We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“@ home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #76 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“@ home”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife booked this hotel for our 19 international wedding guests from Switzerland.

Altogether we had an absolutely great experience. The staff was all the time there for us and very helpful.
Specially to mention is the owner of the Devi Niketan. He is from a royal Rajasthani family and a former Admiral of the Indian Navy. He is an absolutely trustworthy and wise Men. The Devi NIketan used to be his family home. For his daughters marriage he prepared it as a place for his international guests and because he liked it this way he started a hotel. He did very well and all of us felt like @ home in Devi Niketan.

Room, food, service everything was absolutely outstanding. There is was not even one point we had to complain about. Perfect place to be.

Some recommendations: The roof top is a great place for some evening drinks. Spend some time with the Admiral if possible and learn about India. The English of many staff member is not the best. still they are very helpful, take your time and find a way or just ask the admiral. Order Dinner early enough or go to Handi and have some excellent fresh kebabs.

Room Tip: All the rooms i have seen are very good. Still i preferred definitely the one on the first floor. mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsalabim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
89
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 16 people and needed 4 rooms. They were each unique and surrounded courtyards. The decorations were historical and the staff so wonderful and kind. Their food was very good and they had a big breakfast. Good AC even in very hot weather. Nice bathrooms and beds. Ample parking. Pool's chemicals were too strong is the only complaint. They even suggested a close restaurant and helped us get delivery and provided plates. Everything was done so willingly and we really loved it here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matwhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stopped over at Devi Niketan for one night, en route a long road trip. And what a sight for sore eyes it was.

Devi Niketan is a quaint, tasteful bungalow that was converted into a hotel. It is run by the Admiral, who was an exceptionally gracious and helpful host, without being too overbearing. The same can be said of his staff - efficient, polite and respectful of your privacy. We constantly felt as if we were guests in their old family home.

The room was wonderfully spacious, with lovely furnishings and linen, and a peaceful study space in the corner. The bathroom was clean and well-equipped. And this place has hidden delights - like a parlour room where you can read from the library, or the carom board where you can have a game after dinner. The food was excellent home-cooked Indian cuisine (they were kind enough to ask us what we'd like in advance).

The Admiral's love for detail can be seen in everything, big and small. Each room has a folder with detailed information about the surroundings, questions you would frequently have and directions - which would be very useful if you were staying and exploring Jaipur. And the gentleman himself was a pleasure to meet when we sat down to dinner.

I would happily return here. It is a welcome change from usual bland hotel-chain hospitality, and a much more warm, sophisticated place to go without being hard on your pocket.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Room (there's Standard, Deluxe and Deluxe Suit, that overlooks the swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahineArdeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wonderful place with all the luxuries of any top 7 star hotel but with the added ambience of being at home. The Admiral and his extremely gracious wife are reason alone to visit Jaipur. The staff - pleasant,courteous and most helpful. A heritage establishment, with a heritage of its own! Unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality and they are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virusingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is a joy - a beautiful, historic building set in its own grounds with grassy lawns to the front and rear. There's a good sized pool at the back which our kids loved.

Rooms are nicely furnished and very comfortable - we had two rooms joined together (3&5), which provided acres of space for the four of us. Welcome touches include tea and coffee in the rooms and a safe (which you don't feel you need).

But the best thing about the hotel is the charming Admiral, who looks after his guests with great care and puts you instantly at ease. He ensured dinner was prepared without too much spice for our children's western pallets - so they too could enjoy traditional, home cooked Indian food.

In many ways Devi Niketan feels like an aristocratic English country home in the heart of bustling Jaipur. It is a delight to come home to after a day negotiating the sights.

The centre of the old city is about 20 mins away by tuk tuk, which pass the front of the hotel regularly (cost c. 100 rupees). We stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Devi Niketan is a great small hotel, the Admiral and his charming staff go out of there way to accomodate you and rustle up tasty food at very short notice. The room we had was large, comfortable and clean, the pool most welcome after a days site seeing. We particularly appreciated the time Admiral Singh took to talk to us about our plans and when the elephant festival was cancelled at the last minute came up with an alternative way to spend our day in Jaipur and organised a taxi for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATHURA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After Aug'11 and April'12, this was my 3rd stay on 6th - 7th April'13. I was allotted room no 7 & 8 in Govind Niwas side. Earlier I was in Room No 8 & 9 (probably on both occasions).
That I do not look for any other options for staying in Jaipur in itself makes it amply clear where this establishment ranks in terms of its service and performance, value for money.
The glorious aura of a heritage, the powerful presence of Admiral, my dear pet cocker spaniel Roxy's love for this place, the charm of the establishment, the cozyness, the cool laidback ambience, the prominent location - all comes at a price thats truly a bargain in tourism hotspot like Jaipur.
The rooms elegant, staff polite, food is reasonably priced and quite tasty, secure sprawling compund, ample car parking space, all these make Devi Nikeran my no-1 choice of stay in Rajasthan.
Last not the least, the courteous behavior of Admiral is something one should learn.
Every wall of Devi Niketan speaks of our glorious Naval past. Every room brims with history and tradition. Rooms are so nicely done up. Washrooms are so neatly organized. The study room associated with room no-8 was a surprise - I fell in love with it. It immediately lifts your mood.
Staying here like staying aboard a cruizer. A naval carrier. You have all the comfort and ambience of history mixed with chivalry.
Once you are inside Devi Niketan, you won't feel like going outside, Its so cozy.
The Reliance Mall with the book shop on opposite foot is an added attraction. I hope to take a cool long leave and just pass a laid-back holiday in Devi Niketan with my favorite coffee table books as company, reading the same sitting in the sprawling portico of Govind Niwas, where Admiral was always kind enough to let me stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#10 of 386 in Jaipur
460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suryaa Villa
Suryaa Villa
#31 of 386 in Jaipur
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugan Niwas Palace
Sugan Niwas Palace
#84 of 386 in Jaipur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#105 of 386 in Jaipur
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#68 of 386 in Jaipur
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 386 in Jaipur
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Property: Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing