We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #305 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
opole
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“basic”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

basic, at crazy prices Mumbai this is accetable, beacause is realy hard find similar, or cheaper than this one. ,plenty hostels no free rooms, this also you should made resrvation, and this is India ,sometimes reservation is nothimg. acceptable clean and so on, Location is good , some city atractions are walking distance, Pick up is expensive, so better have taxi ,/expesnsive at Mumbai/ or better use public transport

Room Tip: necessary to see 5 rooms, some of free need painting,and good cleaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sp6smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
16
49
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Returned after 3 years, booked ahead by email and had an email confirmation. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms remain small, simple and clean. Lots of hot water, assistance with the TV remote, staff were efficient and helpful. It felt secure. Nicely close to CST and Fort area.There are a choice of places/budgets to eat and drink close by but the hotel will bring snacks, soft drinks to your room. Cafe Universal, diagonally opposite has a French cafe feel and is nice place to have breakfast. Oasis is a functional base without any fuss. Price for a twin A/C room was Rs 1880 (approx 29 euro) with all taxes. We were glad that we booked as people were being turned away as we checked in. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We used the A/C for a few minutes only each day, it was an unusually cool January, but I think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyJaneCorfuGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed three nights at centrally located Hotel Oasis in Mumbai in February 2011. Paid INR1,200 for a twin room.

The place was secure and the staff were professional but not friendly. The room was reasonably clean.

We didn’t always get hot water and had to talk to the staff about this – eventually we did get hot water.

Most of the other customers were Indian businessmen. Nothing special but ok for a last minute booking.

Would go there again if I was finding it hard to find anything better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaniX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel Oasis has acceptably priced rooms (for Bombay) and is decently located as it is a short taxi ride from Colaba and a good 10 minute walk from 'fashion street' in Fort. The room we received was small, as was the bathroom, but that was all we could ask for. We paid Rs1680 for a double room with A/C and we slept like babies. It's a great place to use as a base and simply sleep in. Reception staff give accurate directions on where you want to go, how to get there and estimated prices. The staff on the floors are also very accommodating and helped us feel settled into the crazy chaos that is Bombay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Ok this isn't an Oasis as such, the rooms are tiny and it's all pretty basic however - it was clean, the staff were friendly enough and it is in such a great location. My partner and I only hangout in our room when it's bedtime, so for a good base where you can leave your stuff and explore, this is a great option. From here we walked to the arts precinct, great restaurants and the markets - after our last Mumbai hostel horror, this was a good, affordable option.... although I must say given I booked a double room for my partner and I, it was little irritating that they gave a room with two single beds that were stuck in their location and couldn't be pushed together – but not the end of the world.

Room Tip: You might want to specify a double bed when booking a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Of course the title is for travellers who book a room upon arrival, and not those who book online! I say this as some rooms are decent in terms of size and cleanliness, but this does not apply to all the rooms in the Oasis.

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The first was in the deluxe triple room at the highest floor. The room was spacious for rp2300 with room to stretch your legs even with three single beds within. The usual room facilities like wardrobe, side tables, etc are old and dusty which is typical of the economy-class hotels in Mumbai. The television (with the usual cable movies and tens of Indian news networks) was small and the air conditioner moaned loudly for a few hours upon our arrival which irritated us quite a bit. Beside the entrance is the toilet which was of a decent size. Hot water for a shower seemed elusive, despite being advertised in the hotel brochure. Otherwise, if you can forgive these shortcomings, the triple room on the top floor gives a good view of the area. Due to the low-rise nature of the surrounding buildings, you will be able to see the port in the distance and maybe even a family having a siesta on one of the rooftops of a nearby shophouse below.

We moved to a twin room on the second night. We were given a room at the end of the corridor intially which was dark and the paint on the walls were peeling off (probably due to water accumulation behind the paint?). Thus we asked for another room and were given a brighter one this time. As expected the room was small, but not to the extent of being squeezy. There was a musty smell upon entering, which we tried to mask by spraying some perfume. The furniture was old and the room appeared dated and worn. The dusty bed headboard kept falling off, revealing more dust and old wood. Later on, I came across a couple of small black insects on the floor. I do not know if these were bedbugs, beetles or roaches.

The hotel entrance is along the litter-strewn street. A small lobby is where the desk clerk / manager sits and the lift is behind this area. A strong musty odour pervades within the lift and sometimes the lift stops halfway between floors. There will be a lift operator with you though. Interestingly, there was no stair access for guests and one wonders if there is a fire escape plan. Anyway, the person manning the desk was friendly, as were the other staff in the hotel. Chilled filtered water is provided upon request and meals can be ordered through the room service.

Therefore, is the hotel truly an Oasis ? The price is reasonable and service was ok for the length of my stay. Some rooms are decent, others are not. A renovation and replacement of furniture in the rooms could make the hotel an Oasis in the dusty Mumbai.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A6-EDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

nice hotel, . Got single AC room at 1300 INR only. bit smaller Room . But very neat and clean . Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel City Palace
#134 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
119 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel A. K. International
Hotel A. K. International
#162 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
31 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#79 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fortune
#337 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
221 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#284 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
49 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: 276 Shahid Bhagat Singh Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Oasis 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing