We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Clean, Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious, Clean, Relaxing”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In our previous trips to Jaipur (& Rajasthan) we have stayed at many haveli's converted to hotel or B&B but Devi Niketan is by far the best place. What strikes most is the huge open spaces around the building and excellent maintenance of the property; the whole property is bright, sunny and airy. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with traditional furniture and painting.The location is central with most of the attractions within 1-3 KM distance (walkable); Anokhi cafe is just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
89
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great place to stay. The Admiral was so welcoming and friendly. His staff was too.
Food was just okay... I was really thankful they made something for us though as we arrived pretty late at night and needed something to eat.

The Admiral helped us discover what to explore in Jaipur, too. He even booked a driver for us. I wasn't too happy with the driver though - and pretty sure the Admiral had no idea about this but - the driver was booked for 4 hours - he drive us up to the Amber Palace and tells us to come back to him in 2 hours - we thought, okay, that should be enough time - so as were driving back towards town he starts telling us we'd like to go see some jewels and other stuff (there was a language barrier) and we said - "no, were fine, just take us back" (we were tired and kind of just wanted to relax) - but yet he still takes us to this strange office type building where they basically forced us on a tour where they sell jewels and textiles and art and we had no idea why we were there at all! It was so odd! All these nicely dressed salesmen hounding us to buy stuff was completely annoying! We rushed through there and went to the driver and said to take us to the city palace of Jaipur because we just wanted to be through with him! But he still kept trying to take us to other places... luckily we finally got out of the cab! It was annoying, but like I said, I don't think the Admiral had any part in this - I just wanted to let people know to beware of cab drivers trying to get you to go to overpriced selling joints that work with cab drivers to bring tourists to them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Devi Niketan is a really good option for any type of tourist. Different experience staying in a home converted to hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and airy. Watch out for mosquitoes.
Staff are nice and our brief interaction with the admiral was also good. We did not have any food there including breakfast. the staff had said previous evening that it was possible to give us an early breakfast at 7am, while the admiral came back to us later and said it would not be. This was the only negative.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is way more than a hotel, it is a home where you feel welcome, safe and ready to go places! The rooms are oh so beautifully hand-painted up on ceilings and along door panels. Immaculately clean, and thoughtfully adorned. Admiral Singh has made this a perfect TREAT to stay in! They also provide complimentary coffee and tea in the rooms along water boiler, a great locker and old-charm heaters in the room! The staff is so amazingly sincere and caring! It was a delight to stay here. It was delightful to meet Admiral Singh, who cares passionately for Devi Niketan, Jaipur and its beautiful heritage! Singh Uncle gave us a great description of how to cover the many delightful sightseeing venues in Jaipur and also helped arrange any help we needed. The interiors are so beautiful (discover it for yourself), we enjoyed every minute of our stay there! Thank you so much for your most wonderful hospitality, honest service and homely care :))

Room Tip: We were in room 4, loved it, on ground floor with a lovely small balcony too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed when it was quiet season. Front desk and staff quietly efficient. Room was fine. Breakfast simple and fresh. Swimming pool was a pleasant bonus. Tuc tuc taxis drivers seemed to have difficulty finding so it would be useful to have a card in Hindi with map. A well-run ship !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Admiral Singh, Indian Navy Retired, has turned his family home into a lovely guest house. The artful details on the walls, ceilings, and floors are delightful and refreshing after a jangling day in the market. It is removed from the city center and has a lovely large buffering yard so you don't hear the traffic. The house staff are charming and helpful. Food is maybe uninspired but filling, plentiful and tasty enough. Had our laundry done....even my pj's were pressed. Admiral Singh runs a tight and welcoming ship. By far, this was my favorite hotel in India. Be forewarned, the tuk tuk drivers do not know where it is. Have the phone number handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Devi Niketan is a case study in how to run a good hotel. When we arrived on the train, we called the Admiral and he directed the prepaid taxi driver to the location. We checked in, and the room was not just clean and luxurious, but also decorated to show off local taste. The food was good, though we also took advantage of the chance to eat out (Handi's on MI road). The Admiral gave us excellent recommendations about where to go, how far things were, how much we should expect to pay for the autorikshaw rides, and was always available to direct drivers who got lost (which happened a lot). We loved this place and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.9 mi away
Sugan Niwas Palace
Sugan Niwas Palace
#79 of 380 in Jaipur
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#64 of 380 in Jaipur
476 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suryaa Villa
Suryaa Villa
#31 of 380 in Jaipur
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#22 of 380 in Jaipur
1,781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#35 of 380 in Jaipur
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Property: Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing