We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel for the price and good location”
Review of Hotel Gangaur RTDC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gangaur RTDC
Ranked #185 of 460 Specialty Lodging in Jaipur
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Its a RTDC property but well managed and decent service given by the hotel. I have been to MTDC goa and it was a nightmare, so compared to MTDC, RTDC scores. Food was good, staff was decent, laundry service was good.OK, the rooms can be better so can be the bedsheets, and other things. Am sure they will look into it and make it a better place to stay. I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its location; central, well connected but still at a distance from all noise and pollution. Choose ground floor rooms (AC Superior); the minor price difference is worth much more. Don't expect very good services, it being a state tourism facility. Restaurants have good food but limited availability of menu items, and time restrictions.

Room Tip: Book in advance so that you can get the best rooms that are located on the ground floor and are call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dheeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hi, I stayed in Hotel Gangaur of RTDC. The hotel is a bit old and the rooms are not so big. I got a price of Rs. 1800 per night inclusive of breakfast. Breakfast was repetitive-bread, omlette,tea, cofee, idly, puri, sabji were the options. I stayed in a room at Ground floor. The room was not so big but adequate, There was sofa set which was pretty old and torn out. The bed was good but they usually provide twin bed. We could not get double bed instead they joined twin beds. The service was good but travel desk at the hotel was over priced. We booked a trip to Chauki Dhani and also a local city tour.
If you want to buy special Jaipuri sarees then please visit the saree factory which comes on the way to Chauki Dhani. the shop was having very good collection of Rajasthani sarees. A must visit is Chauki Dhaani. We enjoyed a lot. RTDC city tour was good but they wasted most of the time in their handloom shop, instead they could have taken us to some other sight seeing places.
We stayed at jaipur for three days which was quite sufficient to cover all the places. The full hotel was booked by someone for wedding party so we moved to another hotel which was also RTDCs. This one was much much better that Gangaur. I forgot the name but it is just on the next lane. There was a baskin robiins shop very near to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pooja_sur_saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Dirty rooms, not maintained at all. Very unhelpful, inattentive staff. Several better options available in Jaipur for similar price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Dear friends
Gangaur is a nice well maintained hotel with good quality of hot water is available in winter season. restaurant is good. But booking procedure is not tourist frindly.So is senior citizen discount scheme. RTDC mumbai didn't guide me about the senior citizen discount scheme
at the time of booking

Some of the executives representating reception feels that a first time tourist must be aware of all RTDC procedure without being informed!When enquired about discount I was told that
I can get it at the time of check out.At the time of check out I was told that application should have written at the time of check in! how can they expect tourist to write application at the
check in time without being told to do so? why not offer discount at the time of booking itself?Why waste tourists' holiday in this lengthy procedure?
Also there were senior citizen ,physically handicapped with us and we were told to remind them for our request of ground floor prior to our check in day though it was already mentioned
in our booking application at the time of reservation. Ground floor were reserved for us as requested but our reminder resulted in miscoomunication from their side and we were
asked to pay for early check in which we actually never asked for. Marketing Executive was kind enough to sort this problem but no tourist would like to waste his holidays on these lengthy procedure. So I suggest if you have a special requirement, go for this hotel only if your requirement is taken care of at the booking itself. Don't get into reminding them to later date ,prior to check in, as it might result in miscommunication from their side .Also some of the executives attending reception during day time didn't behave with us in well manner. The executives attending reception during evening was very well behaved and tourist friendly

As this is a honest review I have no problem in mentioning that my room was clean well maintained,location is good and restaraunt is also good compared to the room tarrif
Best regards

BN

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNAmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel was a good RTDC hotel, the rooms were nice and clean. The hotel had huge / ample parking space available, was near to station and the city market. and the best part is it is economical. However, what could be improved was the service, and the menu. We asked for the Rajasthani Dish, and it was not there. The chinese stuff would certainly be a NO NO. other dishes are good. But the service in returant took long time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subratodasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had booked this hotel online for our stay in Jaipur during the Rajasthan trip in Oct 2010 through the RTDC website. The booking the hotel was easy as there were enough rooms available and RTDC has a simple website to navigate through their booking process. However, you cannot get any discounts (as advertised on the website) if booked online. You need to pay the entire amount at the time of booking. Though it says you can get the discount once you check into the hotel, but at the hotel people said that they cannot give any refund on rooms booked online. We had asked for an extra bed during the online booking and hence were fortunate to get that when we checked-in, because when we asked for the extra bed at the reception at the time of check-in, even before looking at our reservation request we were told that there were no extra bed available. However, when we told that the extra bed was already requested at the time of booking and the payment was already been made for that, they did provide a bed , but without a cot. So the extra person had to sleep down.
The rooms were big and the bedsheet and linens were clean. The bathrooms were also clean with some dirt patches here and there. You cannot expect a cleaner bathroom in a govt hotel. The towels were clean but had become hard with repeated washes over the period of time. They definitely need to be changed soon. Though it is a govt hotel, we got prompt room service whenever we called for.
The worst part of our stay in this hotel was when a small rat managed to sneak into our room through the gaps below the doors. Again the room service guys came to our rescue when they managed to trap and kill the rat with their rare skills and expertise gained over a period of time.
The restaurant had a wide variety of choices from North Indian, Rajasthani, South Indian, Chinese cuisines. The food from the Ala carte menu was tasty but the service was poor. You may have to wait for 30 to 45 mins if you order lot of dishes. But the quality of the complimentary breakfast was horrible and it took lot of time to re-fill any of the items when it got over. Also be careful to keep tab of what you order and what you eat when you settle the bills else you will have to pay for their mistakes. Overall we had a very average stay at this hotel with a mix of good and bad experiences. We didn’t mind staying in this hotel much since most of our time was spent outside roaming in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brajesh_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#23 of 410 in Jaipur
2,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya International
Hotel Maya International
#304 of 410 in Jaipur
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Niwas
Hotel Maya Niwas
#72 of 410 in Jaipur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
1.4 mi away
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
#45 of 410 in Jaipur
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 410 in Jaipur
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangaur RTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangaur RTDC

Address: Near All India Radio Station | Near Khasa Kothi, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 460 Specialty Lodging in Jaipur
Price Range: $26 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing