We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel in Jaipur”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Konark Palace Hotel
Ranked #143 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have stayed in this Hotel several times in the last 10 years and will continue to do so. The ensuite rooms are clean and the staff are very very helpful. It compares extremely favourably with 3/4 star hotels in Europe. Even though the hotel is located in the suburbs, the city centre is only 20 minutes away and the Hotel arranges transport as well at very reasonable cost. We have asked for specific meals in the past at various times of the day and hotel has been able to cook them for us. The unbelievable price the hotel charges is the reason we go back there time after time. One would be hard pushed to find an airconditioned ensuite spacious room capable of sleeping 3 people for only around USD40.00 a night. We would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose double bed rooms on higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Konark Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

paid agent 3057R for this 1300 r bed and didn't get what we paid for. DON"T USE AGENTS.
For the price paid by agent Just ok. Does get hot water one shower at night and one in am ie one at a time as needs to rewarm.

Room Tip: better value elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just recently spent a night at this hotel. But that experience in itself was enough to make me cut my trip short and return home.

Before I begin my rant, I'd just like to mention that I do travel solo quite often and have stayed in many budget hotels (costing less than Rs 300 a night), without any problems. I think thats the best way to discover India. For this particular one, I paid twice the amount (Rs 600).

This time, I was on a trip to the golden triangle, and having visited Delhi and Agra with very good experiences, I was quite looking forward to my stay in Jaipur, which inspite of all the troubles, is an amazing little city.

Starting with the room, it was on the ground floor, right next to the staircase, which also happened to be a meeting place for all the tourists that come on package tours. So there was noise through out the day and night. It was quite relentless, to the point I couldn't sleep all night. There wasn't a single window, so it felt like prison. Hence to compensate, it had an air cooler from the dark ages. So loud that you'd think that your room is about to take off. With you in it. And since the outer end of the cooler was facing an inside part of the building, it only blew hot air, making things worse.
The electric boards were coming off the wall, with all the wires carelessly exposed. The bathroom (if it can be called that) was even more petrifying. Lot of exposed wires. A low energy bulb hung from its main socket, which looked like it was about to fall off and send a 220V shock up your spine, while you were answering natures call. No hot water. Think they had some electric generators just above the roof of the bathroom that again made such loud noises. One of those things that can make your life flash before your eyes, when you think you're about to die a brutal and undignified death on an english toilet seat. The lavatory was so filthy, I had to resort to using the outside public "sulabh" toilets. The walls looked like one of the walls from Auschwitz, without having to pay for the flight tickets.

Now about the staff. The baggage handlers were very helpful and so were the restaurant staff. But my only problem was with the reception staff and the management. They were very unfriendly and randomly uttered obscenities (like a tourettes sufferer) , assuming that I was a foreigner (firangi), until of course they realised that I was an Indian. But that wasn't it. The next morning (minutes before my bus for the package tour, with was again managed by them, was supposed to leave), I got a call saying that "due to unforeseeable circumstances", my package tour had to be canceled. And having already paid the whole amount, my only option was to shell out more money and book a taxi (again with them). Basically they were asking me to pay another Rs 600, for something I had already paid for.

After arguing with the manager, they decide (without my consent), to put me in another bus, run by some other company. Thinking it would be better than having nothing, I decided to go ahead with it. This is where my horrors actually began. I was taken to this other place, where the bus was already waiting. Well, when I say bus, I mean a world war 2 surviving tempo that was so overcrowded that even the driver had to get in from the wrong side. One of those things that you see on youtube and have a good laugh at. Upon further investigation, I found that all the other passengers had only paid Rs 50 each for it. And I had to pay Rs 400, for exactly the same experience. Most of the stops on this particular bust tour were basically stops for selling items that were so bad that they have to pay people to get them customers. While paying for the package tour, I was told that the price would include the price of entry tickets. But since these people are such frauds, I wasn't too surprised that I had pay extra for that.

On my return, I obviously confronted the manager about the whole saga and all he had to say in return was that I should contact the tour operator (who technically should be themselves) about it. Realising that it was a lost cause, I decided to not argue any more as these people don't seem to have a conscience at all.

So in a nut shell, avoid this hotel like the plague. I have stayed in hotel rooms that cost less than Rs 200 that served me better. Not saying that you should avoid all budget hotels, but just make sure you ask all the relevant questions before you pay up. And as far as possible, ask if you can pay a deposit first and make the full payment towards the end. That way at least they'll try to give you a good service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dfilogik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank JBGLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Звукоизоляция неплохая.мы разместились на втором этаже. шумели только утром во время завтрака
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank EVS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clementdu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sweet Dream
Hotel Sweet Dream
#236 of 383 in Jaipur
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 383 in Jaipur
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
RnB Dodas Palace
RnB Dodas Palace
#59 of 383 in Jaipur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#32 of 383 in Jaipur
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#26 of 383 in Jaipur
2,202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#90 of 383 in Jaipur
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konark Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konark Palace Hotel

Address: 828 - B Ashok Chowk Opp I O C Building | Raja Park, Baraf Khana, Adarsh Nagar, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing