We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in central Jaipur”
Review of Ratan Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ratan Niwas
Ranked #141 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel in central Jaipur”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was clean, but had no window which can be quite bad not knowing if it is morning or not; meanwhile no noise coming from the street. Even if Wifi was available, they didn't give us the password and had to pay 20rupees to use the boss's computer.
Rooftop restaurant was ok but kind of dirty.

Room Tip: Chose one with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_simi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
28
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this lovely guest house which is so conveniently located for tourists and corporate guests. Rooms are good compared with the prices you are offered. Great food which is served at the terrace with cozy seating.

Last but not least a very friendly and courteous staff makes you feel like home.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are spacious and reasonably priced too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

After visiting many other budget hotels in Jaipur and having to move on because of them either having no rooms or being overpriced, I was very fortunate to stumble across Ratan Niwas.

I'm very surprised that it's not in any of the guidebooks, and has me now questioning how I go about finding hotels in the future. Compared all the other budget places Lonely Planet lists like Pink City Guesthouse, Atithi Guesthouse, Karni Niwas, etc the rooms at Ratan Niwas are a mile above them and for only a fraction of the price.

Great location, easy walking distance from the main areas including train station, but in a nice quieter street meaning that you're away from any major road noise.

The wifi worked extremely well and I never had any issues with it. They even have different servers on the second floor and rooftop to ensure a strong signal throughout the hotel. Big TV in all rooms with all the cable channels, and incredible bathrooms with a modern sink and mirror; quite amazing quality of everything especially considering the price you pay. Comfortiest pillows I've had in my past eight months of travel. Towel and toilet paper provided. And it's worth mentioning very friendly room attendants, who helped me out with anything I needed ie some soap. Lovely rooftop restaurant, with very friendly waiters; we even flew a kite together on the roof after I finished my lunch :)

After many months of third world travel, it's easily one of the greatest value hotel rooms I can remember seeing. I honestly missed out on going to the Monkey Temple, because I was so happy spending time in my room. If I didn't have to be in Delhi for NYE, I'd definitely be staying a few more nights.

Highly recommended to all fellow travelers.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_aus04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We ended up accidentally staying here after our intended Lonely Planet guesthouse turned out to be full, and as it turned out we couldn't have been much happier. This place is beautifully decorated with murals and antiques, with well priced rooms and a nice rooftop restaurant - a kind of underdog alternative to the well known Pearl Palace around the corner.
Most importantly for us, Ratan Niwas is run well by an awesomely warm and helpful family who helped us with booking some or our onward travel. Notably, when several weeks later in the trip we required a refund for a failed train booking (not the fault of the hotel), our contact at Ratan went very much out of his way to return us the money (no easy task given we were hundreds of miles away and only operating on English banks). Fantastic commitment to guest hospitality, even long after we'd left Jaipur.

In sum, we had a lovely stay here and would thoroughly recommend Ratan Niwas on all aspects to other budget travellers. Great decor and vibe, great staff.

Room Tip: Our floor room was nice and convenient and had a fantastic bindi-style ceiling mural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We did not spent a night here but we hire a car + diver services from Jaipur to Agra.
After agree the price and confirming that all taxes would be around 300 IRP we decided to get it.
The trip was as expected, the driver was a nice guy, but the troubles started when getting to Agra. Besides the "highway" taxes (around 300 IRP) we were told to pay the state cross tax, another 300 IRP, and after arriving we were asked to pay another 300 IRP for the back trip, so from the agreed 300 IRPs we finally had to pay around 900 IRP in taxes plus the cost of the trip or course.

So, I would NOT recomend to book any service with this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratanniwas, Owner at Ratan Niwas, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
i completely remember about this guest as my father booked a taxi for the guest, my father mentioned them that the taxi is from Jaipur and the toll tax would be to and fro for Jaipur agra, and there will also be a state tax charge, whenever a taxi service is provided to a guest we make sure that we tell the guest about the charges, to avoid issues, we provide taxi service to many guest and never had an issue with that, i also checked with the driver and he informed me that the guest only wanted to pay one side charges and not 2 sides and also declined to pay state tax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ratan Niwas is a sound choice for the budget traveller in Jaipur. It's well located, not far from the train station, in an enclave of similar hotels, including the rightly top rated Pearl Palace (and within 2 mins walk from that hotel's lovely Peacock rooftop restaurant). The food at Ratan Niwas's restaurant is first rate, though the restaurant itself could do with a little more work on it's ambience and furnishings to bring it up to the standard of the Peacock, for example. The major selling point for Ratan Niwas was its very helpful staff, who helped me with both rail and plane onward reservatons, which was invaluable as I was having 'foreign credit card' issues with various reservation systems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetMourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed there with my friends, although I live in Jaipur but due to some reasons I get a chance to stay in this hotel. First of all the Owner Amit Kukreja was very friendly and helpful as my friends were coming from Delhi so he provided the best room with best possibility, the rooms were clean and comfortable,. They opened there kitchen till late night for us. Good food with a nominal price. Also the location of this hotel is centric so we walk to get some things, A good and a nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpit_Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abhiraj Palace Jaipur
Hotel Abhiraj Palace Jaipur
#320 of 380 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Niwas
Hotel Maya Niwas
#93 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Classic Inn
Hotel Classic Inn
#90 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
Hotel Sugandh Retreat
#95 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.7 mi away
Raj Kothi
Raj Kothi
#118 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Surbhi Palace
Hotel Surbhi Palace
#211 of 380 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Niwas

Property: Ratan Niwas
Address: 36 Sanjay Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ratan Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ratan Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing