We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miss Guidenese by reception man.”
Review of Hotel City Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Palace
Ranked #236 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Gurgaon, India
1 review
“Miss Guidenese by reception man.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

hotel is good, but reception man miss guide us. we were book mumbai darahan ticket by red bus service line, but he miss guide us that he will provide better & cheapest serviceus & force us to cancle our red bus ticket with tell us that this is fraud. than we cancle our ticket & we get a loss of Rs 1200. then he provide a local travels ticket, it's service was very poor & costly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    25
    19
    26
See reviews for
23
24
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I stayed just for a day as I had some work. I came with my five year old daughter. The rooms are small but clean and everything was working perfect. Like air-conditioning, TV, hot water. The staff is very friendly, the desk staff as well. I surely recommended for short stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ingesadaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

You get great value for your money. Location is fantastic, rooms are good & clean with all facilities (AC / Fridge / LCD etc), would definitely recommend the property to our clients visiting Mumbai (KashmirTravels.in)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavidAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The only way to the hotel bedrooms is the lift. Not a great lover of lifts I asked to use the fire escape stairs, reluctantly this was permitted however to my surprise the fire escape was blocked by locked gates which had to be unlocked especially for me. In the morning, as I left by the fire escape stairs, it was once again blocked by locked gates. Heaven knows what would happen if there was a fire!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were people who went to Mumbai for a trade show at world trade Mumbai, we booked 2 rooms for 6 people in this hotel it was really good experience the staff were good with good ambiance at a good rate, we also had complimentary breakfast with tea/coffee, this hotel is opposite Mumbai CSTM Terminals as is centally located for our purpose, as we had to visit cuffe parade in coloba and then for shopping at Crawford market, Manish Market and fashion street and then for some sight seeing at gateway of India and marine drive. this summarizes our trip and the location we took for lodging and of-course the Mumbaikars whom I always feel so good and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damodharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had a generally positive stay at Hotel City Palace in January. I stayed on two occasions about a week apart and both experiences were good. I mainly chose Hotel City Palace because of proximity to the CST railway station. Hotel City Palace is probably the closest hotel to the main entrance of the CST station. It is opposite the main entrance to the station and you only have to cross the road to get there in less than a minute. It is also close to several street markets. The room that I chose (Super Deluxe AC) had a balcony with an excellent view of the side of the CST and GPO buildings and the busy streets below. The room was also very clean and the room service meal was average but safe to eat. The downside of this room was that it was very small and cramped (especially given the price), however the website photos are honest in showing the size of the room. The staff at times were also a little pesky at times. For example, after checking in I just wanted to sleep. I left a good tip but the porter still wanted to hang around and ask if I wanted everything on the menu. He also came back twice to ask if I wanted help with the TV, aircon, etc expecting tips when I knew how to operate them and just wanted to rest anyway. He was friendly enough and this only lasted a few minutes and didn't happen again until the next time I checked in. Considering the size of the room I believe it is overpriced but you are really paying for the convenient location. After saying that, I had a pleasant stay at Hotel City Palace and would strongly recommend it for anyone who is catching a train early in the day and doesn't want to travel far between hotel and station.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the busy streets and markets below, choose the Super Deluxe AC room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It cant be called hotel, first of all to reach to the room you have to go for small hall with very low ceiling,in the hall there are the common toilets, small and dirty with intense smell pee, the room is storage room with two very small bed, walls full of dams and insects, everything dirty. You cant reduce the ac and its very cold but if you unplug it is worst because you can feel the pee smell. The service horrible too,the staff were very rude. I booked it because we had to wait for the train for some hours but in the end we left the room and we had to wait in the rail station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patsevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Oasis
#279 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#81 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel A. K. International
Hotel A. K. International
#206 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Hotel
#256 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Hotel Mogul Palace
#386 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Causeway Hotel
#365 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Palace

Property: Hotel City Palace
Address: 121 City Terrace | Opp.C.S.T Station Main Gate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel City Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear All,We are prime location prepoerty situated at the heart of the city. Where access to all parts of Mumbai is easy and fast. It's a budget hotel where people have crunch on budget for stay they can think of this property very often. Regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing