We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #77 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When my group of 14 college students arrived at Devi Niketan, we were pleasantly surprised by marigold garlands and warm greetings by the Admiral and his staff at our welcome. As we walked by the well-decorated family rooms, spacious bedrooms and beautiful patios, it was evident that the Admiral's childhood home had a rich history. Our group felt at home during our eleven night stay, especially thanks to the kind and helpful staff. The breakfasts were also delicious. We were sad to leave, but if I ever return to Jaipur (which I really hope to do some day), Devi Niketan will be my place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svs5568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here with the family few months ago. Really enjoyed my stay. Staff were good and courteous always giving a helping hand. Kids had a good time. Good comfortable rooms and very spacious. The food was also quite nice. The kids had a good time in the pool. Overall good recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB9000544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a wonderful 10 days! Staff was always inquiring about our journeys and trips and willing to help with everything. We were a group of 12 university students and the staff went and bought stamps and then mailed our post cards for us. We had a lovely and relaxing time. Internet was a little spotty but may have been because there were 12 of us sharing bandwidth for FaceTime and Skype.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my mom stayed with the Admiral for 3 nights in Feburary. Our room was huge, we were happy to have a heater as it was still quite chilly at the time. The property is very nice because you can walk your laps safely without any worries. Sadly, the pool was till too cold but it did look very inviting. The Admiral makes sure all your needs are addressed and come up to chat to you personally, which I thought was great: gives you some tips on what to see etc. The house is also worth spending some time in. Just walk around and look at all the old family pictures and ornaments. It's very impressive and being part of a cultural surrounding like that allows you to get a more authentic taste of India instead of staying in 5-star hotels, I think. What else, breakfast was good and even the snacks are great value for money. The staff was really great. We had to leave very early for our flight on the morning of our departure and they organised a taxi for us and had someone there to open the gate. Also, there is always someone on nightwatch. Really enjoyed coming home after a day of being in the city!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drifter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is my 4th stay at Devi Niketan.
First on Aug’11. Thanks to Tripadvisor we found it. Then in 2012 stayed twice. And now in June’13 (16th -18th).
And I am still counting.
When we left on 18th this time, we felt pang of sadness, the same feeling which one feels while leaving ones home. That’s the charm of this property.
As I already stated in my earlier reviews of this property, once one stays here, its difficult to choose another option at Jaipur.
I won’t repeat the oft-repeated USP’s which were already mentioned in my earlier reviews and also mentioned in other reviews. Some salient minute features which are normally missed in many other bigger hotels but present here includes:
1.0> Attractive room-rents (within INR 3000 and attractive discounts available in off-season - probably April-Sept of a year). Monsoon in Rajasthan is beautiful. So avail this opportunity and may have a nice stay here.
2.0> A homely, non-formal atmosphere
3.0> Fresh, almost like home-cooked food
4.0> A nicely spread-out elaborate breakfast (both Indian or Continental style) in morning
5.0> Anti-skid or Anti-Slip tiles in bathrooms (this is missing in many bigger hotels), nice airy rooms and spacious verandah with plenty of sitting arrangements in serene quite atmosphere.
6.0> Property being located in a prominent, VIP location, there is rarest (almost nil) power-cut; need of any power-back-up is never felt.
7.0> Room ACs work nicely.
8.0> A heritage feeling inside with old black and white family photograph, ancestral pieces and stories of Chomu Dynasty displayed prominently on many walls that will absorb one’s mind anytime.
9.0> Lunch not available, but breakfast being heavy and the MI road with all other restaurants being close-by, the need of lunch never felt. Moreover that’s exactly the time when one is expected to be out exploring the city.
10.0> For dinner, a pre-intimation is necessary, and the food tastes fresh and delicious. All details including spice-levels are asked and taken care of.
11.0> Even when you are in journey, supposing you are expecting to reach or check-in the room a bit late, you can request your dinner over phone and ask to keep the same ready in your room so that once when you check in you can have the dinner after freshening up. Normally we do this as we travel by road from Mathura in evening and reach a bit late; even once when we checked as late as at midnight, we were pleasantly surprised to see that their staff were waiting and served the dinner hot even at that late hours.
But my suggestion to all is not to be late as-often as this is also a residence and not a commercial hotel type and as a convention the gate is closed at around 10:30 -11:00 in night. So once a while if one is late it may be OK but often won’t look nice.
12.0> A lush green piece of lawn at the front-compound where one can play, exercise, play with pets. There is a swimming pool at the backside.
13.0> All furniture in the rooms are very lightweight, so if you want to do a slight bit of maneuvering for your convenience, it can be done easily. This is in contrast to some other heritage places which are loaded with antique furniture weighting tonnes and you need to know weightlifting to slightly move a chair there.
14.0> Roads leading to Ajmer-Udaipur, Tonk-Kota-Bundi-Choki Dhani-Sanganer-Airport-Railway Station (the JLN road) are located close-by. MI road dotting with shops and eateries is almost adjacent. Old Jaipur city and the famous Rajmandir Movie Theatre is not too far as well (around 10-12 minutes by auto considering traffic, fare may be hardly INR 40). Autos & Rickshaws wait just outside the 2nd gate (in front of Govind Niwas exit) and easily available from the location.
15.0> Mineral waters readily available from the kitchen on-request. Intercom phones are there in room.

Now one point to remember:
1.0> There’s no credit or debit card facility for payment. So do keep ready-cash especially prior to check-out. But a large nos of ATMs (SBI, SBBJ, HSBC, Kotak-Mahindra Banks etc etc) are all located almost adjacent, a few steps away from the property, in the same foot of the road. So their access and money or cash no problem.

One suggestion:
1.0> May kindly think of putting mini-fridges in room which may come useful especially in summer season to keep the bottled mineral water cool. Otherwise we need to do some funny innovations to keep these bottles cool like keeping the bottles in front of ACs. OK, that does work as the ACs also work nice. And of course mini-fridges in-room may also come with mini-hike in room rents as the same will call for increased power-cost. Also the bulk of tourists come in winter when this need may not be there at all. Hence this is just a suggestion for consideration.

Room Tip: Room Nos 6,7,8 & 9 are the best ones.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we stayed there with my husband and my whole argentinian family. The service was fantastic and
even they cooked less spicy for us. The owner, the admiral, is a very respectful male and it is a pleasure to talk to him. The staff is really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay. Owners are friendly and accommodating. Hotel has a pool which was lovely after a long hot Indian site-seeing day. Room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. I only knocked them off a point for the wifi not working in the room. But to be fair the house is all marble and stone so the signal is probably easily blocked. Stay here if you are visiting Jaipur!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelyLittleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#10 of 383 in Jaipur
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#70 of 383 in Jaipur
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#42 of 383 in Jaipur
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#106 of 383 in Jaipur
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $62 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing