We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Suvarna Mahal

Suvarna Mahal
Ranked #24 of 2,988 Restaurants in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Jaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

one of the best ethnic ambiance you'll ever find in a restaurant
gives you a complete royal feel with excellent food. many choices with many rajasthani dishes. However one of the most expensive restaurant in town

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anish_Choudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    21
    8
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretentious restaurant but good food and excellent service”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Taj in Jaipur definitely in a beautiful setting. Someone rattles off a spiel about the history of the restaurant but obviously no sense of humour when asked why Italian marble was chosen when India had more than decent marble to decorate the place. You could either choose from just one menu or pick and choose from the different menus available. The Tawa machhli, pan-fried fillet of sweet water fish “Kolkata bekti” was excellently cooked and tasted wonderful. The Laal Maas I wasn't too sure about although the lamb was cooked to melting tenderness. The Kulfi with Falooda was yummy. The waiters were attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YSCKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royalty”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Treated like a royal with a friendly waiter who patiently explained the history of this place to us. Great food, great service. Gold plated cutlery, century old chandeliers, need I say more? A must dine place in Japiur

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank coutureTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have had after living in India for 3 years!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have been living in India for the past 3 years, and this was the most memorable and best meal I have had here. The decor is very elegant, the service was impeccable. We brought our 2 young girls and they were inspired to act like princesses since the restaurant was so beautiful.

As for food, (I don't remember the actual names of the dishes) we chose the lamb shank which was amazing, the boneless chicken in the raw mango curry, and the Rajasthani lamb appetizer which they said was spicy but was really fine.

We went for lunch and were the only people in the entire restaurant.

I was so happy with our experience, I can't recommend this restaurant enough!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank livingtothefullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautifully served”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just the best Indian food - the setting so pretty and the service excellent. Our only negative comment is that there was a posted dress code which we observed. Many other patrons did not and it was also annoying to hear people on cellphones or texting while they were being served. Spoilt the atmosphere a bit and must have been a litte upsetting for the staff who worked so hard to create a unique atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suvarna Mahal also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Suvarna Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing