We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Cafe

The Palace Cafe
Ranked #1,169 of 2,956 Restaurants in Jaipur
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Waitstaff
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

There is nothing palatial about The Palace Cafe @ The City Palace, Jaipur!

One goes there expecting a royal treatment, spread lavishly, serving great food which is said -has recipes from the royal kitchens. While the cafe was full of foreign tourists & some Indians, it was the MOST DISAPPOINTING part of my entire visit to Jaipur!

While the City Palace makes one feel really proud of the rich heritage, the food served at the cafe is pathetic!

We ordered for 'Spl. Jaipuri Chicken', which was nothing but chicken marinated in yogurt & spices...the chicken was raw, was not marinated properly & was lacking the basic ingredient - salt!

We also ordered for a Chicken Biryani - which again lacked all the punch a good biryani should have! To top it all, we found a cockroach in the Biryani and wanted to puke!

Though the staff was apologetic, but this kind of quality is definitely not what one would expect from The Palace Cafe!

One can completely avoid going there & try other places instead..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HansieKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overpriced and food blsnd; Has achoice location in palace and could be so much better. Tour groups can be very aggressive about chasing you of your table!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting but Pathetic Food...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is located inside the City Palace. We went their for a quick bite after the Palace visit. The location and set-up was brilliant. This place was full but we were the only Indian family out their. Staff were more attentive to the foreigners. We ordered Cheese sandwich, coffee and Sweet lime soda and every thing tasted below average. This place is a tourist trap.Must Avoid...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Popped in for a lunch time snack with the family. The Indian food is absolutely delicious, one of the tastiest I have had in three weeks touring India. Service excellent, setting perfect and, as I say, the food is delicious. For five of us the bill was approximately twice that of cafes out in the street but I didn't object at all. It was still a bargain and I'll be back there on our next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_L142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For a quick bite after the tour of city palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Only wish the food was better. Sit outdoors as its cooler than the A/C room. Loved the traditionally dressed man playing a rustic instrument & breaking into folk songs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunny64640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Cafe also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to The Palace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing