We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jaipur Friendly Villa
Ranked #4 of 502 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Romeno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic guesthouse”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was supposed to stay at JFV for two nights, but due a change of plans I ended up stay four nights, and Shveta was very kind in arranging that.
JFV is really a great guesthouse, in an extremely quiet and lovely neighbourhood. The house is beautiful and well maintained. The twin room I stayed for 3 night was very big, spotless and with the best bathroom I have seen during my trip to India. There was also a separate kitchenette, which can be very useful if you want to have a cup of tea or coffee at any time. However, you will not need this for breakfast, since Shveta makes a delicious breakfast for you every morning. In addition to coffee/tea, eggs, toasts, juice and the now so famous-guava jam (which I confirm is excellent!!), Shveta prepares a different Indian dish every morning, which is really worth trying. I also had an evening meal at JFV, and it was very good too.
Shveta and Kuhl are great people, and it is very nice to have a chat with them in the evening, sitting down in their lovely garden.
If I can make just one remark, I like to know in advance when something is paying (like a beer or another drink) and when something is offered. In this way, I am not surprised to find out that I have been charged for that drink.
Other than that, JFV is a great place to stay, and I would definitely recommend it to other future guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_D_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
198
48
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here while travelling around Rajashtan and there were three of us taking up two rooms. Svetha and Kul were very accommodating and the process of booking the room was excellent. They communicated with us very effectively regarding our arrangements. Initially there were only going to be two of us for less time. Svetha made me aware that there will be the festival of Holi when we were there, which would see most of the visitable places closed. She then accommodated a changed itinerary with more days in her property and, even when a friend decided to join our expedition, she accommodated us with another room. She later accommodated another change of itinerary which made us leave one day earlier than we thought so you cannot ask for more than that!

We had a driver so the location was not a problem for us. It was a beautiful house, very clean, with comfortable and nice bedrooms, excellent facilities and the hosts were very lovely. Staying with a family enables you to see what life in India is like much more than staying in a hotel. It was excellent to be able to chat to them and they were more than gracious in accommodating us in their balcony and providing us with drinks, conversation and some very pleasant times.

They went above of beyond the call of duty by allowing us to enjoy the festival of Holi as part of the community. This was great as we were able to join in, get painted (completely!), dance and eat the lovely food they provided and be safe. Some of the members of my party were very keen to experience Holi in the streets but it was soon very apparent as we stepped outside the gates for a test that it was not safe for us to do so, as Svetha and Kul had advised. Hence staying with a family you get some of the local knowledge that is so helpful when travelling.

I recommend staying in this place for anyone that wants to have a more personal experience than a hotel, while still having access to very good facilities, a comfortable and clean room and a peaceful place to retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our visit. We enjoyed the conversation, the food, both at breakfast and dinner, the beautiful house which was shared so graciously, the Bollywood movie in the home theatre, and the private balcony. Nothing was too much trouble including Kul sorting out an IPhone issue which had plagued us since arriving in India. We cannot recommend this home stay highly enough.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this lovely place in Jaipur a month ago (beginning March 2013). The owners are the best and nothing was too much. We enjoyed some fantastic food and great conversation. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone. the neighbourhood is real calm and quiet and the park behind the house is a gathering place of locals coming for a chat or a jog.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab :),
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Jaipur Friendly Villa earlier this month with two of my friends. After traveling nearly a week in India (Delhi, Agra, Ranthambore National Park), the B&B was a true oasis from the hustle and bustle of the the city. Although the location is not walking distance to the old city (it's about a 20 minute car ride), it was convenient enough and interesting to see another part of the city. The house is very nice and clean. You can immediately see the effort that Shveta and Kul have taken to ensure a pleasant experience. Ginger tea and snacks were offered upon arrival, and we were given a brief explanation of our room/bathroom.

The rooms were clean and spacious with AC and clean bed sheets. Shveta provided recommendations for the city, and we enjoyed the breakfast that she prepared. If I visit Jaipur again in the future, I would not hesitate to stay at the Jaipur Friendly Villa again given the good value, clean rooms, and hospitality provided!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The JV is one of the best places we've ever stayed at - and it includes 4-5 star hotels. The owners are an adorable couple who are always eager to help. Rooms are tastefully decorated. 24 hrs hot water, and food to die for. 5/5

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Even before we had arrived at Jaipur Friendly Villa we knew we had made a good choice. Before and during our travels in India, Shveta was quick to respond to every query - and there were many. We thought we might need help with train tickets and she offered to help, we asked her opinion on train versus car for segments of our journey - she provided her thoughts, we asked her if our choice of driving company for Rajistan was reputable - she provided input, we asked if our itinerary had any gaps - she provided suggestions.... we arranged a driver through Shveta and the day before we were due to be picked up, we reached out to confirm pick up details via email. Shveta called our hotel to speak with us directly, confirm our driver details, and ask if we would like to eat at the home on our first night as we might be getting in late. Service! No other person we had communicated with in planning 2 months in India was as forthcoming and straightforward, courteous and helpful.

When we arrived at the Home of Shveta and Kul, we knew we were in for a treat. The home is beautiful. We were warmly greeted by Shveta's husband Kul and shown to our immaculately clean and spacious room (the biggest room we had in our time in India). There were tea and coffee facilities in the room, bottled water provided, wifi worked wonderfully, hot water was abundant, TV had lots of channels to choose from, and the linens were incredibly comfortable. Every detail had been attended to.

When we arrived for dinner the conversation flowed as though we had known one another for years. We laughed and shared experiences and enjoyed a wonderful meal prepared with care and attention. We ate at the home three out of four nights. If we had known that Shveta was such a good cook, we would have taken a cooking lesson with her as this is a service she offers when the house is not overly busy. Each evening the dinner options were new and wonderful. Breakfast was always abundant and very very tasty with both Indian and Western options available.

We agree that Jaipur Friendly Villa is the best B&B We have ever stayed in anywhere, ever. We hope to return one day, or have Shveta and Kul come visit us so we can show them the hospitality they have shown us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.5 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 381 in Jaipur
836 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 381 in Jaipur
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaipur Friendly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaipur Friendly Villa

Property: Jaipur Friendly Villa
Address: 27 Jaipur Friendly Villa Queens Road Veer Vihar | Behind Bhagirath Marriage Garden, Jaipur 302012, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jaipur Friendly Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaipur Friendly Villa is an upscale,very chic Park view, B&B accommodation in a posh locality of Jaipur with all modern amenities. Secure, clean environment with the comforts of a modern Indian home blended with unmatched hospitality. This is an exclusive, spacious and comfortable accommodation with two large terraces (overlooking a lush green park a beautiful garden). Rooms are air-conditioned and fully furnished. There bathrooms are lavish, modern and clean with pressure showers. One also has a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Jaipur Friendly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing