We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheats”
Review of Hotel City Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City Palace
Ranked #149 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Its one of the cheapest hotel in south mumbai. I was travelling with my girlfriend for a family function. The rooms r smaller than a apartment bathroom. The location is around CST station. The staff is pretty rude. I would suggest one would get a lot of better hotels around this area like the railway hotel or harbour view for the same price. They intially denied me a check in saying it was a hotel policy not to let 2 unmarried people stay in a single room. However the same was not applicable to a bunch of foreigners who were also staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AVBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

I have booked a deluxe A/C room after having a look on its offical web-site. The room is on first floor and comes with a stinking and small smell. I have changed antoher room on its next and have the same poor condition. The room is quite small, a bit dirty and also with a disgusting peeled off painting walls. The room conditions and its requirements seems not matching with the photos shown on its web-page. Besides, the price is expensive and unreasonable high when compare to its actual conditions.
The services are ok. It maybe your choice if location is the first consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

City palace is a good hotel... less expensive... but the rooms are too small... May be it's Mumbai that's why... But you can certainly go to the hotel if you have a tight budget and looking for a good cheap hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhythmicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed there overnight during my official visit to Mumbai. The location of the Hotel is good. It is nearer to CST Station and approach is convenient.

But the worst thing about the Hotel is that there rooms are not properly cleaned. They are stinking. I changed two rooms but the condition of both the rooms were worst. The taps in the bathroom were not working properly. Hot water was not available in the room. At our specific request they provided the same after a long time. Can not comment on food, because I have not ordered any thing from the Hotel's Canteen.

Overall the experience to stay over there was horrible.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinehajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We moved from another hotel to this one (see review on Railway hotel) which was around the corner. This hotel was in a better location with better standard of rooms for the price. As we stayed for 4 nights, the 10% luxury tax was wavered which was nice.

The room we had was on the 4th floor with fantastic views on the railway station. The room was clean and modern with excellent amenities inc. cable TV & air con.

Staff were always friendly and the hotel employs a 24hr security guard and lift operator.

If I was to return to Mumbai then I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsonio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

While the price is more expensive than many in the area, the location, right across from Victoria Terminal (now CST) is great and the staff was very helpful and courteous. The rooms are very small, but if you are going to be spending most of your time touring the area it really doesn't matter. The room was very clean and even had toilet paper and soap ;) Also came with good AC and cable TV with many channels. You can also store your luggage free of charge and the reception can call a taxi for you if needed.

There is also a good veg restaurant right next door and tons of cheap shopping all around. If you need internet, there is a cheap place across the street (south of McDonalds) for 25 rupees/hr. With the train station across the street you can get to many locations easily. Also, there are plenty of cabs parked out front.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeandheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I had booked this place despite several bad reviews written here. My confirmation mail was replied promptly. The day came....went there & checked in. First the room they show for a Economy is a very filthy place & its a trick to make us move into better & superior rooms(its too good for them as they increase their billing value). Then i chose a Superior room & checked in & the room A/c was not working...then into my 2nd choice room. In this room the mobile & data card signal was not working. I contacted the Reception and they promised me that i wud be shifted to another room tomorrow, as they were sold out for the day. Imagine a biz traveller without mobile signal...it was like hell. Then the nxt day the Lady (ms.Mariam) at the reception told me that they can't move me to another room as they had only deluxe one available. I told them to do someting & she called me back with a revised tariff. Its was going higher again. I got a bitter answer from her again. somehow got into my 3rd room. There the flush was awful & no water drained from the toilet. Its was 3nights HORRIBLE STAY. If you order a bottle of water thru the room service the room boy wants 10 bucks & the water itself is 10 bucks. From the room service staffs to the lift operator to the security at the gate...everyone wants a tip every time they see us...... hopefully few Indians might manage these issues at certain times, but i do believe that the White people will loose their mind in a beautiful place like India. Better we stay out....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank India_Traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel AK International
Hotel AK International
#140 of 489 in Mumbai
49 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Landmark Fort
Hotel Landmark Fort
#309 of 489 in Mumbai
90 reviews
Hotel Fortune
#329 of 489 in Mumbai
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern Hotel
#305 of 489 in Mumbai
19 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#73 of 489 in Mumbai
668 reviews
Hotel Oasis
#346 of 489 in Mumbai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Palace

Address: 121 City Terrace | Opp.C.S.T Station Main Gate, Mumbai 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $24 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel City Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear All,We are prime location prepoerty situated at the heart of the city. Where access to all parts of Mumbai is easy and fast. It's a budget hotel where people have crunch on budget for stay they can think of this property very often. Regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel City Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing