We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #77 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You get what you pay for and this hotel was very simple but clean and completely safe. The food was fine, as well. The service was pleasant and the admiral goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. I stayed in one of the more basic rooms and it was just that. Everything was completely adequate. I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget and in need of a clean hotel with decent food, hot showers and free internet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 311 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

Some of our friends advised us on India hotels by saying: "it's either 5-star or nothing". We found the exception for the rule, although this charming family-run hotel does deserve five stars for its character and service. An outstanding value for a very affordable rate.
There are nice touches everywhere: the authentic decoration with family memorabilia, the national flags of the guest's countries hoisted in the dining room, the clean, cool, comfortable and spacious room, the toiletry in the bathroom, the nice garden, the friendly staff, and, of course, the great tips from the admiral. Be sure to order the delicious home-cooked dinner, that makes you feel as if you have an Indian grandma. Also accept the admiral's tip on the Ayurveda center nearby, which is simple yet excellent.

Room Tip: We got one of the "deluxe rooms" upstairs, which was big and had nice amenities for an aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Oh What a nicely place Devi Niketan is !!! And the Admiral Madhvendra Singh Jih is a really friendly and nice person!!!! I will recommend much Devi Niketan as it is a peaceful place and really nice place, it is also much clean and comfortable; im sure everybody will love it, it is as if you are home. We even played carom there my parents, my fiancé and I. If i go to Jaipur again, for sure, i'll go there again. The staff there also are nice person, they help you anytime.
So go there, you won't be dissapointed ^^

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed here in Feb 2011, & its was a very relaxed place......There are few rooms, so you don't have a lot of noise in its premises hence very peaceful..... also located well...Their breakfast was lovely, And great collection of medals of the Great Owner.....total VFM......Someone looking for a relaxed atmosphere this is a place to be at.....

Room Tip: All r Similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yograjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed here a year before and it's still a great place to stop in Jaipur. Warmly recommended. The beds are a bit hard but that might be your thing!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSeaLion, Owner at Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have noted your comment (and that of another guest) about the mattress being a bit hard.

We have already taken remedial measures and altered most of our mattresses so that they have a softer feel on one side. All others are being modified. Henceforth, if any guest finds the mattress a bit hard we will just turn it over and put the softer side on top.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Madhvendra Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After reading the rave reviews of this place we zeroed it in as the choice of our stay. This place is in a quiet area with an old style building, which is a combination of not really old and mid 70’s style, which is neither here nor there. Looked unimpressive and plain. Though the room had a good size it all seemed very lackluster. The bathroom tap was continuously leaking. Though we put it in the notice of the staff yet nothing was done about it. This in turn always kept the bathroom quite wet. Our dinner was OK. But sorry to say was overpriced. Nearby in M.I. Road and on the second night we found a number of restaurants, which served good food and were value for money. We went to Niro’s and had great food at a great price. If staying here it is a good option to go down M.I. Road and find other better options for dinning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaushalvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Devi Niketan, a lovely heritage hotel. We arrived quite late in the evening and could not find any open restaurant in the neighbourhood. The staff organised some sandwiches which was great.
This heritage hotel is in lovely house is like a family history museum.
The rooms are immaculately clean and spacious. In the bathroom, you get complimentary soap, toothbrush and toothpaste. There is a TV with cabled channels. The beds are a little bit hard. The WI-FI works outside the room for much less money.
We enjoyed the breakfast (included) under the Swiss flag, after a very funny flag ceremony and enjoyed a beer at the pool every evening.
We especially liked the ecological consciousness of this place as the Admiral is a member of WWF.
Devi Niketan is very well situated.
The staff was very friendly and efficient.
I’m looking forward to visiting Jaïpur again and of course, I will book at Devi Niketan !
I liked : the staff, the place, the furniture, the huge bathroom
I disliked : nothing … the pool could have been a little bit cleaner …

Room Tip: all are different but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Madame-Minouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#10 of 386 in Jaipur
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#67 of 386 in Jaipur
481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#105 of 386 in Jaipur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#54 of 386 in Jaipur
318 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Marigold Jaipur
Hotel Marigold Jaipur
#52 of 386 in Jaipur
224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nana Ki Haveli
Nana Ki Haveli
#149 of 386 in Jaipur
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing