mind so we confirmed the booking. After this first call, i talked three more times with Raman: to ask for pick up, to confirm rate and to confirm reservation. And we were always still booked... Only until we got there (no pick up provided at the train station) and were told by the biggest fake smile that we didnt have a room (one lady was sick in bed and couldnt move so she had our room, another lady had made a reservation and paid full price but was arriving at midnight, the empty room was not available -????- and we had only made a phone call, so that didnt count as a reservation -more ???????-) but we were "kindly" invited to sleep in the internet lounge, where they had 2 mattresses on the floor, no lock and a bunch of people using internet; but the next day we could move to a double room. After thinking it over, and considering it was already 9.30 pm we accepted the offer... Which seemed to have expired while we were thinking!!! Because the lounge already had more people booked in and the double room for the following day was no longer available!!! Seriously?? I don't know why Raman wanted us out of there, but he was really interested in us going to another hotel, which was "the best hotel in Jaipur, much better than this one!". Of Course we ended up going somewhere else (we were later told that Raman usually does that: overbooks and plays with people's time, but he oboes he has good Rep. In hostel world so doesnt care). It was such a shake we couldnt say goodbye to him...because when the tuk tuk we has called came to pick us up, he had magically dissappeared to hin auntie's........ sorry guys, I don't doubt this might be a good place to stay, but be a little mire sceptic than us and confirm your booking through hostel world. And if you can pay full amount in advance, much better! Raman doesnt care about making fiesta happy, he only cares about getting money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MairanJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have been travelling with our kids (ages 8, 4 and 4) for about 7 months and this is probably one of the best budget lodgings in Asia, for sure the best in India. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and reasonably priced. The owner, Raman, is friendly and super helpful. Stay here for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Having spent our fair share of time in hotels in India where we experienced no hot water, unclean facilities, people trying to rip us off and general rudeness, Vinayak Guesthouse was a breath of fresh air!
Greeted by Raman with the hugest smile, we felt like we were coming home and made to feel so welcome by him and his family. The decoration in the hotel was excellent, many of the traditional Indian murals had been painted by Raman's sister and the rooms were spacious and clean with lovely hot water showers!!
The food in the restaurant was delicious and home made - they do the best banana lassi you will find. But what impressed us the most was the time Raman took to give us a map, explain the best itinerary for us, how not to get ripped off by the rickshaw drivers and how much we should pay for things and where the Indians do their shopping.
I would recommend this hotel without a doubt to any one, as you can rely on Raman and his family being the most decent and honest people in India - a very rare thing indeed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLetessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich Switz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is one of the best hostels in rajastan! So friendly - Raman is the perfect host!
Nice rooms and very nice decoration! Thank you so much to have treated us a something special! The infrastructure is new and clean and net! The best of all is the roof top and the very nice freshly prepared food! Go on and see you next time
Andrea & Daniel Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Was in India for two months and stayed twice in Vinayak! Raman is great! He really cares about his guests! The first time we were there during the kite festival and he let us play with the kites on the rooftop, fun! The rooftop is beautiful, food is good (try the big tali!) and they really pay attention to the rooms, nice colours on the walls, pretty paintings and clean! (you don't find that very often in the same price range!) The rooms are very very good value for money!
The next time i had bed in a dorm and these are also very recommendable! There is tv with hbo in every room and the hostel is really close to the bus and trainstation! Really recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 380 in Jaipur
1,951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#12 of 380 in Jaipur
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#26 of 380 in Jaipur
2,065 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zostel Jaipur
Zostel Jaipur
#2 of 400 in Jaipur
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinayak Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinayak Guesthouse

Property: Vinayak Guesthouse
Address: 4, Kabir Marg (Behind Shops) | Bani park , Near Collectrate Circle, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinayak Guesthouse is a heritage property Guesthouse that provides a warm,friendly environment for travelers visiting Jaipur . It is run by a small family who are friendly, trustworthy and eager to help their guests.We have a homely and safe atmosphere in an Indian style budget guesthouse, with delicious home -cooked Indian specialties.We provide a comfortable environment where travelers can relax after a day of sight seeing in the bustling Pink City. Simple, clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds, en suite or shared bathrooms with hot/cold showers. Balconies and cable TV are available in some rooms and all rooms have locks, so your things are secured. Internet with WI-FI is available in lobby. Same day laundry for an additional fee, plus rooftop terrace for relaxing and sunbathing. The Guest House offers two categories of rooms: Simple ones with common shared bathroom. More Elegant ones, with AC, colour cable TV, nice bathroom with 24h hot and cold shower. If you arrive early , we can safely store your luggage free of charge in our luggage storage until the time you check -in. We can also store luggage free of charge after you check out and are ready to leave. A valid photo ID (only passport & visa) is required from all guest and regardless of nationality - otherwise we are not able to check you in and you will still be charged for the amount equal to your first night stay. LOCATION: We are located in Bani Park. Bani Park is a peaceful area with easy access to attractions and the train and bus stations: - Jaipur train station is within 10 mins walk and the central bus station is 10 - 15 mins by tuk tuk ride. - The old city gate is 2 kms east and attractions are 3 kms east . Amber fort is roughly 14 kms away and we advise you either take bus or a taxi/tuk -tuk. -Restaurants ,cafes and bars are located on MI road which is within 15 mins. Walk. -Atms and stores selling essential items are 2 -3 mins walk. Looking forward to having you as our Guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Vinayak Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing