We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #82 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Devi Niketan was actually selected by a friend of ours. The experience actually started with the email exchange - prompt, polite, and accommodating.
The hotel itself is great value for money. The rooms are beautifully decorated, bright, and clean.
Home-made food and high-level of service made the stay very pleasant. Admiral Singh himself is an excellent host and is personally very active in assisting travellers in planning the daily schedules - recommending places to visit, arranging taxis, giving tips..
All in all, it was a memorable trip and Deviniketan made that possible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 313 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was so thankful we chose this hotel. The location is very central with easy access to transportation and within walking distance of some very good restaurants. Though it is located on a noisy road, you would never know it. The hotel is serene, so quiet. We had very restful nights sleep here, and we were so thankful for a quiet, tranquil place to get away from all the craziness of the city. The Admiral runs his hotel like a ship; it is spotless, orderly and calm. He was very helpful in planning our activities and suggesting delicious places to eat. Upon arrival, he gave us a map of Jaipur, circled highlights and gave us some suggestions. No other manager did this for us on our five week trip. It was such a treat to talk with him.The staff was fantastic. They were very accommodating to my family, especially our one year old. I was able to keep food in the fridge, use their kitchen and they even ran out to get food for our baby from time to time (things like yogurt, peas) and offered to cook his food for us. We couldn't have asked for more. Both of the rooms were very quiet and beautifully decorated. What we loved the most was the outdoor common area right outside our rooms. This allowed me and my husband and his father to leave our rooms and talk, go online, play games all while our baby was asleep in our room. This really provided us with some great "adult" time which can be hard to come by when you have a sleeping baby in a hotel and no place to go and talk where you can keep an eye on him. The food was fresh and very tasty. The breakfasts were a great opportunity to meet fellow travelers over made to order food.
When we had to come back through Jaipur on the train, we had twelve hours to kill during the day. The admiral offered us a room at a day rate and this allowed our baby to nap and for us to get some much needed relaxing in. Since we traveled in January, it was too cool to use the pool. But it looks lovely; clean and well kept. The grounds are fantastic, you can jog around the property as there is a track that encircles it. There is grass you can lounge and play in and peacocks sometimes hop the wall (very exciting for our baby!). This was a fantastic experience, I would highly recommend Devi Niketan as a peaceful refuge in an often crowded city. I would stay here again if we return to Jaipur.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACCoop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Devi Niketan is a fantastic small hotel with a great owner who is welcoming and very accommodating. The other staff are also very polite and helpful. The hygiene standard was very high and there was not one aspect of the place that I would consider unclean or not fully functional. The rooms were quite nice with comfortable beds, plenty of space and hot running water. There is also AC, a heater, tea and coffee facilities and a tv. I was pleasantly surprised with the value for money.
I travelled to India with 3 other young girls and I felt quite safe and comfortable at Devi Niketan. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Russ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We arrived at Devi Niketan after intially cancelling our booking after we were stranded in Jabalpur due to Fog, but ended up taking an 18 hour train journey as we did not want to miss out on the 'pink city' - luckily they had two spare rooms, rooms are very spacious, high ceiling and decorated beautifully and very clean. Admiral Singh was so nice & hospitable ordering us up some omlettes and sandwiches after our long journey and advising us on the best places to see in Jaipur as we only had one day to see everything. Breakfast was great with lots to chose from. Thoroughly recommend, would definately go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9_nz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Devi Niketan for 3 nights in room no. 4 this January. I can personally reconfirm all of the good things others have said about the property - the high ceilings heritage building, well appointed decor and nice friendly staff etc - but I can also add that the host - the Admiral is a very respectable accomplished high ranking retd officer with an incredible lineage of Rajput royal / defense servicemen and yet the admiral is down to earth friendly and service oriented host that personally attends phone calls and bookings. Also very quickly helped us get a comprehensive snapshot of Jaipur's city layout and its history.

We enjoyed reading about the property and seeing all the family pictures in the galleries other than having a very comfortable and well looked after stay. Nice hot water, nice firm bed, well equipped room, good bfast and great location - nice restaurants near by too.

I don't believe I could have found a better place in Jaipur, esp for the money we paid!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Devi Nikektan exceeded our expectations in many respects - a really nice historic building, charming staff, nicely decorated rooms and a good location within the city.

Don't expect a 5-star hotel but I guess that's clear when looking at the more-than-fair room rates.

What we like to mention additionally, is the General's extraordinary helpfulness. When we spontaneously needed a car as a consequence of a cancelled train, he instantly offered his help and organised us a reliable driver even at the cost of calling me on my Swiss mobile.

Also, the General who led the Indian Navy a couple of years ago, is supporting social, charitable and environmental work which, we think, should be positively considered too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sven_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Devi Niketan and the Govind Niwas next door are twin properties which is a huge house converted into a heritage hotel. It is centrally located in C-Scheme area with the main M.I.Road nearby. Given a choice go for Devi Niketan rather than Govind Niwas as the former is in the main block. Col Manvendra Singh, the owner oversees the arrangements personally. The rooms are spacious and so is the bathroom. The television has cable TV connection which does not work too well. The breakfast is Ok. There is ample parking space. When next in Jaipur I would like to stay in the same place again.

Room Tip: Go for room in Devi Niketan and not in Govind Niwas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank findnsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 mi away
Saba Haveli
Saba Haveli
#146 of 393 in Jaipur
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#87 of 393 in Jaipur
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 393 in Jaipur
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sarang Palace
Hotel Sarang Palace
#17 of 393 in Jaipur
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#53 of 393 in Jaipur
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loharu House
Loharu House
#116 of 393 in Jaipur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $62 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing