We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Indian Guesthouse”
Review of Suryaa Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suryaa Villa
Ranked #35 of 389 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Suryaa Villa. The staff did their best to help as needed, the restaurant is very decent, and the grounds are quite lovely. With a few small touches this place could be great. Our primary complaint was the substandard cleanliness. Our room's floor had a stain (ketchup?) when we arrived, and it wasn't cleaned throughout our visit. The hand towel wasn't once changed, despite my efforts to replace the dingy one we had all week. Also, there is no heating and the room was freezing. I was sorry the windows all had gaps. Likely if we visited in July I would have been glad for the breeze.

Finally, for a place that seemed to court western visitors and families, I was surprised there was no crib or baby cot available. We were travelling with a baby and I wouldn't have stayed here had I known no crib was available.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. I am delighted to note that you felt that you were looked after by our team in general very well and the fact that you enjoyed the food served in our pool-view restaurant.

I have noted that your room wasn't serviced during your stay which I am most concerned about as all the rooms serviced daily by our housekeeping team. However I would like to bring to your notice that we have clearly displayed in the rooms and at the front desk that in order to get your room serviced the guests need to leave their room keys at the reception. Whilst we do not provide heaters in the rooms on arrival, we are more than willing to provide room heaters on request at charge if could have requested one during your stay.

I have noted your comments with regards to cribs being not provided, please be rest assured that we will revisit these to ensure that we have cribs in place for family traveling with children.

I do sincerely hope that we will see you again, and have the opportunity to show you how great The Suryaa Villa truly is.

Kindest regards,
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here from 17th-19th Jan 2014.Its out of city-centre but good for us since it was close to Diggi Palace where the literary fest takes place every year.
Location is really a down-point as there are no eating-out places nearby besides it being a little forlorn and lost.Not recommeded for ladies on their own-my daughter and I got lost and the bylanes were quiet and shady.
The hotel rooms are good, large but no heating at all -when Jaipur has 5-10 degree temp.Though plenty of coverings.
The attached restaurant-separate-served good food and we thoroughly enjoyed Rajasthani Rotis.The BF buffet was high priced at Rs550 by even Mumbai standards and only served eggs,tea,juice,aloo paranthas and banana.Order as you want-much better and cheaper.
Take care about billing-he did try to add my airport pickup again after i paid it -and somehow i dont think it was a mistake...

Room Tip: backside upper are better, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Dr. Medha,

Thank you for your review of Suryaa Villa, Jaipur

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the Rajasthani roti's served in our restaurant and found our rooms to be comfortable.

With regard to our location, we would never suggest that we were an obvious choice for easy access to the City but we do find that many people enjoy our location as we are within 10 drive to a host of monuments like Hawa Mahal, City Palace, Jantar Mantar, Albert Hall and Birla Temple

While we do not provide room heaters on arrival, our team is more than willing to provide room heaters on request at no charge if a guests requests. I am sorry this service was extended to you.

I am surprised to know that the charges for the breakfast buffet were wrongly informed to you as 550 as standard charges are INR 275 per person. I am personally going to follow up this with the staff members concerned. With the feedback we received largely from TripAdvisor we have increased the options on our buffets and I am sure our chef will be ecstatic to read your review.

I was especially concerned to read your comment about the billing issue about the airport pick up charges as the charges were included in your booking but the payment is due on arrival, we do not charge the credit card given to guarantee the booking which is clearly advertised on our website.

I very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so I can put your above concerns to rest.

Kind Regards,
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

After reading the many positive reviews I expected better from this hotel. The rooms were fine and clean enough, but were never serviced during our stay and we ran out of toilet paper (1 roll provided) and had to buy our own. The room was very cold even after we asked for a heater (which was very small) as we were there in the winter. The shower was quite terrible, rarely hot and with poor water pressure.

The hotel is not nearly as well located as they advertise, it is a long walk (20 - 30 mins) to any of the sights in the old city, and we ended up having to get tuk-tuks everywhere.

The service left a lot to be desired, we put washing in and was promised it would be done that night. We tried to collect it at 10pm and were told they hadn't even started washing it yet. We got it back a whole day late and ended up running out of things to wear.

Stay here if you must, as it is good value for money, but be aware what you'll get.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephwhite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Suryaa Villa, Jaipur. I am happy to know that you found out hotel to be clean and value for money which is a top priority for us. However I would like to bring to your notice that we have clearly displayed in the rooms and at the front desk that in order to get your room serviced the guests need to leave their room keys at the reception. Also we provide additional toilet rolls at no charge on request if you would have informed us during your stay with us. I also note that you found our room heaters smaller compared the large size rooms that we offer. Please rest assured that we will revisit these to ensure that we replace them larger and more effective room heaters.

Based on your feedback we have made the necessary changes to our water pump and solar heating panels have been fitted with heating rods to ensure seamless hot water 24/7 even on a cloudy day.

While you have rightly mentioned that we are at a 20 minutes walk to the old city but the distance is less than 2.5 km which is exactly what we have advertised and by tuk-tuk that the travel time is about 5-10 minutes who charge less than INR 50/- for a drop.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we delayed the laundry delivery due to bad weather and unforeseen delay on the part of our vendor. To tackle this issue we have changed our laundry vendor with immediate effect.

Please be rest assured that this has been followed up with my team and I would like to send you a separate private email to reinforce this. I very much hope that I can persuade you to consider trying us once more.

Best Wishes,
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days during the Jaipur Literature Festival. Each room is different and the ambiance is very good. The food maybe a little expensive but the quality is worth the money. The service was good and staff was very helpful. First few days we ate out but when I tried the food here, it was worth every penny. I would want to go here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and based on the number of persons staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We thank you for staying at the Suryaa Villa, Jaipur and wish to express our gratitude for having chosen to stay with us.

Thank you for appreciating the room & I am glad that you found the food quality good & worth the money. I have shared your appreciation with my team and again thank you on behalf of my entire team for choosing to stay with us and appreciating us.

With Regards
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Me, my husband and our baby had a very nice stay at Suryaa Hotel. The staff were great and very helpful and the food in the restaurant was good. Only complaint is that the room (which was big and fine) was quite cold as there was no heating and Jaipur was cold the weekend we stayed there. Location was quite but central - 10 minutes by auto. Overall a very nice hotel :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ravn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Suryaa Villa.

We are pleased to know that you found the hotel location convenient and your overall experience came up as a great one . While we do not provide heaters in all rooms on arrival, our team is more than willing to provide heaters on request. Please accept my sincere apologies as we were not able to extend you this facility.

My entire team at Suryaa Villa, Jaipur will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thanks and Regards
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My friends and I were treated like family! We also loved the family dog, Sulton!
Great food and service. Good open meeting places to enjoy with new friends.
Small tile pool to cool down in warm weather. There is a free book swap if you need another read!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs....not a problem. If you don't like stairs. Choose ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbconservation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

I was so pleased to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Suryaa Villa, Jaipur. I was so glad to see that you were treated like family and enjoyed spending time with friends in our courtyard.
Please do come and see us again in the near future and I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team.

Kind regards,
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location of the Hotel is very good.All your major tourist spot are nearby within a range of 2km.
Hotel service and food quality is good.If you are looking for a budget hotel this could be one of your choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joydip26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suryapratap_292, Owner at Suryaa Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback following your recent stay at Suryaa Villa, Jaipur. I am pleased to know that you found our location central within close proximity to all major attractions.

Please do come and see us again soon!!

Best Wishes,
Surya Pratap Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.6 mi away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#55 of 389 in Jaipur
324 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laxmi Palace - A Heritage Home
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shikha
Hotel Shikha
#18 of 389 in Jaipur
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#26 of 389 in Jaipur
1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
#42 of 389 in Jaipur
773 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 389 in Jaipur
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryaa Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryaa Villa

Address: Moti Doongri Road | C-2 Peelwa Garden, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#44 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#56 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $40 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suryaa Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suryaa Villa, a calm oasis located in the heart of Jaipur, with beautifully carved sit-outs and attractive courtyards with open terraces and comfortable rooms. Swimming pool and Free Wi-Fi services are also available along with free private parking. Rooms: All rooms are air-conditioned with hand-crafted antique furnishings with modern amenities. Each room has a sitting area and is equipped with television, hair-dryer, tea/coffee maker, safe-vault and a mini-fridge. All rooms are attached private bathrooms with showers and hot/cold running water. Transfers: Free pick up is provided on arrival from Jaipur Railway Station and the Central Bus Stand located just 10 minutes away. Jaipur Airport is just 15 minutes away. Coffee Shop cum restaurant: It is located at the pool side with sit outs in a relaxed setting. Our menu specialises in home cooked food is prepared with delicate usage of aromatic spices. Delicious snacks and beverages are also available. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suryaa Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suryaa Villa Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing