We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bakery decent,place is outdated .”

Gaylord Restaurant (Breads & More)
Ranked #360 of 14,515 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bakery decent,place is outdated .”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ok my parents visited this place 35yrs ago on their honeymoon,on my first trip to mumbai 10yrs ago my parents said the place is pretty much the same - after being ther recently it hasn't changed in the ten years. The service is average its rather slowwwww,as for food once was enough. Their bakery is good in terms of grabbing a pie or croissant while exploring the area but its not like french pastry-bt give it a try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting choices”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

An incredible range of snacks in the shop, the restaurant looks expensive but you can buy your snacks in the shop and take them into the open area of the restaurant to eat.

Service seems ok, but we only ordered drinks.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of those iconic Restaurants I suppose. And a Very Good one!”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The indoor seating and ambiance is just above average. Gets a little cramped up. But the food is seriously good. And they serve huge portions. A multi-cusine restaurant, we tried the indian stuff (mutton biriyani, chicken and mutton dishes, and indian breads) italian (spaghetti and some pasta) as well as steaks (actually a meat combo). and there was a lot left on the plate. The taste had nothing to do with it. the quantities are just that much. We probably underestimated.
Overall a good dining experience. We have been there a number of times and have always walked out satisfied. Good Food, huge portions, Nice friendly staff and a good crowd.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank muthalaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and old world charm”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This restraunt always makes me feel like Im going back in time.The unhurried ambiance, the silver cutlery, the elaborate service all contribute to this.

The food is always excellent - both the Indian and the continental dishes.

The price is a little on the high side at the restaurant , although the bakery is very afforable.

The malabari prawns are my favourite starter, and the continental main courses are good too. The portions are huge, so be sure to walk off the calories with a stroll on Marine drive after youve eaten there.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank anattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
“cool place to snack”
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Nice place if your looking to snack .. extremely good pastries, breads, patties and other snacks.. homely ambience... though one should sit outside in the open area during cooler climate. The restaurant inside is not so good thou- avaerage food and very average service

Helpful?
Thank Jenn008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord Restaurant (Breads & More) also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Navi Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay)
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Gaylord Restaurant (Breads & More)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing